We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few minor issues, but an overall great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A few minor issues, but an overall great place to stay”
Reviewed May 11, 2011

My husband and I just stayed at this hotel near Rincon de la Vieja national park. First, the drive there was a little nerve-racking on the unpaved portion of the road, but I guess this is to be expected in Costa Rica. The entrance to the resort is pretty nondescript, but once you get back to the cabins, the grounds are beautiful!

When we first arrived at our room, we realized we had no water. Although it seemed that we were not getting the issue across clearly to the staff, we were finally moved to another room. In our new room, the smoke detector went off both mornings we were there. It had stopped by the time we returned from our day, but then went off again the next morning.

We soon learned that we were the only guests at the resort and had breakfast, lunch and dinner at the resort restaurant. The food was pretty good, but the waiter, Jonathan, was great! He was very friendly and helpful. The hot springs were also very nice to have after a long day of adventure.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisah15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    265
    104
    39
    12
See reviews for
369
358
25
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

This is the first time I have ever written a review on a hotel and this resort is worth the effort. After moving here from the US last December and exploring Costa Rica since then, I would rate the 2 day stay at the Blue River Resort the most interesting and relaxing experience we have encountered . This includes other trips to the rain forest, cloud forest, hot springs and volcanoes. Others visitors have described the excellent service and food and I agree. The "included" breakfast was an unexpected excellent experience. Normally you expect a tray of dried scrambled eggs, bacon the was cooked the night before, etc.-you get the idea! This food was an "off the menu" delight with large serving portions.

The excellent service was topped when we volunteered to give one of their employees a ride to town when we checked out. After we left the resort we had a flat tire and he CHANGED THE TIRE for us and would not take a tip. The resort would have never known if I had not written it here. This says much about the training of their staff. Hows that for service!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chuck3773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We decided to stay here for the last night of our holiday before flying home. All I can say is highly recommended! Hot springs, spa and location are amazing, restaurante ok with very good value meals/drinks.

The website tells you everything else you need to know.....

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

This was the first night's stay back in Costa Rica after 15 years - this time with our 7-year-old daughter. The road from Liberia is an adventure until you reacclimate, but seemingly "in the middle of nowhere", here is this lovely oasis. We stayed in a spacious new room (so new that the only negative comment about our stay was the need to air out the paint/finish smells). The staff quickly got our flat tire fixed and we enjoyed two days of riding and swimming in the marvelous pools and natural springs/rivers. The butterfly garden is magical - not huge, but more butterflies that I've ever seen anywhere. Absolutely gorgeous gardens, good food, fun water slide, helpful staff (especially with a young one on horseback), and a couple of great dogs that are happy to take walks with you. Truly a pleasure!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VNVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Amazing,Relaxing,Tantalizing,,Mezmerizing,Total escape from the craziness of the busy world! ! THIS IS MY DESCRIPTION OF THIS SMALL "GARDEN OF EDEN". Friendly people,beautiful, colorful,place to enjoy nature. Go here with no kids, or if you plan to bring them,warn them to be peaceful and quiet! No abnoxious kids allowed! JUST ENJOY THE TRANQUILITY AND PEACE..

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank meyersonmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cook, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Our stay at Blue River Resort came at the end of our trip to Costa Rica and it couldn't have been a better ending. The cabins were very spacious and comfortable, the food was excellent, and the gardens were stunning. Above all, however, was the hospitality of the staff. They were genuinely warm and welcoming and eager to please. Magdalena, our hostess, and Walter, our tour guide, helped us to have the best stay possible. My only negative comment is that only 2 of the 4 thermal pools were in operation at any given time. Even so, we would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Cabin 7 offers more privacy than the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morigue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

The Blue River resort is reached after a 90 minute drive, 20 km of which is dirt/rock roads. I recommend a 4 wheel drive, but we (two women) drove it in a subcompact that was low to the ground, slowly and safely. It is worth the effort, and was the most beautiful and enjoyable place that I have stayed in Costa Rica (out of 5 places). The food is excellent, and often made just as you wish, fresh and varied, elegant and sophisticated. The botanical garden is large and includes hummingbirds, butterfly enclosure, butterfly pupae and eggs being raised, a rescue toucan (the first of a planned animal rescue effort), and the hot springs that supply water to the warm pools. The cold pool is delightful swimming, and the tile work in each of the 5 pools is beautifully done. The waterslide is fun and there are several waterfalls in the pools. The rooms are wonderful- wood floor and walls, high ceilings, large size, with fridge, TV and safe, hammock, porch. The hike to the Rincon de la Vieja is well worth the effort (3-4 hours climb, but breezy and amazing crater lake), and the swimming hole/ waterfall/ carved out rock pools that rewards the effort after the descent was delightlful. The waterfalls and natural water slides excursion was superb, we could have stayed longer on that trip. Plan to go for at least 2 nights, preferably three, so that you can relax and go on the excursions.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
10.9 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,311 reviews
8.8 mi away
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
441 reviews
17.7 mi away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
655 reviews
23.2 mi away
Rio Perdido
Rio Perdido
#1 of 1 in Bagaces
735 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue River Resort & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue River Resort & Hot Springs

Property: Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Address: | 600 m West of la Puente and Rio Azul, Rincon de La Vieja 21306, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue River Resort & Hot Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue River Resort and Hot Springs is an authentic Costa Rica experience in the rainforests of Rincon de la Vieja. Our jewel is the spectacular natural mineral "green" hot spring pools – but that’s just the beginning. There is a large fresh water pool & bullet slide, the spa, botanical gardens, butterfly farm, iguana and frog pond and much more. Set out on several authentic eco Costa Rica adventure tours, all nearby. Eco-tours include visits to gorgeous blue volcanic rivers and waterfalls by horseback, nature walks, volcano hike, zip-lining across waterfalls and much more. The breadth of eco-nature tours will amaze you. Blue River Resort & Hot Springs offers luxury accommodation in new, spacious 720 square foot cabanas. Book your dream Costa Rica vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Blue River Resort & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue River Resort And Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing