We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, beware of staff in restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hacienda Guachipelin
Reviewed January 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on the evening of our 1 year wedding anniversary. We were upgraded to a suite which was awesome (probably because we were only staying one night and the place was packed with a college group so they needed all the standard rooms). The grounds are amazing and the setting is great too. Our room was very clean and had a fridge. There are geese and horses as this is a working ranch so there is a little noise but I am used to it from back home. The pool area and reception is also very nicely kept and has friendly helpful staff that provided a map of the area and recommended some waterfall hikes which we took advantage of.

The only issue we had was with our waiter at dinner, he absolutely insisted (rudely) that we take the buffet and not order from the menu. He went so far as to tell us if we ordered from the menu it would take 30 min to get our food since everyone was busy catering to the buffet. When my wife asked if he could recommend anything on the menu is answer was literally, "no." I had to work quite hard not to stand up and punch this a-hole in the face on my anniversary night. What was funny was that after we ordered our food from the menu it came in about 10 minutes and the food was quite good (although over priced but there arent any other options). Besides this useless waiter the stay was great and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher1384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing this review, it really helps us to detect areas where we need to improve, we are sorry for the inconvenience you had with the waiter, we really don´t understand why he insisted on the buffet and not the menú.
Besides that, in which we will work to fix it, we feel glad that you had a good time with us, and that you enjoyed the hotel and surroundings, and best of all that you recommend the place to all readers. Please come and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

402 - 408 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights because of the proximity to rincon national park, the hot springs and mud baths. We did not do the adventure package but it is located here. When you read the reviews, be aware that some reviews are for the adventure package and some for the hacienda.
I thought my expectations were realistic but this place was less comfortable than I expected. I did not expect a 3 or 4 star resort.This place could make several inexpensive improvements that would improve the experience. To start, the sheets on the bed are paper thin and rough. I didn't know sheets could be so uncomfortable. The bathroom could use a light over the sink. It's a bit dark. No wash cloths. You get one bath towel and one hand towel to share.
The walkway from the room to the dining room is dark in serval places. A few extra lights would allow the guests to see and avoid the possibility of stepping on the dogs that like to sleep on the walkway.
Food is fair at best. Salad and soups were good Several of the dishes were very salty. Food is ok for one or two days at most. Starts to all look the same. The beef tenderloin was too tough to eat. Hamburger was tasty.

The rooms do have pretty tile and are clean. Staff was very nice.
lounge chairs at the pool are very, very uncomfortable. They are not conducive to relaxing and reading a book.
Hammocks are wide enough for a child. ANother example of the hacienda purchasing a Very cheap product. I'm 130 pounds and couldn't fit/swing in it.

So, stay here for 1 or 2 nights if you don't want to have to drive back to another town after a long day. Bring bug spray. The 6 of us have more bites that we can count.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank NjAnnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Hello, thank you for the review, they always help to focus on our weak issues or areas to improve.
Regarding the towels you mention to share, is not really true and sounds a bit strange to hear that, we might skipped putting more towels to your room but it would have been fixed buy just asking for more towels, we would´ve bring you more.
We will work on the lights on the path, thank you for pointing out that to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My mum and I came to Hacienda Guachipelin to do the nature tour for my birthday and it was awesome! Hector was out guide and was really knowledgable and pointed out different wildlife and was able to give us info an the creatures and areas we saw. Had a great time and would recommend it to any who want to see the animals (mostly snakes and frogs) of Costa Rica!

Also, if you come here, make sure to go to the Rio Negro Hot Springs and check out the waterfalls while you are here! Great way to end the day!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Nathalie, thank you for spending your birthday with us, we are glad that you had a great time, and that your decisión was worth it. I will personally tell Héctor all the good comments about him.
Please come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

While we did not stay at the Hacienda Guachipelin resort, we drove 1.5 hours to take part in the full-day adventure tour. It was well worth the trip, and the cost! The value for this excursion is great, with many many activities that fill an entire day nicely. We arrived around 9AM and left around 4PM. Our day was filled with canyoning (zip-lining, repelling, rock climbing), horseback riding (stopping by a lovely waterfall on the way), tubing (45 minute course in an individual tube that alternates rapids and lazy river sections), hot springs and a volcanic mud bath - lunch included! You really cannot find a more action packed tour full of friendly staff and other travelers. The atmosphere was very fun and casual, but safe.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kristina_canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Thank you very much for the time taken to write this nice comment, in a few words you could describe what Hacienda Guachipelin is all about, lots of fun, lots of great activities, dedicated staff , good food and a safe ambiance. I am sure all readers will find this review very valuable, it really transmits what we strive for. Please come and visit us again soon, this time maybe you can stay at the Hacienda, it will be our pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This hotel is located inside the Rincon de Vieja park, and once you're there, there are lots of activites to do. The downside is that it's a bit of a pain to leave and do something off-campus, so you are kind of stuck there. Our room was delightful (Suite 1, which has a private patio in the back), the staff friendly and helpful, although quite a few of them had very limited English. I did not like the food very much, although I don't think it was actively terrible. You have the option of buffet or you can order off the menu. If you order simple food, you're safe. If you do the buffet and a large tour bus arrives before you get there, they might run out of some food.

Large tour groups do go through the place all day, so suddenly there will be hordes of people getting onto horses and heading off, or waiting around the parking lot, but the Hacienda does a nice job of keeping the groups out of the way of the rest of the guests.

All maps you are given are not to scale, and I found them confusing.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank MaineAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing this review, thank you also for all the good things you say about the hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed your room, also I am glad that you felt satisfied by our staff performance, and yes, you are right, english may not very good in some of them but there is a reason. As part of our sustainable tourism efforts we hire authentic, local , from the neighbor communities, and yes, some of them don´t speak the best english but it is for our effort to bring benefit to this towns. The experience is more authentic that way. Sustainable tourism is a major concern for us. I hope you can visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This review is about the hotel .

We were there from in Dec, 2 nights. We were supposed to stay for 3 nights. Many reasons prompted us to check out early.

1) Food were stale. Super gross. The chicken I ordered when we first arrived reminded me of the old days when I was a poor student who did not mind eating spoiled chicken. Don't even bother to order pizza. Please, DON'T. Use your money and energy wisely. The idea of going back to hotel to have meals just haunted us. Because of this, whenever we encountered other tourist my husband would ask them a) "where are you staying" b) is the food good. The second night we drove our rental sedan and for nearly an hour to another lodge to have their dinner buffet. IT'S LIKE A HAVEN THERE!

2) Special treatment during the weekend? We decided to shorten our stay regardless of the fast that we had paid off. We figured that we needed to use our vacation time wisely. We checked out on Saturday morning, and we found that the free breakfast was so different from what we had during the weekdays. Fruits were fresher. They even had someone making tortilla on site. Why?

3) Staff are ok. The staff would just do/answer to what you asked. Throughout our stay in CR, we met so many nice ppl, and most of the hotel/B&B we stayed, they always went beyond even if just providing us information. This is not the case at this hotel.

4) The surroundings are not what you see on the website. On the website, it looks so greenery and nice even if you just want to go for a walk. No No! Not at this hotel. It's dusty outside.

All in all, save your money and stomach and find another place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Y C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing this review, although there are some issues that I need to clear out. Food is not as bad as you mention, you can see all other reviews in this same site, most of them say good things about it. There are no special treatments on weekends, we try to keep the same quality all the time. Yes, sometimes we like to surprise our guests with fresh toritllas made on site, but this is far from being a special treat for weekends, it is just our way to give different services every now and then.
Regarding the greenery of our gardens, we will like to remind you that in Costa Rica we have a dry season and a Green season, dry season goes from december to april, and Green season from may to november, as you mentioned, you came in December, in the dry season and remember that Guanacaste, where the hotel is located, is the dryer región of Costa Rica, that affects directly the Green of the surroundings, eventhough we try to keep them green , it is natural that it wont´be as Green as in the Green season months. We feel sorry that we could not acomplish all your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed one night at Hotel Hacienda Guachipelin as part of Monkey Tours package. When we arrived, it was a full day adventure tour on the property - starting with tubing for an hour, then lunch, ziplining (with rappelling, tarzan swings, rock climbing, traversing and climbing, and a swinging bridge at the end to complete the zipline portion), followed by horseback riding and closing out the activities with Hot Springs before checking into the hotel. The activities were great- esp tubing and ziplining. The overall property with activities was good even though spaced out and drive to each location.

Lunch was included - the chicken and pork were good, the pasta a bit al dente and dry...desserts need some improvement - flan was a bit firm.

When we checked into the hotel, Wi-fi only worked in the hotel lobby; the signal got weaker the further your room was from the lobby. The room was functional - we had a 1 Queen, 1 Twin and a 1 bed that felt like a waterbed (for 3 people). There was no tv, no closet to put your coats, or lay out your clothes, a small space other than where the beds were. There were only 2 outlets in the room to charge your electrics. The bathroom was small - no real space to put your toiletries or clothes. Would have been nice to have a few more hand and face towels. Would recommend different color tiles for bathroom esp the shower (bright yellow is not a warm color) given the small room. Bright yellow made the shower feel even smaller, given the shape.

We had dinner at the restaurant - food was good - REALLY liked the squash and pork. The seabass was ok. The fajitas were good - the tortilla was freshly made, but I'm used to a different taste, so tortilla was not good for me. The desserts again need some improvement - esp the banana type pie. Nothing to do after dinner except if you wanted to go to the bar, skipped that since we had to be up at 5:30AM the next morning.

Breakfast in the morning was included at the hotel - disappointed no egg whites for omelettes, but nothing special. Although a variety for breakfast, I'm not a rice and beans person or wanted tortillas for breakfast. My omelette was a bit undercooked and it was a long line of people waiting. We only had about 1/2 hour to eat before we left...so just had some cereal. Overall, thumbs up for the activities, the room was functional and the dinner was the most enjoyable of the 3 meals I had there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WinL2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing this review. First of all , we feel glad that you liked the adventure activities that we offer, and that you had such a great time with us.
We feel sorry for the inconveniences you found at your room, we have other categories of rooms that are more spacious, with cable TV and closets, it depends on the category of your choice.
Thank you for the good comments regarding breakfast, I am glad that you enjoyed it, regarding the comment that you had to rush to eat it, I feel that this is totally out of our control, the only way to fix this is showing up earlier in order to have more time.
Overall you had a good time with us and that is what´s important. We will work on your recommendations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
3.5 mi away
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
517 reviews
7.3 mi away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
304 reviews
20.6 mi away
Andaz Costa Rica Resort At Peninsula Papagayo
Andaz Costa Rica Resort At Penin...
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
738 reviews
15.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
10.9 mi away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Guachipelin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Guachipelin

Address: Parque Nacional Rincon de la Vieja, Rincon de La Vieja 208-50101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range: $94 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Guachipelin 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Guachipelin is a comfortable hotel with 54 rooms, each with private bathroom and hot water. The best Costa Rican ecotourism lodge for adventure travel and nature lovers, located at the entrance of Rincon de la Vieja Volcano National Park. This is the most visited National Park in Guanacaste. For the adventurer, there are many activities like horseback riding, the Canyon canopy tour, Rio Negro Tubing, canyoneering, bird watching, as well as trekking to the crater of Rincon de la Vieja Volcano. Free transportation to the National Park and the hot springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hacienda Guachipelin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Guachipelin Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Hacienda Guachipelin Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing