We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (714)
Filter reviews
714 results
Traveler rating
306
240
99
38
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
306
240
99
38
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hanging bridges sunset bar tractor ride zip line hot springs horseback riding canopy walk costa rica coffee tasting mud bath watch the sunset mega combo day trip lodge offers sugar cane riu guanacaste steam room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 714 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2020 via mobile

Our family of 2 parents and a 19- year-old son booked a full day "adventures" excursion through Amstar at our resort. Carlos and Carlos from Amstar took great care of us our group of 12. We liked that the group was relatively small compared to some tour groups. That's desirable as there is more time to ask questions, and there's not a lot of waiting around. When booking, ask how large the group will be and if given the option, go with a group of 20 or less.
We did zip-lining with distances that were fairly short from station to station (7 stations?) which was great for us first-timers. If you're looking for super speed, you won't get it here. Yet, it was exciting to coast above the canopy of trees. The only drawback was having to hike up to the site. The paths are not terribly steep and are pretty smooth so this was manageable.
We took a 45-minute horse-back ride on stony paths. Not much to see other than the trees and plants of the area. Still nice.
We had to make the same hike that we had made to the zip lines to get up to the start of the 1000 ft water slide. Ithink it is made of concrete. It makes use of natural water coming down the mountain to push people down the slope. Each slider sits in an inner tube and wears a helmet. There's a small pool at the end of the slide.
We were taught how coffee beans are picked and the processes that follow. We learned about sugar cane harvesting and were shown how the juices were squeezed out of the cane before machines were made to do this.
We enjoyed a natural sauna. We applied liquidy mud to our bodies and waited for it to dry before rinsing off. Then relaxed soaking in natural hot springs pools.
There is a bar in this area and the bar guys were very attentive and quick to serve those in the pools. One could order a drink and pay for it after the soak.
In the midst of all of the activities, we were treated to a lovely 5-course meal of Costa Rican foods. Alcohol was available for an extra cost. Staff at this place were pleasant, and helpful. If they didn't like the work, we couldn't tell. My family and I and everyone in the group enjoyed the time at Buena Vista.

Just a note: In my opinion, most negative reviews come from those who have impossibly high expectations. When traveling, we go into most activities with moderate expectations of fun, adventure, and learning something new. If our expectations are exceeded, that's a bonus!What we expect is some kind of expererience not found near where we live. Not everyone in the world lives like we do or even does business the same. Just driving from the resort to the excursion site is an experience in itself.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank jenlec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenavistadelrincon1, Director Comercial at Buena Vista del Rincon Eco Adventure Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Dear Jealec,

Greetings from Buena Vista Del Rincon!

We wish to thank you for your kind comments such positive experiences at our Eco Lodge. Thanks for recommend our hotel to other travelers.

We are sure that all our hotel staff enjoyed attending to your concerns, with the aim of achieving your satisfaction in your stay.

We share the positive experiences, such as feedback and motivation of the departments, to continue improving in new products that take us along the path of success, acquiring the happiness and satisfaction of our visitors.

We thank you, your choice in our tourist destination, for our staff it was a pleasure to serve you, as you deserve it.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

I have to go through all the pros and cons to consider with this property, as I felt the reviews I saw were either super positive or super negative.

Let's start with the cons:
-If you aren't renting a car and driving in at night, this place is kinda spooky to take a taxi to. It's about 45 mins from everything and the roads are very bumpy and mountainous. (you have to suffer a bit to get to the lovely views)
- we wanted something close to the Rincon de la Vieja national park and while this place was amazing, it was not close at all and cost 100$ round trip to get there and an hour each way.
-you really don't have any other food options besides the restaurants there, and they aren't 5 star quality (but not as bad as people are saying)

Pros:
- Almost everything you would want to do is right there in the park
- Cool animals everywhere, Agoutis and Coatimundis right outside your lodge
- Go to the bar at sunset- you will not be disappointed by that view.
- We went through the hanging bridges independently and saw a family of howler monkeys- plus bridges are just very cool (but not good if you hate heights)
- Pool was maintained, although a bit close to one of the stables so it smelt "natural"
-They have their own coffee shop onsite that is awesome!

If you are looking to be able to do stuff onsite for a few days and truly feel you are in the jungle, go ahead and book. However, if you are all about the national park just stay in Liberia and then taxi from there.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 462darienk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenavistadelrincon1, Director Comercial at Buena Vista del Rincon Eco Adventure Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2020

Dear Darien,

Greetings from Buena Vista Del Rincon!

We wish to thank you for your kind comments such positive experiences at our Eco Lodge. Thanks for recommend our hotel to other travelers.

We are sure that all our hotel staff enjoyed attending to your concerns, with the aim of achieving your satisfaction in your stay.

We share the positive experiences, such as feedback and motivation of the departments, to continue improving in new products that take us along the path of success, acquiring the happiness and satisfaction of our visitors.

We thank you, your choice in our tourist destination, for our staff it was a pleasure to serve you, as you deserve it.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

My husband and I stayed there for a few days in early January and had a great time. The property is beautiful and very well maintained. We spent our first day walking around the nature trails and property. We did the zip lining and Tarzan swing with Donald and Philippe and had a fabulous time. Really nice guys! We also took a horseback ride down to the hot springs which was beautiful. The water slide was awesome! I also had a massage and walked the hanging bridges. Food was delicious and had some amazing omelettes made with love by Alberto. Don’t forget to check out the bar on the hill for amazing views and sunset. Absolutely gorgeous and great drinks by David and Roy. Love this place and would definitely recommend it!!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank O9894BNmelissan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenavistadelrincon1, Director Comercial at Buena Vista del Rincon Eco Adventure Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2020

Dear Melissan,

Greetings from Buena Vista Del Rincon!

We wish to thank you for your kind comments such positive experiences at our Eco Lodge. We are sure that all our hotel staff enjoyed attending to your concerns, with the aim of achieving your satisfaction in your stay.

We share the positive experiences, such as feedback and motivation of the departments, to continue improving in new products that take us along the path of success, acquiring the happiness and satisfaction of our visitors.

We thank you, your choice in our tourist destination, for our staff it was a pleasure to serve you, as you deserve it.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

So who knew that out of the 3 activities that we did that required helmets (zip lining, jungle waterslide & horseback riding), that it would be most needed on the waterslide. Don't let that scare you though, the waterslide was a blast and most of our group did it more than once. Beautiful views, fun mud bath (more like plastering warm mud on each other) and relaxing hots springs. Lunch was delicious. We did a private tour from our resort, the Riu Palace with Good Alex Tours, and highly recommend Alex for that tour and other trips he provides goodalextours@gmail.com
Alex set up an amazing day for us, we covered a lot of ground, but were able to do it on our own timetable, unlike when you go with a large tour group. It was a great day for our family of 6 (parents and our early 20s aged kids and their significant others).

Date of stay: December 2019
Thank 65jena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenavistadelrincon1, Director Comercial at Buena Vista del Rincon Eco Adventure Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2020

Dear 65jena,

Greetings from Buena Vista Del Rincon!

We wish to thank you for your kind comments such positive experiences at our Eco Lodge. We are sure that all our hotel staff enjoyed attending to your concerns, with the aim of achieving your satisfaction in your day pass.

We share the positive experiences, such as feedback and motivation of the departments, to continue improving in new products that take us along the path of success, acquiring the happiness and satisfaction of our visitors.

We thank you, your choice in our tourist destination, for our staff it was a pleasure to serve you, as you deserve it.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020

We did a day trip to this adventure park and had a great time. The family did the hanging bridges, horseback riding, jungle water slide, culture visit, and hot springs. It was a lot of fun for all of us. The kids loved the water slide and wife and I absolutely loved the hot springs, we could have spent the day there. Highly recommend a visit! Oh, and the coffee and lunch were very good!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lukec498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenavistadelrincon1, Director Comercial at Buena Vista del Rincon Eco Adventure Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2020

Dear Lukec498,

Greetings from Buena Vista Del Rincon!

We wish to thank you for your kind comments such positive experiences at our Eco Lodge. We are sure that all our hotel staff enjoyed attending to your concerns, with the aim of achieving your satisfaction in your stay.

We share the positive experiences, such as feedback and motivation of the departments, to continue improving in new products that take us along the path of success, acquiring the happiness and satisfaction of our visitors.

We thank you, your choice in our tourist destination, for our staff it was a pleasure to serve you, as you deserve it.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews