We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”

Blue River Hot Springs Eco-Adventure Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Zipline Tarzan Swing and Blue River Adventure at Rincon de la Vieja from Playa...
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Dino Park and Blue River Resort Adventure in Rincon de la Vieja from Liberia
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Blue Volcanic River Waterfalls and Hot Springs Mud Bath Adventure in Rincon de...
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Rincon de la Vieja Tours offers amazing nature adventures along the base of Rincon de la Vieja – about an hour from Liberia. Tours include transportation from Guanacaste beaches and Liberia. Only the north side of the Rincon is in the rainforest and has blue volcanic rivers, the “emerald green” natural mineral hot springs and abundant tropical wildlife. You’ll be entering a ”paradise on earth” and will have an adventure of a lifetime.Rincon de la Vieja is based out of Blue River Resort & Hot Springs and offers three tours. Two are combo-tours that feature either an adventure to the incomparable blue volcanic rivers and majestic waterfalls by horse or car. Or choose the canopy tour, through rainforest, waterfalls and ending with a Tarzan Swing. These combine with a visit to Blue River Resort & Hot Springs. The third tour option is to spend the day at Blue River Resort & Spa to experience the the hot springs pools, botanical gardens, butterfly gardens, mud bath and natural sauna, the Spa, gym and more. We pick up early morning and deliver you home in time for dinner.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

after to read good reviews on trip advisor,read a lot of advertising and see a nice web page of this place we decide to visit the resort, after 1 hour of bad road we think to arrive in a little paradise like the descriptions,but wasn't like that, the place is very poor and basic, there are better place on the area that can offer more things,the staff was friendly but for me is also overpriced for what they offer

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank viajeros625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Hot Springs Eco-Adventure Tours, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I am so sorry to read this review and can only ask that this person come forward and provide more details. If this person had a bad experience and it was our fault, permit us to make amends. I assure you that the 20km of dirt road required to reach the north side of Rincon de la Vieja is worth the trouble. Only this side of the volcano is in lush rain forest, has blue colored rivers and the natural mineral hot springs. Besides all the many amenities of the resort you can choose from three tours that include transportation to and from your hotel. The first is a horseback ride (or by car) to experience the blue river Penjamo and to take a dip in gorgeous waterfalls. The second includes zip lining. The third includes a water tubing adventure rated the best in Central America. And the forth includes white water river rafting rated among the top two in Costa Rica. Of course many guests choose to spend their entire day at the resort in the hot spring pools, fresh water pool and water-slide, the botanical gardens, butterfly gardens, spa, gym and . For those who stay at the resort there are many more tours to choose from. I invite you to check out our website which shows the details, including prices. And if you have any questions, don't hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    27
    14
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
“Beautiful and relaxing”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Yes, the roads in CR are bumpy for hours and it takes a long time to get places - they're not US highways. If this ruins your day, don't go to CR. Seriously. But if you want to go to see the beautiful environment and meet the lovely people, just set aside the time to get places. It's pretty scenery, beautiful flowers and plants, and quaint little villages on the way? We went just for the day from the NW beaches and it was fine. I'd further recommend staying here if you want to partake in everything they have to offer, which is much. We just did the grounds there with the mud bath, hot pools, regular pool, beautiful flowers, and the waterfall off-site, which is super, and a wonderful dinner there. (Watch out for the blue margaritas!). Everyone there was super nice and accommodating - thoroughly enjoyed this place and close to the NW side where other areas to see and do this kind of stuff are much longer drives.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sherry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
“Great Variety”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Within one day we went zip lining, horseback riding to waterfalls, and tubing down the Blue River. It was wonderful, great prices, and so relaxing!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York, USA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice spot after a challenging drive”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The road is definitely not good but being able to stay in a lovely spot in the rainforest was very enjoyable for us. We enjoyed the hiking and horse back riding. We did not like the tubing as it was very rocky and not well explained and several folks in our group got banged up.

Rooms were nice and staff was attentive. Well worth a 2-3 day trip.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank WestchesterNYFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Nice once you get there but a terrible drive there ruins the effect”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Traveled from Tamarindo to Blue River after reading some positive memos on the place. It takes over three hours to get there with the last 30 kil. On one of the worst roads we have traveled on in Costa Rica. (30 kilometers = 1 and 1/2 hours). Once at the resort you forget about the poor road for awhile. There are several hot pools (actual cement swimming pools) throughout the park and the grounds and gardens are well maintained. We visited in early February and noticed there is a lot of construction going on as they try to improve the park. The ride back is just a bad as the one going and I would not return again for another visit unless the road was improved.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaptainBill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue River Hot Springs Eco-Adventure Tours also viewed

Province of Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Rincon de La Vieja, Province of Guanacaste
 
Rincon de La Vieja, Province of Guanacaste
Rincon de La Vieja, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Blue River Hot Springs Eco-Adventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing