We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went above and beyond to help us!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hacienda Guachipelin
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Went above and beyond to help us!”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We recently stayed for 1 night at Hacienda Guachipelin in March 2014. We stayed in superior double and quadruple rooms. The rooms had plenty of space and overall were adequate and clean. The air conditioning worked fine. The beds seemed a little bit lop-sided, but after a 5-hour drive from SJO (especially the extra bumpy last 30 minutes!), we all slept fine that night. They had nice hammocks in front of each room which were nice to relax in. The walk-in shower worked fine and had good water pressure. The lighting could have been better both in the room and the bathroom, though. We were disappointed when we missed the last shuttle to the mud baths (at 4 pm) that afternoon because our tour ran long the next day and we had to cut that part of the Adventure Tour out completely, so we never got to visit them. The hotel restaurant is only option for food in the area. It was fine, but they only offered us the buffet or pizza, even though they had an a la carte menu at dinner. We opted for the pizza as none of us were that hungry and we thought it was pretty good.
I would probably have given the property just 3 stars overall, but I had to bump them up a star for their TREMENDOUS customer service in dealing with a problem after we left the hotel. My father left his camera behind (apparently in his room). We didn't discover this until after we had left not just the hotel, but Costa Rica. When I contacted them almost a week after our stay, I was told that they did indeed find the camera and would send it back to us in the US. The two ladies who helped me were Katia Watson and Ana Luisa Gonzalez. They not only returned the camera to my father in NY but also found a reasonably priced service to send it. Bravo to Hacienda Guachepelin for their honest and helpful employees. All the locals and transplants we met in Costa Rica were friendly and hospitable people. This was just our second visit to your beautiful country, but I'm sure it will not be our last. Thank you again.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the restaurant so you don't have to pass the horse stables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmbmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Hello friend, thank you very much for taking the time in writing this nice review, we are glad that you enjoyed our faciliites, our food, regarding the pizza and specially our cosutmer service. I feel very happy that you got your dad´s camera. For us costumer service is very important and we work hard every day to achieve it. Please come back soon, it will be a pleasure to have you with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    470
    248
    100
    49
See reviews for
357
577
42
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chassahowitzka
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I loved almost everything about this iconic retreat. The landscaping, the patios, the marimba playing as a fun welcome, and the restaurant was very good for breakfast & dinner. The only reason I did not give it a 5 was because the mattress was very thin on my bed and very hard on my friend's bed, so we weren't able to get a good night's sleep, even after an amazing day with Monkey Tour adventures. I used my bedspread to make a pallet on top of the bed but we gave up at 3 o'clock and sat by the pool chatting, which is a nice space separated from the rooms. We noticed there was a security person watching over the grounds all night, and I was glad I packed a coffee pot! Loved the lookout point across the road and wished I could have explored the serpentarium and gardens before we left the next day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comments, we feel very happy that you enjoyed the hotel, almost to a 5 star qualification. I will personally check the situation with the matress. We feel glad that you liked our food and service, as well as all the activities we offer. Please come back soon and this time you may tour around the serpentarium and other atractions we have for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Francis
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We just had the standard room for one night and it was pretty stark and basic, but clean. There was air conditoning. Bed was comfortable and there was a nice 'front porch' where you could sit and view the volcano/mountains. Shower was terrible - went from hot water to cold water to no water. Restaurant lunch buffet was good as was the breakfast buffet. We had dinner off the menu and it was also pretty good but very slow service - had a hard time getting our check. We were welcomed with a nice fruity cocktail. Very nice location for the activities in the area which were part of our tour.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie49St_Francis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. Thanks for all the good comments regarding our food and the activiities we offer. Please come back and visit us, it will be a pleasure to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, MA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed two nights -- had wanted a third, but couldn't get it. (Note to self -- try to arrange high season trips more than five weeks in advance.) Rooms were somewhat basic, but very clean and very comfortable, and this hotel is great value for the money.

The hacienda is a working ranch, with very sprawling and extensive grounds, including spectacular waterfalls and canyons. We did the one-day adventure pass, and for an extra $20/person, we added waterfall canyoning to the day's activities. We started with the waterfall canyoning (just us and several guides), then met up with a group (not a large one) for white-water tubing, buffet lunch at the hotel restaurant, and ziplines (through forest and through canyons, with some climbs, swings, and rappels). Then a horseback ride to a stunning waterfall that my husband and I actually had to ourselves, and a trip to the mudbath and hotsprings. Every one of the activities was fantastic, and would've been a trip highlight on its own.

The next day, we drove the 10 minutes to the national park and did Las Pailas trail, and the short hike to Oropendula Waterfall (just outside the entrance to the park, and also a magical and stunning setting, that we also had all to ourselves).

If we had had more time, I would've liked to have done more hiking, and to have visited the serpentarium and butterfly farm.

Everyone we dealt with here was extremely helpful and pleasant. And we felt we were in very capable hands throughout our adventure outings. Food was good, if a little pricey and basic (there aren't many food options around, other than the hotel restaurant), but breakfasts were very good and also included in the price.

This is an easy drive from Liberia airport, and a fantastic place to spend a few days. Highly recommend to anyone looking for some spectacular scenery and/or some particularly outstanding adventure activities.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time in writing this review, it will be very helpful to all to all readers. We feel glad that you enjoyed all of our activities, the food and the service, we work hard in providing the best for our guests. Also , we feel happy that you took advantage of the proximity of the hotel to Rincón de la Vieja National Park, very nice hikes in a live volcano.
Please come and visit us again soon, it will be our pleasure to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed here for two nights mainly due to the location which enabled us to complete the outdoor activities that we wanted to.
The location and views are outstanding.The complex has more of a feel of a ranch than a hotel but the rooms are very comfortable.
The restaurant had a buffet as well as the main menu which we found better value and with a decent selection.
The bar is situated immediately below the restaurant and does snacks and pizza which we also found fine.
We got off to a bad start after keys were lost to our room (through no fault of ours) and the staff had to change the locks as they apparantly could not get in to the room.The safe was also locked on our arrival and had to be unlocked and reprogrammed.One or two other minor niggles such as no pool towells available left us with the impression that although the staff were friendly the efficiency of them was variable to say the least.A shame as it was a lovely place .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time in writing this review, glad to hear that you liked our food from the restaurant and our snack bar, specially the pizza, everybody should try it. We are very sorry for what happenned to you regarding the door lock, we tried to fixed it as soon as we could. Costumer Service for us is a priority. Please come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Our family of seven recently spent three nights at Hacienda Guachipelin- We were three couples (parents/daughters and spouses/one 15-month granddaughter) and we stayed in Suite 1, Suite 2 and one superior room. All were in a great part of the Hacienda, with a really nice view of Rincon. The grounds are nice and well-tended, and the rooms very clean. The suites were huge, had small refrigerators, and had great decks with chairs (suite 2 is quite a bit bigger, as it is in the bend of the building and has glass on two walls). Although the superior room was nice, I would recommend getting a suite as it wasn't that much of a price difference. We also regretted not bringing the pac n' play for the baby- the crib provided by the Hacienda was old and rickety. We had to wedge it between two beds so Emily did not fall out.

Food was good, although there was a big mixup when we ordered in the bar the first night- we came up short two chicken dinners, I think. The buffet/restaurant does not open until 6:30, which was a bit late for people with a toddler. The buffets were good- fried plantains, homemade tortillas and cauliflower were delicious, and had enough variety that no one got tired of them. Pizza was also good. The restaurant setting is very nice, and staff was very attentive, especially to the baby.

The Adventure pass was absolutely awesome. Their zip-line is so much more than just a zip line. For those who want, you can also rappel down into a river canyon, rock climb out, and Tarzan swing from one side to the other. Not as daunting as it sounds- I'm 61, and yes I was sore for three days, but it was worth it. The zip-line did appear to be over-booked, however- there was a serious amount of wait time between zipping. River tubing was amazing, and we really enjoyed the hot pools/mud spa. Son in laws did canyoning, but felt that zip-lining was the better adventure.

There is a serious amount of bugs in this area of the world. We all sprayed, and with DEET, but everyone came away with lots of bug bites. I would recommend pants and long sleeves, even if it is hot. One son-in-law always wore pants- he was the only one of us not covered with bites.

Hiking to the falls and swimming was a great adventure, as was the loop trail at Rincon National Park.

Room Tip: Suite 2 is huge and has a great deck. It's in a great location- you can watch the pack horses g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMJ3466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you very much for this review, they are all very important for us, and help us improve.
As you mention, the Hacienda is for all ages, kids, young adolecents, fathers, mothters, grand pa, grand ma, etc... They all will have a great time. It looks that you did everything around the hotel. I feel very happy that you enjoyed every aspect, from the food, the service and specially the activities we offer. Sorry for the misunderstanding with the food order. Please come back and visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Three generations - from 11 to 76 years of age - were warmly welcomed and given very personal attention. The superior rooms were clean, spacious, and attractive. The restaurant staff was personable and attentive and the buffet offered a vary large variety of food that had something for everyone. The short but very interesting hike on the grounds to the river was a very pleasant surprise. The Activity Center was the highlight. The activities we did - horseback riding to the incredible tubing adventure, the exciting canopy excursion (with the wonderful breaking feature), the mud bath and thermal pools - were very well staffed with attention to safety and yet with lots of personable humor. The DVD that we purchased was a great bargain for the amount of photos and videos of great quality done by a very unobtrusive photographer. Hector gave us a great educational tour to see the butterfly house and the snakes. He has such a calm and personable demeanor that even if you are afraid of snakes, you will find his information interesting. We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed every minute. Everyone we met had a great attitude and exuded "costumer service". It is a very impressive operation - well managed and everything well maintained.

Room Tip: Superior rooms were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanSMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Well it seems that you took advantage of everything we offer, from the nice food to all the adventure activities and soft adventure activities. Thank you very much for writing this review, it will be very helpfull for all readers, and you are giving the exact idea of what people can find at the Hacienda. We feel very happy that you had such a good time with us. Please come back and visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
3.5 mi away
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure Center
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure Cent...
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
430 reviews
7.3 mi away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
277 reviews
20.6 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
21.5 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#2 of 3 in Playa Panama
664 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Guachipelin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Guachipelin

Property: Hacienda Guachipelin
Address: Parque Nacional Rincon de la Vieja, Rincon de La Vieja 208-5010, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Guachipelin 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Guachipelin is a comfortable hotel with 54 rooms, each with private bathroom and hot water. The best Costa Rican ecotourism lodge for adventure travel and nature lovers, located at the entrance of Rincon de la Vieja Volcano National Park. This is the most visited National Park in Guanacaste. For the adventurer, there are many activities like horseback riding, the Canyon canopy tour, Rio Negro Tubing, canyoneering, bird watching, as well as trekking to the crater of Rincon de la Vieja Volcano. Free transportation to the National Park and the hot springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hacienda Guachipelin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Guachipelin Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Hacienda Guachipelin Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing