We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hacienda Guachipelin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great activities and a few nice touches like breakfast and the drinks at check-in. Beds were not the most comfortable in the world and shower was not fancy by any stretch. A rustic dude ranch quality to the place and the surrounding amazing farm makes you forget about the bed. The wind will bring in the horse scents as well, which is fine by me, but FYI. Fun bar and home made cheese in the am was killer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, General Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time in writing this review, thanks for all the good comments, we are glad that you enjoyed our breakfasts , defenetely the fresh cheese, made in the Hacienda is of the like of many people, that combined with the fresh tortillas.Thanks for your advice on having fun at the bar, I am sure many people will follow it. Hopefully you can visit us again son.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    471
    249
    101
    51
See reviews for
364
580
42
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Wife and I stayed two nights in early September. Overall the rooms were fine, the property was beautiful, the activities were great, but the food was just so-so. Normally I would not downgrade a property because of the food, but since there is literally no other place to eat, it brought this place from an "excellent" to a "very good" for me.

The rooms were clean and well appointed considering the price. The property was well maintained with great flora and fauna. We saw lots of exotic birds on property including parakeets, parrots, and toucans.

The activities were great. The day long adventure pass provided outstanding value with four activities for $85 per person. The staff was safety conscious but still made all trips fun.

There was wi-fi access near the lobby and they even had two PC's you could use to catch up with friends.

I definitely recommend this place, but just understand you'll overpay for mediocre food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friendswithdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, General Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time in writing this review , we feel very happy that you had a good time with us, and that you enjoyed all of our activities, as well as the value on them.
Thank you very much also for highly recommending us to all the readers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We started our Costa Rica vacation at Hacienda Guachipelin. The drive there was easy from the Liberia airport. The last 5-10 miles was unpaved so you have to go slow. We had a Toyota Yaris and were fine though. The hotel is a working ranch, so you can see cattle and horses all around the property as you drive in. You could also see the vaqueros (cowboys) driving the cattle and horses to and from the fields in the morning and evening. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Our first night we drove to the mud baths which are included. It took about 15 minutes of slow driving to get there. It was soo relaxing to paint on the mud, rinse it off in the stream, and then soak in the hot springs. The first morning we woke to birds singing, cattle mooing and many other nature sounds. It was actually very relaxing. We did the all day adventure package through the adventure center located on site. We loved the zip lining, white water tubing, and horseback riding. I would definitely recommend it. It also includes bus transport to the mud baths, but since we had gone already, we skipped it that night and napped instead. The food at the resort was good, with a variety available. The breakfast buffet was large and there is a dinner menu at the restaurant. We also ate at the bar one night and got some smaller dishes to share (tacos, quesadilla, etc). There is a small pool near the lobby, but we did not swim. There is also wifi available in the lobby. The last morning we headed back to the mud baths and were the only ones there, other than several monkeys climbing in the trees all around us. I would definitely recommend this hotel as a great way to really get the Costa Rican experience in a comfortable and clean setting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, General Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you very much for writing this nice comments, and for highly recommending us. We feel very happy that you enjoyed all of the activities of the adventure package, all of them are great, and lots of fun. Great that you tried the food in our different options, the restaurant and the bar, which serves more like snacks on an informal setting. Thank you again, we appreciate your comments and recommendations. When you come back to Costa Rica, visit us again, it will be a pleasure to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Our family enjoyed every minute of our time at Hacienda Guachipelin. It was easy to find, in a country that uses landmarks instead of addresses.

The highlight was the tubing down a scenic river, which was the most adrenalin-filled tubing we have ever done.

As everyone says, this is a working ranch. Seemed unusual to see cowboys and monkeys together. We enjoyed the parakeets that were chattering around us most of the time. Our room for 4 was spacious. Deck chairs are outside the rooms, perfect for a morning coffee or a cocktail at sunset.

Breakfast was included. We ate dinner at an inexpensive soda 5 minutes down the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cthetravellady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Greetings from Costa Rica, thank you for writing this nice review, we feel glad that you had such a good time doing the tubbing, it is really fun and exciting, and very scenic as you say. We are glad also that you enjoyed the room and food. Thanks for the advice on optional places to eat nearby, some costumers feel that there are no other options nearby, and there are some.
Please come back and visit us son.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herradura, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located a couple miles from the parks main entrance and has hot springs too. The food is very good. The offer lost of activities to keep you busy, make sure you stay at least 2 nights.
If you are in the Liberia area and want to see the jungle before heading to the beach this could be a nice start of tour adventure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joaquin-StayinCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review, it will be very helpful for all our readers, and we feel very happy that you enjoyed all of our services. Please come back and visit us son.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Clean basic rooms, friendly and very helpful and efficient staff. Nice setting. Reasonable food. Offer swims in waterfalls, mud baths, horseback riding and zip lines and tubing. The last two are a must. We laughed ourselves silly and the adventure team the ad some of the funniest, most safety conscious and fu loving Costa Ricans we met. The zip lining through the canyon was good fun; the tubing was just awesome.
The walks in the ricon national park were interesting and worth doing. The mud pots definitely worth a visit.
The hacienda was one of our favourite places not because of the food or facilities so much as the laid back, chilled out style that the hotel and centre fostered. Nothing was too much trouble. They even found us extra hammocks when we asked for them! We had a great few days here and strongly recommend a visit, especially if you have teenagers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aparkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you very much for all your comments and recommendations, I am sure all readers will find them very helpful, we feel very happy that you enjoyed everything we offer, from the rooms, costumer service, food and activities. Great that you had the extra hammocks, they are great to lay back and enjoy life. Thanks for the recommendation to all readers. And as you say, yes, it is great for all ages, but teen agers always have a great time with us. We hope you can come and visit us soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I spent my first few days in Costa Rica at Hacienda Guachipelin.

I loved it. The setting is a working ranch, but the Hacienda is a lovely place to stay. The rooms are in buildings around three sides of a large garden 'courtyard.' My room was lovely -- tiled floors, an intricately tiled bathroom, sort of Spanish-colonial furniture and even a remote controlled air conditioner!

It was maybe a five minute leisurely walk up to the main building from my room, which was at the far end of the garden. The folks at the main building were friendly and did everything they could to accommodate my needs. I enjoyed the food in the dining room, both at breakfast and dinner -- there was the choice of a buffet or ordering from a menu.

You don't have to speak Spanish -- I don't and I got along fine -- but if you do, it will be a real 'plus.' This is a popular spot, and the weekend I was there many people from other parts of Costa Rica showed up for a mini-vacation. While most of the staff in the main office and the dining hall speak English, I found that some of the other staff and many of the other visitors spoke only Spanish. I would have been able to enjoy more conversations with people if I had known Spanish!

I took advantage of the free shuttle. (Now I know where old school buses go -- the shuttle had printed on the sides, Burlington Public Schools.) Twice I took it to the National Park, and once to the Hot Springs. Don't miss the chance to slather yourself with volcanic mud and follow it up with a dip into the hot springs or the river.

They do have a pool, and I imagine you could lounge there with a drink -- but this is more a place to do cool things and take advantage of the opportunities provided. I joined one of the horseback outings to the waterfall, where you could swim in the natural pool at the foot of the waterfall. It really was beautiful.

Just one caveat! I'm from NJ, and Hurricane Sandy was a recent memory -- so when the powerful wind came down off the volcano -- I didn't know about this before I went -- I started to worry. But apparently (at least in springtime) that serious wind comes by every day (started late afternoon, went through the night) and any particularly susceptible trees that were going to get uprooted by it have fallen a long time ago. The wind takes some getting used to, but it is pretty awesome.

If you are looking for a luxury resort, you might be disappointed. But if you are looking for a just-right place where you can meet interesting people (I met travelers from Costa Rica, Germany, Australia, New York state and Oregon) stay in a comfortable room and eat some good food, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnS465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Hi, thank you very much for your comments, we feel happy that you had a good time with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our service provided by our staff, we work hard on this issue so our clients feel comfortable. Good that you took advantage of our free shuttles to the Rincón de la Vieja National Park and to our natural hot springs. Good recommendation not to miss this waters and the mud baths.
Thank you again for your nice comments , ww hope you can visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
3.5 mi away
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
441 reviews
7.3 mi away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
280 reviews
20.6 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
21.5 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#2 of 3 in Playa Panama
680 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Guachipelin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Guachipelin

Property: Hacienda Guachipelin
Address: Parque Nacional Rincon de la Vieja, Rincon de La Vieja 208-5010, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Guachipelin 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Guachipelin is a comfortable hotel with 54 rooms, each with private bathroom and hot water. The best Costa Rican ecotourism lodge for adventure travel and nature lovers, located at the entrance of Rincon de la Vieja Volcano National Park. This is the most visited National Park in Guanacaste. For the adventurer, there are many activities like horseback riding, the Canyon canopy tour, Rio Negro Tubing, canyoneering, bird watching, as well as trekking to the crater of Rincon de la Vieja Volcano. Free transportation to the National Park and the hot springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hacienda Guachipelin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Guachipelin Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Hacienda Guachipelin Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing