We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Great Adventures”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hacienda Guachipelin
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The hotel and food were good here. If you stay, try and get one of the two Suites as they are much better than the regular rooms. The food was average.
The highlight of this stay was the Adventure Tours. We had a great time with all of the activities. Some may feel that it is a bit manufactured but we thoroughly enjoyed getting out to see all of the sites and unique animals, plants, geology, and water of the area. We especially enjoyed swimming below a couple of the waterfalls.
This was worth the trip and cost. We would do it again.

Room Tip: Choose a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChadC124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing this nice review, it will be very helpful for all readers, we always feel very happy with clients like you, that enjoy everything we offer, specially the waterfalls. Please come and visit us again soon, it will be a pleasure to have you wth us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 364 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed here as it we didn't have a car and we liked the idea of having various adventure choices at our doorstep. Mind you we stayed in a suite (#2) which was worth paying a little extra for the large space, kind bed (and single bed put in for our daughter) and private porch. The regular rooms are smaller for sure with two double beds so depending on what accommodation you want or whether you have a car or not you may decide to stay at other hotels and drive here for all the fun activities.
The Adventure Tours available range from walks or horseback rides to different waterfalls (where you have a chance to dip in very refreshing waterfall pools), a canopy tour, hot springs, white water river tubing, a canyoning tour and cowboy for a day.
We enjoyed the canopy tour with short zips (7 or so) through the canyon (including one where you choose to slide off and zip in an upside down position), a tarzan swing from one side of the fairly narrow canyon to the other, a short rapell down and short rock climb (with finger and foot holds) back up and a short hanging bridge. All in all it only took us an hour to get through but if you have adventurous children this is for them - our daughter is nine and loved it! We also loved the river tubing, the river was fairly narrow with small rapids but it was so fun and so beautiful. My daughter wished it was longer. The guides were great, splashed us and helped us through when our tubes got sandwiched between the rocks.
The walk (not really a hike) of about 35-40 minutes to the Chorreras Waterfall wasn't very attractive, not much to see but our guide Johnny was informative and friendly and the falls themselves and the beautiful natural surrounding pool was worth the visit and the cooling off (wear or take your swimsuit but there are no changing rooms!)
Our only disappointing activity was the horseback ride to the Orpendola Falls, the falls themselves were beautiful and again the very cool surrounding pool mighty refreshing if you want to take a dip. But the ride itself was boring and longer than we were told - an hour there and an hour back - turned out to be more like 75 minutes there and 70 minutes back which if there had been things to see along the way or if it had been more shaded and not so hot then it maybe it would have been worth it. If you want to go horseback riding I would recommend the hour ride.
With regard to the hotel, the front desk staff and Adventure Tour staff were first rate, as was housekeeping. But service in the restaurant was slow even with only a few patrons, and the food just Ok with little variety from day to day and at times terrible - the roast beef tough and dry. And don't expect tacos or fajitas to be like ones you get in the States. The pizza was the best meal we had.
So overall, based on our suite room and the activities we would give this 5 stars but the food just a three maybe even two stars.

Room Tip: Definitely spend a little extra for a suite, we stayed in suite 2 which was on the corner, very spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buccij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Thank you very much for your nice review, I am sure all your recommendations will be very helpful for all the readers. We feel very happy that you enjoyed all the activities that we offer.as you say, our activities are for all ages, we are glad your nine year all daughter had a great time.We are sorry you did not enjoy the horsback ride itself as you did njoy the final destination(Oropéndola waterfall) Thank you very much for the good comments of our staff. Our pizza is very famous, we are glad you tried it. Please come back and visit us again. Sorry the food did not fulfilled your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We recently stayed for 1 night at Hacienda Guachipelin in March 2014. We stayed in superior double and quadruple rooms. The rooms had plenty of space and overall were adequate and clean. The air conditioning worked fine. The beds seemed a little bit lop-sided, but after a 5-hour drive from SJO (especially the extra bumpy last 30 minutes!), we all slept fine that night. They had nice hammocks in front of each room which were nice to relax in. The walk-in shower worked fine and had good water pressure. The lighting could have been better both in the room and the bathroom, though. We were disappointed when we missed the last shuttle to the mud baths (at 4 pm) that afternoon because our tour ran long the next day and we had to cut that part of the Adventure Tour out completely, so we never got to visit them. The hotel restaurant is only option for food in the area. It was fine, but they only offered us the buffet or pizza, even though they had an a la carte menu at dinner. We opted for the pizza as none of us were that hungry and we thought it was pretty good.
I would probably have given the property just 3 stars overall, but I had to bump them up a star for their TREMENDOUS customer service in dealing with a problem after we left the hotel. My father left his camera behind (apparently in his room). We didn't discover this until after we had left not just the hotel, but Costa Rica. When I contacted them almost a week after our stay, I was told that they did indeed find the camera and would send it back to us in the US. The two ladies who helped me were Katia Watson and Ana Luisa Gonzalez. They not only returned the camera to my father in NY but also found a reasonably priced service to send it. Bravo to Hacienda Guachepelin for their honest and helpful employees. All the locals and transplants we met in Costa Rica were friendly and hospitable people. This was just our second visit to your beautiful country, but I'm sure it will not be our last. Thank you again.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the restaurant so you don't have to pass the horse stables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmbmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Hello friend, thank you very much for taking the time in writing this nice review, we are glad that you enjoyed our faciliites, our food, regarding the pizza and specially our cosutmer service. I feel very happy that you got your dad´s camera. For us costumer service is very important and we work hard every day to achieve it. Please come back soon, it will be a pleasure to have you with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I loved almost everything about this iconic retreat. The landscaping, the patios, the marimba playing as a fun welcome, and the restaurant was very good for breakfast & dinner. The only reason I did not give it a 5 was because the mattress was very thin on my bed and very hard on my friend's bed, so we weren't able to get a good night's sleep, even after an amazing day with Monkey Tour adventures. I used my bedspread to make a pallet on top of the bed but we gave up at 3 o'clock and sat by the pool chatting, which is a nice space separated from the rooms. We noticed there was a security person watching over the grounds all night, and I was glad I packed a coffee pot! Loved the lookout point across the road and wished I could have explored the serpentarium and gardens before we left the next day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you very much for your nice comments, we feel very happy that you enjoyed the hotel, almost to a 5 star qualification. I will personally check the situation with the matress. We feel glad that you liked our food and service, as well as all the activities we offer. Please come back soon and this time you may tour around the serpentarium and other atractions we have for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We just had the standard room for one night and it was pretty stark and basic, but clean. There was air conditoning. Bed was comfortable and there was a nice 'front porch' where you could sit and view the volcano/mountains. Shower was terrible - went from hot water to cold water to no water. Restaurant lunch buffet was good as was the breakfast buffet. We had dinner off the menu and it was also pretty good but very slow service - had a hard time getting our check. We were welcomed with a nice fruity cocktail. Very nice location for the activities in the area which were part of our tour.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie49St_Francis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. Thanks for all the good comments regarding our food and the activiities we offer. Please come back and visit us, it will be a pleasure to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed two nights -- had wanted a third, but couldn't get it. (Note to self -- try to arrange high season trips more than five weeks in advance.) Rooms were somewhat basic, but very clean and very comfortable, and this hotel is great value for the money.

The hacienda is a working ranch, with very sprawling and extensive grounds, including spectacular waterfalls and canyons. We did the one-day adventure pass, and for an extra $20/person, we added waterfall canyoning to the day's activities. We started with the waterfall canyoning (just us and several guides), then met up with a group (not a large one) for white-water tubing, buffet lunch at the hotel restaurant, and ziplines (through forest and through canyons, with some climbs, swings, and rappels). Then a horseback ride to a stunning waterfall that my husband and I actually had to ourselves, and a trip to the mudbath and hotsprings. Every one of the activities was fantastic, and would've been a trip highlight on its own.

The next day, we drove the 10 minutes to the national park and did Las Pailas trail, and the short hike to Oropendula Waterfall (just outside the entrance to the park, and also a magical and stunning setting, that we also had all to ourselves).

If we had had more time, I would've liked to have done more hiking, and to have visited the serpentarium and butterfly farm.

Everyone we dealt with here was extremely helpful and pleasant. And we felt we were in very capable hands throughout our adventure outings. Food was good, if a little pricey and basic (there aren't many food options around, other than the hotel restaurant), but breakfasts were very good and also included in the price.

This is an easy drive from Liberia airport, and a fantastic place to spend a few days. Highly recommend to anyone looking for some spectacular scenery and/or some particularly outstanding adventure activities.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing this review, it will be very helpful to all to all readers. We feel glad that you enjoyed all of our activities, the food and the service, we work hard in providing the best for our guests. Also , we feel happy that you took advantage of the proximity of the hotel to Rincón de la Vieja National Park, very nice hikes in a live volcano.
Please come and visit us again soon, it will be our pleasure to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed here for two nights mainly due to the location which enabled us to complete the outdoor activities that we wanted to.
The location and views are outstanding.The complex has more of a feel of a ranch than a hotel but the rooms are very comfortable.
The restaurant had a buffet as well as the main menu which we found better value and with a decent selection.
The bar is situated immediately below the restaurant and does snacks and pizza which we also found fine.
We got off to a bad start after keys were lost to our room (through no fault of ours) and the staff had to change the locks as they apparantly could not get in to the room.The safe was also locked on our arrival and had to be unlocked and reprogrammed.One or two other minor niggles such as no pool towells available left us with the impression that although the staff were friendly the efficiency of them was variable to say the least.A shame as it was a lovely place .

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LancashireIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing this review, glad to hear that you liked our food from the restaurant and our snack bar, specially the pizza, everybody should try it. We are very sorry for what happenned to you regarding the door lock, we tried to fixed it as soon as we could. Costumer Service for us is a priority. Please come and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
3.5 mi away
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
484 reviews
7.3 mi away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
295 reviews
20.6 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
4.6 mi away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
792 reviews
10.9 mi away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Guachipelin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Guachipelin

Address: Parque Nacional Rincon de la Vieja, Rincon de La Vieja 208-5010, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range: $83 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Guachipelin 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Guachipelin is a comfortable hotel with 54 rooms, each with private bathroom and hot water. The best Costa Rican ecotourism lodge for adventure travel and nature lovers, located at the entrance of Rincon de la Vieja Volcano National Park. This is the most visited National Park in Guanacaste. For the adventurer, there are many activities like horseback riding, the Canyon canopy tour, Rio Negro Tubing, canyoneering, bird watching, as well as trekking to the crater of Rincon de la Vieja Volcano. Free transportation to the National Park and the hot springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hacienda Guachipelin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Guachipelin Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Hacienda Guachipelin Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing