We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveler rating
80
97
45
20
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
97
45
20
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssanta marianational parklas pailasrocking chairs to sitrestaurant area iswarmer clothescouple of nightscosta ricasteep hikehiking trailhot springsranger stationbasic roomsmall bathroompark entrancesshort trailbeautiful place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 258 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile

Yes, the hotel is difficult to reach, during the rainy season a 4 X 4 is the best choice. But the environment is stunning! We hiked to the National Park, about 5 km from the hotel. Not an easy walk, but it was worth it. In the national park there are vulcanized hot and cold springs, so bring your swimwear. Good hiking shoes are important, in total the hike took us about 6 hours and the path is very rough.
The breakfast at the hotel is very good, as is the dinner, The wifi is OK, considering the location,!

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Els B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2017

Lodges are spread out and you need a four wheel drive to get your luggage up to some (the footpaths are more user friendly than the roads!). There's a pool area that doesn't seem to get much use. A very grand reception and friendly staff. Food was adequate but a little disappointing. Nice for a couple of nights but then ready to move on.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trekbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RinconcitoLodge, Director de Recepción at Rinconcito Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

.Dear Traveler. Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and I'm looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2017 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights with a couple friends and will be back! I was so surprised at how great this place was considering the price was considerably lower then most other places in the area. The main lodge with restaurant is open air and offers great food, with plenty of options and good sized portions. Although, the bar ran out of some ingredients for specialty drinks, there was always something to wet the whistle at reasonable prices, and the friendliness of the staff made up for it. The rooms are comfortable and spacious offering rocking chairs on both the front and back covered porches along with a hammock to lay in to stair at the beautiful nights sky or stare off into the jungle. The front desk suggested a day excursion that included a hike though the mountains of the park, hot springs, waterfalls, wildlife, volcano and finished with a horseback ride. Very very fun, just make sure you do a thorough check for ticks afterwards. I would recommend to anyone that asks! Loved it and will be back.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank NovaScotian31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2017

The hotel was okay. Clean, simple rooms, no A/C. Staff were kind and friendly, but a day after we checked out, we noticed a charge on our credit card for $160 that we had not incurred. We called the lodge to ask about it, and we were told to call back later. We called again, and we were told they would look into it. When we didn't hear back, we sent them an email. We were told we would have an answer within 2 days. When we didn't hear back, we contacted the lodge again, but our messages went unanswered. It has now been over two weeks, and the problem has not yet been resolved.

We are extremely disappointed that this happened and are still trying to get our money back. If you choose this hotel, beware of unauthorized charges. We wouldn't want this to happen to anyone else.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AnneMaree619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2017

The rooms are nice - very spacious and clean with a pair of rocking chairs to sit outside under the covered deck and enjoy a nice view of the lovely gardens. Nice pool for the kids with lounge chairs around for relaxing. There was no hot water for the shower - not sure why. This was the only place we stayed that did not have the on-demand shower heads (suicide showers), that at least give you a guaranteed warm shower. And in a volcanic area with hot water bubbling out of the ground all over (go figure)!
The location is good if you are interested in exploring the fantastic Rincon de la Vieja national park (definitely worth 2 full days!). to get to the parks west entrance you will need to take a private road with a small toll charge.
The night we were there it was quite windy - apparently this is fairly normal for this area - there is a large wind farm over the next hill. Evening was quite chilly with the wind. Surprisingly, the restaurant area is half-open to the front, wind blowing through and you will want to wear some warmer clothes for dinner.

There are no other restaurant choices within a half hour drive and while the food is passable, the portions were meagre and not a lot of choice on the menu. The white tablecloths and artful presentation, did not make up for the fact the portions were small and food only average. Any typical soda lunch that we had on this trip (and we had many) were better and larger portions than this.
Another option that we had stayed at before was El sol Verde near Curubunde which is on a different parallel road out of Liberia. BTW, the road to Rinconcito will shake out any loose fillings, but should be passable with 2 wheel drive, at least in the dry season. One hour north of Liberia.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews