We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil hideaway giving luxury for less”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Tranquil hideaway giving luxury for less”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is my second visit and I'm sorry that it was another short one. Even in 2 days you can relax and enjoy the natural beauty of the resort - located on the slopes of a remote volcanic region in northern Costa Rica. The natural hot springs provide multiple large bathing pools and - if you're ore adventurous - the experience of a natural sauna and a volcanic mud bath. The area is a large tropical garden with a butterfly enclosure, humming-birds and numerous exotic plants. Add to this an excellent breakfast, reasonably priced food (considering the remote location) and spacious cabanas and you have the perfect place to unwind and relax. For the more energetic there are tours and trips to be had. One tip - while the hotel's shuttle service can be expensive you should use it unless you have a 4x4 and are accustomed to driving on very rocky dirt roads.

Room Tip: They are all excellent but 105-110 are especially handy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EireDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    264
    104
    39
    12
See reviews for
364
358
25
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

"We originally planned to stay at Blue River for 7 days, but quickly realized that there was not enough to do at the resort to occupy us for 7 whole days. On top of that , the restaurant and anything else being sold at the resort was completely overpriced. Our first night we spent $70 for two at dinner. All we ordered was a bottle of wine and two entrees. Bottles of water cost over $2 and there was not a grocery store close enough to avoid this price. When we arrived at the resort they told us that there was an American phone line that we could use free of charge to call home. We thought this was such a great amenity. However, the second time we attempted to use he phone was a show of how little the owner respects his guests. My mother was on the phone with my father and the owner of the hotel rudely came on the line and told her to hang up because he needed the line. She was shocked by his abrupt manner and hung up the phone. The owner never apologized or even brought up the incident with us. His rudeness really turned us off to the hotel. Even when we told the front desk of our plans to leave early, the owner refused to refund our money or waive any of the excess charges that were charged to our room. His greedy and pompous demeanor ruined our whole blue river experience."read less

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

My family spent a few nights at Blue River this week and we all, kids and parents alike, had rave reviews. The cabins were very clean and funky with huge bathrooms perfect for accommodating a family. The pools were all fun, the gardens all impressive (minus the frogs and amphibians as I saw neither but the butterfly garden made up for it) and the staff was great! We did the tubing, horseback riding to the waterfall and my wife and daughter had a couple services at the spa and all were enjoyed. The blue river itself is quite spectacular and we went down to swim and lounge in it a few times. The restaurant was ok. Since it's the only game in town having some variation to the menu wouldn't hurt and $25 for a large cheese pizza seemed excessive but it is what it is. The included breakfast buffet was quite good. Every staff member we dealt with was polite and helpful, not to mention the everyman Felix who was the best. Yes, the road is bumpy and gravely but this is no different that accessing Hacienda Gauchepelin or the Arenal Observatory Lodge, both of which we've traveled to in the past and were somewhat inferior to Blue River. Rent a 4x4 and take your time on the road and you'll be just fine!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newenglandtravel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

A very long, very difficult drive. We rented a 4 wheel drive and were thankful that we had. The gardens with all the tropical flowers were beautiful. The grounds were well-laid out and taken care of. The butterfly garden is small and there are only a few different kinds. The one in Victoria, BC is 100 times better. Same goes for the hummingbird section. We only drove up to see it and were not staying there. The little cabins and pools looked lovely. We left after 75 minutes because we wanted to return on the road before it dark. The cost to enter if you are not staying there is 20 dollars US. Go early, stay for the day and enjoy the pools to make it worth while.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terezamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Only stayed one night but we found the resort to be very nice. Pools were wonderful. Air conditioner was noisy however and kept me awake. Food was delicious. The only big drawback is the road to get there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CdaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This place was great, the staff was attentive and personable.
We loved the River Tubing (although is was MUCH more intense than described, be prepared to come out with a bruise and scrape) and the waterfall hike.

Beautiful and quiet. Meals got expensive and if we returned we would be sure to bring groceries with us (since there are no stores within a reasonable distance).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BeccaMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lomita, California
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My daughter and I spent 9 days at the Blue River Resort. It was amazing! The staff is very helpful and courteous. The activities offered are fun and the guides are WONDERFUL!! I highly recommend the Blue River Resort & Hot Springs for those of you who need to get away from everything and enjoy nature in its raw form. I did not want to come back!!! We miss the staff & Echo (dog) who will join activities and follow the group around!! It was simply AMAZING!!! The food was great!

Room Tip: Get room close to dinning room & spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylS0320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
10.9 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,297 reviews
8.8 mi away
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure Center
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure Cent...
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
430 reviews
17.7 mi away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
642 reviews
22.0 mi away
Tenorio Lodge
Tenorio Lodge
#3 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
309 reviews
23.2 mi away
Rio Perdido
Rio Perdido
#1 of 1 in Bagaces
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue River Resort & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue River Resort & Hot Springs

Property: Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Address: | 600 m West of la Puente and Rio Azul, Rincon de La Vieja 21306, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue River Resort & Hot Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue River Resort and Hot Springs is an authentic Costa Rica experience in the rainforests of Rincon de la Vieja. Our jewel is the spectacular natural mineral "green" hot spring pools – but that’s just the beginning. There is a large fresh water pool & bullet slide, the spa, botanical gardens, butterfly farm, iguana and frog pond and much more. Set out on several authentic eco Costa Rica adventure tours, all nearby. Eco-tours include visits to gorgeous blue volcanic rivers and waterfalls by horseback, nature walks, volcano hike, zip-lining across waterfalls and much more. The breadth of eco-nature tours will amaze you. Blue River Resort & Hot Springs offers luxury accommodation in new, spacious 720 square foot cabanas. Book your dream Costa Rica vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Blue River Resort & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue River Resort And Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing