We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We spend a week beach side and then drove up to Blue River Resort for the final weekend of our stay. Was very relaxing and the staff was excellent. Room was conveniently located and very spacious. Only problem was the sheets didn't stay on the bed overnight. Really enjoyed the flowers, butterflies and hummingbirds.

Room Tip: Drive from Liberia is slow and rough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArmyMom2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,000)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just came back last night from Costa Rica last night. Blue River was a perfect end to a great vacation. Our group of 6 adults enjoyed our massages, all the pools, mud bath and natural sauna and a Canapy Zip Line tour.
Pros: Awesome staff thanks Edwardo and Eric. The Pizza was great.
Cons: Bedding doesn't fit. Food was a bit expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: Get a 4 wheel drive vehicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This resort has wonderful customer serveice from the entire staff. From the front desk to the owner to the employees you meet walking down the path to your cabana, everyone is friendly and very informed.
If you want to relax and pamper yourself this is a great choice BUT there are also tours you can take part in. I was with a group of 11 rotarians for 2 days of R & R after a work project in Nicoya.
We went horseback riding with a hike through the rainforest - fabulous! after a break for lunch we experienced the 9 zip lines through the rainforest and over the waterfalls. The guides were so helpful and very well trained and patient with all of us.
The resort is only a year old and has many plans for expansion. I believe it will only get better judging from the owners passion.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Bring your rain gear as you are in the rainforest. The rooms are large and homeywith a wonderful porch. I loved sitting on the porch to read and watch the world go by. My husband enjoyed napping in the hammock.
We spent time in several of the hotsprings, walked in the arboretum, which had a good variety of trees and shrubs, loved the butterfly hutch! The mud bath was even fun.
I thought the food in the restaurant was very good (no, it is not 4 star, but good) and breakfast has a good variety.
We did do the horseback ride and it was fun and reasonably priced. The horses also seemed well cared for and well behaved.
My only complaint was it rained almost the whole time we were there so we did everything in the rain however, it is the rainforest so what did I expect.
It was a very relaxing 3 days.
It was a nice blend of families and couples, young to old, staying during out visit.
The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank widgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

To my delight, the room was incredibly spacious. We had a balcony, hammock and a great view of the volcano.
My kids loved hanging out at the pools - yes there are about 5 of them. They really liked the bullet water slide.
Great tours. We LOVED the river rafting tour, and had a lovely and very responsible babysitter for our younger kids. We all went horseback riding together to the Blue River and even tried ziplining. Although I was nervous at first about the tours with young kids, the guides were super safety conscious and made even me feel at ease. Plus they knew so much about nature, that my kids learned a ton.
My daughter especially loved the butterfly garden in the morning and was fascinated by the frog breeding centre.
We had great food experiences. My husband loved the chimichanga steak (as did my boys) and I loved the tilapia which was freshly caught each day. My kids feasted on burgers, chicken nuggets, pizza, etc... thank goodness there was a big selection of kid foods since mine are horrible eaters. So - we were all happy.
All in all - wonderful memories and a great family vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StewM124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I just returned from a two night stay at this resort. The rooms, bathroom and closet are very large and clean. It also had a desk, mini fridge and coffee maker. The five pools were wonderful, one warmer than the next, all very relaxing. The restaurant on site had the best service anyone could ask for. They found a gem in our server Edwardo. I didn't have a chance to take in the spa services but others in our group did and enjoyed the massage. We all (11 of us) went horseback riding with a wonderful guide, very knowledgable. The tour was much longer than expected, but the hike in the rainforest was breath taking. The river really is blue! The zip lining was great if you can get past your fear( I barely did) But Eric and crew made me more comfortable. They were very professional and kind. They don't tell you ahead of time that there are 9 zips and once you start you have to go to the fourth to touch the ground. Price for zipping and horseback riding were very inexpensive, I would highly recommend. Great job all around. The only recommendations I would have would be that they need a gift shop! Sell tshirts, post cards and small trickets. I would have bought many, since souvenirs are no where to be found in the whole country!! Only at the airport, which is a total rip off (understatement!) I highly recommend the Blue River Resort! Don't forget your raincoat and an umbrella!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donnabeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

we are a family of 5 we had the best time with the crew of blue river resort, they treated us like family, they knew us by fist names, the grounds are beautiful, relaxing. everyone was so kind, Dani, Alfredo,Ilan, Jose, Gabriella; Erick,Kevin, Orlando; Ronald, even the dog went with us everywhere.
take a rain jacket and an umbrella
you will love every minute of your stay, you dont have to worrie about a thing, all the activities are right from the hotel, very sall groups (sometimes its only you and your family) personal care.
highly recomemded!

Room Tip: only 20 rooms all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBbaumers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
10.9 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,387 reviews
8.8 mi away
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
498 reviews
17.7 mi away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
715 reviews
22 mi away
Tenorio Lodge
Tenorio Lodge
#3 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
327 reviews
21.3 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 13 in Liberia
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue River Resort & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue River Resort & Hot Springs

Address: | 600 m West of la Puente and Rio Azul, Rincon de La Vieja 21306, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range: $101 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue River Resort & Hot Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue River Resort and Hot Springs is an authentic Costa Rica experience in the rainforests of Rincon de la Vieja. Our jewel is the spectacular natural mineral "green" hot spring pools – but that’s just the beginning. There is a large fresh water pool & bullet slide, the spa, botanical gardens, butterfly farm, iguana and frog pond and much more. Set out on several authentic eco Costa Rica adventure tours, all nearby. Eco-tours include visits to gorgeous blue volcanic rivers and waterfalls by horseback, nature walks, volcano hike, zip-lining across waterfalls and much more. The breadth of eco-nature tours will amaze you. Blue River Resort & Hot Springs offers luxury accommodation in new, spacious 720 square foot cabanas. Book your dream Costa Rica vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue River Resort & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Blue River Resort And Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing