We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Nearby Hotels
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs(Rincon de La Vieja)
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Canon de la Vieja Lodge(Rincon de La Vieja)
$94
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hacienda Guachipelin(Rincon de La Vieja)(Great Value!)
$97
$92
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure(Rincon de La Vieja)(Great Value!)
$68
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Paraiso Tropical(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$32
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (846)
Filter reviews
846 results
Traveler rating
461
219
92
44
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
461
219
92
44
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf cartjunior suitezip lineswim up barmud bathhorseback ridingcosta ricahot springsnatural saunasteam roomhowler monkeysday triphot poolslovely poolour honeymoonrainy seasonliberia airport
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
342 - 347 of 846 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We spend 2 nights here, enjoying the wonderful garden, the beautiful swimming pool, the incredible natural steam room, the very hot springs, the funny volcanic mud and the spacious villa. The food is also very good... We do the horse back riding, seeing a tamandua in a tree. Even if we had to drive twice 12 km on a bumpy road, we keep an excelent souvenir of this place, the best we have been during our two week trip in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbsolutTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed 3 mnights in the rainy season. Upscale resort with spa, hotsprings, mud bath and inhiuse activities including horseback riding and ziplines. very responsive staff! Food was better then we expected. Roads to the resort are bumpy but hey thats part of the experience, scenery is great with tons of wildlife.

Room Tip: choose a room close to the pool. 3 days is enough.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank syed r r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Borrinquen for the first three nights of our honeymoon. We stayed in a Bungalow Superior, which ran about 150/night plus taxes after the promotion we booked it with. The room was pretty large and very nice--I would say probably 4 star quality. We really liked how each room was separate from the others--made for a quiet and private stay. One thing to note was that the mattress was extremely firm, which was fine for us but might bother some.

One of the best parts of Borrinquen is the friendly and helpful staff. We stayed at two other resorts after Borrinquen but this was the only place we had long conversations with the staff and felt like they were our friends. They did nice little things like make us extra strong pool drinks when we asked for them and comped us some drinks. Most of the staff spoke pretty good English although a few things got lost in translation.

The complimentary breakfast is excellent (you choose from 3 options). Fresh fruit, delicious cheese, great eggs, yummy toast and butter. However, the food options for lunch and dinner are overpriced. This is unfortunate because the resort is so isolated that you have no choice but to buy the $14 sandwiches and $25 dinner entrees. The food isn't bad, just overpriced for what you're getting. If you budget about $100 for food and drink a day (for 2 ppl) you should be good.

Zip lining at the resort is a must. We were both a little afraid of riding horses but that fear goes away within a few minutes and then you just enjoy the wonderful ride up to the top. There are 10 different lines, each with breathtaking views.

The pool is also very nice, as are the hot tubs and mud area. The steam room is old and funky (and stinky because it comes from the hot springs) but also kind of cool.

Overall, I'd probably give Borrinquen a 4.5 rating if I could. Since I can't, I'm rounding up to 5. We would definitely recommend this as a place to spend part of your trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Nice hotel close to the Liberia airport and a great easy way to ease into a Costa Rica trip.
Stayed for 2 nights with two teenagers (17 & 19).
Very small with lots of personal attention. Rooms are wonderful and airy. Everyone was very accomodating and helpful, and very patient with the language differences.
It is also isolated which is both a good and bad thing.
Good: safe, clean, lots of wildlife, nice activities (zip line, horses, ATV, pool, mud) and the bird songs are amazing to wake up to.
Bad: captive for their food service, which was good but very pricey. Honestly, is it really right to have to pay $70 for 4 people for breakfast in Costa Rica? or $150 for dinner?
Because there is no food choices (town is too far) their food pricing is too high (no competition).

I would reccomend to any friend that they include this property on the list of places to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We spent two nights at Hotel Borinquen at the recommendation of a hotel owner we stayed with in Samara; she described it as the place that she and her husband went when they wanted to treat themselves. So glad we took her suggestion!

Borinquen is up on the hill and a bit away from everything, which makes it a great place for a break on a busy vacation, or a romantic stop for any couple. Modern, well appointed cabins that would cost you 4-5 times the money in Hawaii for similar quality. Beautiful grounds, pools, mud baths, saunas.

It's a bit isolated for those who have a short trip and want to see and do it all in quick fashion, but if you've got a longer vacation and want to insure a few days of luxury and tranquility, I highly recommend Hotel Borenquin.

We liked it so much that we booked it again for our final night before flying out of LIberia, only to find it inaccessible due to heavy rains that day that caused the river to swell and make crossing it to get to Borenquin impossible. That fact, and the fact that you have scant options for dining other than the lodge itself, were the only negatives for us in an otherwise great experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews