We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Rain Forest!”

Sensoria Land of Senses
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Sensoria is one of the best gateaway to a Rainforest in Rincon de la Vieja in Guanacaste. Sensoria is located, as the last farm that neighbors Rincon de la Vieja Volcano. The tour last from 3.5 to 4 hours, walking thru a prestine rainforest, and you can swimming in blue waterfalls and in three thermal pools. You can climb to our Observatory Tree Platform, where, if you conditions allow see the Volcano, the majestic rainforest and lake of Nicaragua. Your senses would be integrated to most beautiful places of Costa Rica's nature. Sensoria is sorounded by Rincon de la Vieja National Park, which was declare World Heritage. because has 3.9% of the wild life of the planet. In Sensoria we would show you with our Ipads, what animals croos Sensoria and the National park, we have eight trap cameras inside the forest. Sensoria has an investigation program with the help o the National Universiy of Costa Rica with its Program "Jaguar". In sensoria yous senses would enjoy the beauty of our jungles. We would provide you: welcome drink, a brief introduction to Costa Ricas's rainforest, walking sticks, water (bring bottle), fruits on the blue waterfalls, peronal guide, that would take care of you and your family, acces to the observatory platform and lunch. Only few groups are allowed per day. Only with prior reservation is admited. Call our reservation phone of ask your concierge to take you to ths fantastic place. Sensoria 'Land of Senses".
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Rain Forest!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Sensoria is absolutely beautiful and tranquil! Our guide Joaquin was fantastic, very knowledgable and entertaining. We were a group of 6 between the ages of 14 and 63. The area is amazing, you will also get some reprive from the hot weather! We did not see any wildlife, heard the howler monkeys, saw many lizards. The water springs and thermal springs were very tranquil and refressing! Lunch was tasty and so was the wine! That night the owner called Eladio (Eladios Place) inquiring if we enjoyed our tour, I spoke with him directly, what a personal touch! It is truly amazing how the people of Guanacaste Province are so passionate about their surrounding. I would recommend this to all! Thank you it was well worth the trip!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cherie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    18
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible Experience!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My husband and I went to Sensoria during our honeymoon trip and it was absolutely incredible! We learned about it through the tour booking office at our hotel, who told us it was going to be $395.00 per person to go on a private tour our $218 if you go with another couple, which wasn't an option for us. Of course, they show you breathtakingly beautiful pictures of the falls and the rain forest and it's the most appealing tour they offered. We couldn't fathom paying that much so I went directly through the sensoria website and we did the whole thing including transport for $395.00!! Jennifer is awesome and will help you arrange transportation from your hotel! It's an all day event but it's definitely worth it. It's the most beautiful, tranquil place I've ever been. It's so cool to swim in the falls and pools and look for wild life. Our tour guide Joaquin was awesome and so knowledgable about the land and wildlife. The lunch they serve you after your tour is well made and delicious! Be sure to bring a change of clothes if you plan to swim so you don't have to ride back in your wet suit. They have lockers to store your items in while you're on the tour and they have showers so you can clean up after. It's a two hour drive depending on where you're coming from and the last hour is pretty bumpy as the road isn't paved. Overall this was my favorite experience from our trip!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Toribuckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spectacular, informative, beautiful falls, peaceful thermal pools, relatively easy hike”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We took a bit of a chance with this one as they are relatively new and there were only a few reviews, but it was definitely worth it. They only do these hiking tours privately. For us that meant our family of four had our own guide and a backup guide who carried the towels and fruit snacks. The dining area is open to nature and made of beautiful woodwork. The food and the dining area were much better than expected. They loaned us ponchos and water bottles for the hike, and handed us towels at the swimming holes. There was no rain. We saw a couple of parrots, a very small snake, and a small mammal. We loved just being in the forest and enjoying the huge and majestic pelon trees with all the plants that grow on them. We enjoyed learning about the area and the environment from the guide. The trails are well-maintained if not manicured. They've created steps wherever there is an ascent or descent. Swimming in the waterfalls and the warm pools was a highlight of our entire trip. They are really trying to do the right thing by the environment and by their visitors. I wish it weren't so expensive so that more people could go. The last 45 minutes of the drive there are on very bad roads, but it is well-worth the trip.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank garytros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Sensoria is SENSATIONAL!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Having travelled around the world and seen all the 'wonders" of the world , I can make a qualified statement , that Sensoria is truly an experience that touches and enlightens ones senses in a unique way that compares with no other -an amazingly powerful experience to be touched by the raw and unadulterated beauty of Nature. Hope you keep it the same always and not let it be ruined by "commercialisation" -the owners deserve a medal for thier vision ,responsibility and THANK YOU for sharing this wonder with us.The food and staff were also excellent to complement the overall experience

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Moyez2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ridiculously Beautiful!!!!!! Wow!!!!!!!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The staff at Finca La Anita arranged for us to visit Sensoria. We were told that this was a great natural place to visit. We were not disappointed. The road to Sensoria definitely requires a rugged 4x4 (and we used a Toyota Corolla to get around most of CR). The day we were at Sensoria, there was no one else there. The hiking paths are well maintained. We saw rivers, small canyons, BLUE waterfalls, and relaxed in a naturally warm river. Our guide Johnny took excellent care of us, and even brought our packed lunches so that we could eat while sitting in the river. If you love a natural, quiet setting - you will love Sensoria and will not regret the effort that it took to get there!

Note: the facility has lovely bathrooms with a shower for you to change in after you soak in the hot springs!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pamelaksch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sensoria Land of Senses also viewed

Province of Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Rincon de La Vieja, Province of Guanacaste
 
Rincon de La Vieja, Province of Guanacaste
Area de Conservacion Guanacaste, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Sensoria Land of Senses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing