We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Liberia, Costa Rica, Unbelievable Spa, Resort, Stables, and Adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Liberia, Costa Rica, Unbelievable Spa, Resort, Stables, and Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Borinquen Hotel Resort and Spa is a gem. 5000 acres, beautiful and spacious (cathedral ceiling, contemporary) accommodations, unbelievable
gourmet healthy food at reasonable prices, not to speak of their on property stables with 75 horses, ATVs and Adventure
Activities (eg rides to a Waterfall, hike) , sunset ride at the top of their mountain, , Volcanic Mud (from their own hot spring), multiple pools to bathe in to wash it off,
and a unique little spa with luxurious spa treatments . You feel transported to a different time and place. I cant recommend this highly enough. We went with our granddaughter and she adored it and so did we!!

Room Tip: chose the lower price accommodations as they are walking distance from the dining room and outdoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbjanower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    193
    75
    36
    23
See reviews for
262
339
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

A nice location, with good rooms, and an excellent hot spring. At the end of quite a long road from the highway, and could be better signposted. Also about an hour's drive from the main section for visitors to the Rincon de la Vieja volcano. Reception not helpful about advising on any activities apart from ones provided by the hotel. Food adequate but would hope it would be better than that in a hotel of this quality. Wifi in reception and restaurant areas, but not in rooms

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were here for one day as an excursion from the Riu but we loved the wonderful area + all the activities so much we may come back for our honey moon!
The Volcanic mud, and natural steam + hot spring tubs are so relaxing!!!
The horses are well kept and a pleasure to ride. Food was delicious for lunch.
A must see!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayla-Reza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LI, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed for four nights before heading down to Tamarindo. The grounds are beautiful and well cared for. My wife enjoyed the mud bath and lounging poolside. Our guide, Oscar, on our two excursions, waterfalls and the old volcano park, was excellent. The staff was very friendly and attentive in the restaurants.

Disappointments: They forgot to pick us up from the airport so we had to sit there for over an hour while they sent someone out. Even though the room (bungalow) and view is beautiful the beds themselves were just bad. Kind of stiff and just one thin and ill-fitted sheet between you and the mattress.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaqdeeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at Borinquen for 3 nights in December. We had our own private bungalow and bathroom with a king sized bed and canopy. There was an AC and TV as well with free wifi in the main lobby area (short walk down the steep hill). The pool area was very tropical and we saw all sorts of wildlife. The resort is on a huge farm and most of the meat/cheeses come from the animals they raise there. The staff were very accomodating and friendly and helped us practice our Spanish.
The only "drawback" is how remote the resort is if you don't have your own car, which we did not. You are relegated to only eating/drinking at the hotel's restaurants/bars. But they were reasonably priced and had a great selection, so that was fine.
My only issue with the room was that there were some bugs in the room specially the bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We came to Borinquen resort for a day from the hotel (about 90 minutes ride). It has lovely grounds, good food, great activities and very friendly staff. We did horseback riding, canopy zip lines, spa and lunch. Our 11 years old was very happy to jump in the pool after a long fun day. We felt great getting into hot spring pools after spa hot mud experience. Good place to visit. Maybe we will come to stay next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muffin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here the last 2 nights of my Costa Rican vacation. The bungalows were spacious and comfortable. Would have liked to have chairs on our porch though to watch the sunset.
Food was good, but the fresh mare bread was amazing. The last night we were there we arranged a sunset picnic at the look out point area and Jose out driver was great!
Thermal pools were wonderful as well as the mid bath!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swebb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
4.6 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
3.2 mi away
Buena Vista Lodge
Buena Vista Lodge
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
20.5 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
22.3 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
8.4 mi away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort

Property: Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Address: P.O. Box 108, Rincon de La Vieja 5000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hot Springs Spa at Borinquen Mountain Resort is your exclusive vacation spot located in Guanacaste in the North Pacific Region of Costa Rica.The Hotel was designed and created in 1999 with the sole purpose of unlocking the exceptional beauty of the Rincon de la Vieja countryside and bringing it to the world. When you visit Hotel Borinquen you are literally stepping into a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Rincon De La Vieja
Resort Borinquen Mountain
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing