We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing way to spend a day!”

Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin
Book In Advance
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Rincon de la Vieja National Park One Day Adventure Pass
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Adventure tours for all ages next to Rincon de la Vieja National Park, Liberia, Guanacaste. The "One Day Adventure Pass" is a combination of Canopy Tour, White water Tubing, horseback ride and hot springs, with 1 meal. Individual tours are operated too.The new attraction is the butterfly garden with the snake and frog exhibit. The best adventure tour is the Canyoning Tour. The only canyoning tour in Guanacaste. Hiking tours to Rincon de la Vieja Volcano National Park. Bird watching and wildlife observation is also offered. We are open every day of the week. Now mountain bike tours on the best single track trails in Guanacaste.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We did the adventure pass on our last trip to Costa Rica that included tubing, zip line, horseback riding and the hot springs. For the price, it is one of the most fun days you will ever have. We had a group of 12 ranging from 7 years old to 67 and everyone had a blast. Juan was fantastic in getting us to and from our various activities and making sure that we all enjoyed ourselves. I highly recommend Guachipelin for anyone with a sense of adventure.

Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Yes , Guachipelin is adventure and for all ages, we feel very happy that it was money well spent for you, we work hard in giving value to our costumers. Please come and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 313 of 542 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

The is a great experience. Just a few minor surprises on the way to the adventure tours
1. It is in the national forest, it is 700 colones ($1.40 USD) per person to enter the forest. We found this as not an issue, just something we were surprised by.
2. The road up to the hotel is very bumpy, go slow.

We only did two of the four items in the tour. Tubing and zip line tour.
The tubing was a great time. You will get wet! The tour guides give you the PPE needed for the trip (life jacket, and a helmet) and they ensure the PPE fits you properly. Then they give you a set of pointers for river tubing, you grab a tube and you go. Beware, the walk down to the river is steep, there are steps in some parts, but the steps are very deep. While going down, you are caring a 6' round Inner tube so go slow and you will be fine. Once in the river, there were many guides to make sure you are safe. I fell out of my tube once, in rapids,and a guide was there to help me to a safe spot with in seconds, so I could reclaim by tube. I did get a few minor scraps and bruises, but nothing major, thanks to the helmet,life jacket and guides. The walk back up at the end, is also steep, but much better than the walk down.

The zips lining was great too, the same service with the PPE(harness, gloves and a helmet). The guides made sure the PPE fit correctly, before and during the tour. I am 6'5" 320 lbs, (2 m, 146 kg), and a little afraid of heights. So I was a bit apprehensive. The guides made sure it was safe and told me the extra precautions to take for my size. I forget how many zip lines the tour included, at least 7. There is also one Tarzan swing during the tour, and a rappel / rock climb. The rappel/rock climb was optional, but to get through the tour, everything else had to be done. During the tour, you zip line over forest, by water falls and through a canyon. There are multiple guides with you every step of the way, to ensure you are safe. The only negative, is some of the platforms seemed too small, but the guides make sure only a few people are on each platform.

Also included I the tour was a buffet lunch. It was average with some good items to choose.

3  Thank Mpgarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Hello, thank you very much for your review. I am sure you were surprised with the entrance fee, $1.4 to go into a National Park? One of the most beautiful in Costa Rica? is surprising, considering that going into a National Park in the USA is no less than $10 per person.
We feel very happy that you enjoyed the two activities you experienced and that you felt safe at all moments, for us safety is very important, is a priority.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We chose to do a combo package with the tubing, ziplining and hot springs and had a fantastic time. When we first arrived around 8:40am, it must have been at an odd time situated between tour kickoffs, so our guide from Guanacaste Viajes arranged with Juan at Hacienda Guachipelin for us to have a private walk through the serpentarium. Our serpentarium guide, Javier, was very sweet and clearly passionate about his work with the animals, so that was fun to see.

Tubing was a hoot and we enjoyed seeing lots of butterflies and even three spider monkeys in the trees overhead while we were floating down the Río Colorado. Buffet lunch was tasty, especially liked the variety of fruit juices. Ziplining was completely exhilarating and at about 7–10 cables, just about the perfect duration for us (2 in our party skipped the rappelling/Tarzan swings/climbing section). The mud-painting and hot springs provided a delightful finish to our day up at Rincón, and we started our trip back to where we were staying at the beach around 4:00pm.

On the whole, all the staffers we encountered were friendly and competent, and everything moved along at a very efficient pace—but we never felt rushed. This was a great way for our family to experience another part of Costa Rica, and it seemed like all the other travelers we met on our tours were having a good time too.

1  Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

YES ! It is deffenetely the way to go! Thank you very much for all your nice comments, they will be very helpful for all readers. We feel very happy that you had such a good time with us and that you had a blast in all activities. Please come and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We started our trip in Arenal & did canyoneering at $95 pp. We had a smaller group of people and did enjoy our day very much! Felt like the staff was a bit more professional w/Delsafio than Guachipelin but you definitely get more bang for you buck. We liked the mixed offerings of ziplining/rappelling/rock climbing, horseback riding (I'm not really comfortable on horses & they had the horses galloping a few times & felt like I might fall off-but didn't) but rode down to a lovely waterfall hole & was able to swim, tubing down 2/3 rapids that was relaxing & fun, then mud baths & hot springs. Lunch was okay-nothing special but adequate & all you can eat - all for $85 pp. This lasted pretty much all day from 9 am-3:30pm. Would offer this as a better choice than Arenal.
However, I'm not sure they advertise a minimum age because you have to be able to carry (or have someone else carry) a heavy inner tube up & down a somewhat steep stairs. Additionally, being able to do the rock climbing wall & being able to balance on top of horses requires some physical requirements that really need to be considered. Or possibly you can opt out of certain activities.?

Thank kewpie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Thank you very much for your review, and yes, as you say you get more bang for ur bucks at Hacienda Guachipelin Adventure tours, and the activities are more original , different. We feel very happy that you enjoyed all the activities, and yes we do hay a mínimum age, and also if we see that the client is so young that can´t carry the tube on its own, or go zip linning on its own, or horseback ride on its own, there will be somebody to help them. We´ve had kids 5 and 4 years old doing this activities and having lots of fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We're a family of five, 20-56 years old, all athletic and fit. First trip to CR. We did the tubing down Rio Negro first- beautiful scenery, enough rapids to make it exciting, primeval jungle, saw white faced monkeys and innumerable butterflies, good help from the guides.Great way to see the country and if stateside, we would have expected attorneys lining the banks (the rapids were somewhat forceful, at points). Worth the money right there. Then the horsey ride- a novelty for us and great fun. Then the zip line and rock climbing- our reactions varied from exhilaration to pure terror. Those challenged by heights fall in the latter category. The slot canyon in which it occurs is beautiful and deep and the rock face to climb is straight up and high. The guides were careful about safety but it got chaotic at points and their attention was diverted with numerous demands from the clients. But we all survived and declared it one of the most exciting days of our lives. Highly recommended experience.

2  Thank tomity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Splendiferous review, thank you very much, we feel very happy that you and your family had such a great time with us. Safety for us is a priority. Please come and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin also viewed

Province of Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Rincon de La Vieja, Province of Guanacaste
 
Rincon de La Vieja, Province of Guanacaste
Rincon de La Vieja, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing