We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful two days!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin

Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin
Book In Advance
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Rincon de la Vieja National Park One Day Adventure Pass
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Adventure tours for all ages next to Rincon de la Vieja National Park, Liberia, Guanacaste. The "One Day Adventure Pass" is a combination of Canopy Tour, White water Tubing, horseback ride and hot springs, with 1 meal. Individual tours are operated too.The new attraction is the butterfly garden with the snake and frog exhibit. The best adventure tour is the Canyoning Tour. The only canyoning tour in Guanacaste. Hiking tours to Rincon de la Vieja Volcano National Park. Bird watching and wildlife observation is also offered. We are open every day of the week. Now mountain bike tours on the best single track trails in Guanacaste.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful two days!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were incredibly glad we chose to stay at the Hacienda for two nights as it heightened the experience. Waking up to the symphony of all the beautiful birds was priceless! As guests in their clean and comfortable rooms, you have the benefit of free shuttles with the friendly, accomodating and knowledgable staff. Our full day there was filled with the Adventure Tour on our son's 11th birthday. It was an unbelievably amazing day for all five of us. Even during the 'relaxing' parts of the river tubing was filled with seeing Blue Morpho butterflies, gorgeous flowers and beautiful scenery. The ziplining over and through the canyon was stunning and all three of our boys loved the horseback riding (as did we). Enjoying the Rio Negro Hot Springs at the end was perfect. The whole day was full of excitement and laughter both by us and the staff. They clearly enjoy working there and it shows in how well they treat the guests. All of the staff were kind, helpful and very attentive. The food was great for kids and adults - a nice blend of Costa Rican and International. The several waterfalls we hiked to were gorgeous and the Las Pailas Trail in the Rincon de la Vieja National Park was a MUST SEE. Overall, we could not have enjoyed it more!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CanFam5-77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you very much for all your nice comments regarding the hotel and all the activities we offer, indeed we are perfect for families, the activities are for all ages and everybody enjoys alot.
We are glad that you decided to stay at Hacienda Guachipelin and for recommending the hotel to all the readers of Trip Advisor. I will tell the staff your good comments about them, they will be glad to learn what a good job they are doing. Excellent that you took advantage of how close to the NAtional Park the hotel is and could hike inside.
We hope you can come back soon and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    87
    26
    8
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tons of Fun!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I took a group of college students on this tour and everyone had a wonderful time!! Even if a student did not want to do 1 of the 4 activities, the tour operators made sure that student got to the next activity no problem. Everyone had a really great time! Each part of the tour was tons of fun and even lunch far exceeded my expectations. I highly recommend this tour for adventure seekers!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, General Manager at Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thanks for your review Alan M and thanks for recommending our tours.We hope to see you again next year.
Pura Vida !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
246 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Fun, Exhilarating, and Very Special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We did not stay at the hotel but did the Adventure tours which was the best. I am actually glad we did the whole adventure and came away with that feeling before read about it on every travel site. We started our adventure Zip lining through the canyons. Amazing, Amazing, Amazing. It was our very first time on a Zip line and we felt so safe, secure, and thrilled. The safety precautions were top of the charts. So many support staff at every station. We also did he 40 ft optional rock wall climbing. Very tough but a great work out. My daughter had a tiny insect that got stuck in her eye. They had an EMT, Erick who was there with the whole Zip line adventure who took immediate care. He went out of his way to get a local daughter to call in a prescription for antibiotic drops that were delivered after our second adventure.
Our second adventure was tubing down the rapids. Simply amazing the way this was organized, run, and handled by the staff. Every one of the patrons had an awesome time. Highly recommend this activity. It was fast and furious at some points and then real calm at some spots. If you were stuck they had helpers tubing along side. The tubing ended with some fresh fruit, water, and towels.
The buffet style lunch was very tasty with so many choices for vegetarians, vegans, and meat eaters. It was a very Costa Rican lunch with some international choices.
After lunch we rode horses to the nearby water falls. The horses and the staff were amazing. They have a ton of horses to suit every one’s preferences. The falls we went to was pretty cool.
We ended the day with a mud bath and some quality time at the Hot Springs. A short drive takes you to a very scenic point. The Mud bath was a great way to get your body cleansed after a day long of adventures. The hot spring was so soothing and relaxing.
All this for $85(adults) and $65(kids). The best adventure money can buy. Nothing was ever compromised. They even had photographers at different spots and it wasn’t expensive.
The staff here were beyond awesome. Arturo, the manager is a pretty awesome leader. He was there at the end of each activity asking every person on the tour about the activity. The entire staff at Hacienda Guachapelin need special recognition. We did this on Christmas day and my daughter, wife, and our cousins all thought this was the best way to spend Christmas.
We stopped by the next day to pick up photo’s and the staff came over to say hi and remembered us and gave us suggestions about other activities in CR. Erick the EMT actually checked on our daughter’s eye to make sure all was fine. What a touch!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank arv212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, General Manager at Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hello arv212 , we are glad that you think highly of our tours. We demand from our guides safety, we are glad you felt safe.
The canyon where this happens is unique, and the tubing is a lot of fun. Our food.....we are happy that you enjoyed it. We try our best, but sometimes just those who don't seem happy are the ones reviewing, we really do appreciate positive reviews.
The area is full of water, we have many ricers and different waterfalls in the area to explore. About the volcanic mud, we are simply blessed by having the springs on our property.
Erick is a nice guy and he comes in handy with unwanted situations.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed the way that the staff handled the tours.
We hope to see you in Costa Rica again.
Pura Vida arv212 !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
“Fun but Frustrating II”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Additional to the preview review, we had a great time specially our teens but beware on going in high holiday season because they don't have all the guides. In the morning we only we're able to do the tubing and the zip lining (2 1/2 hrs instead of the 45min normally takes) in the afternoon, by the time we reach the horse-riding, there were none so we decided to skip them, and went to swim in a beautiful waterfalls with our private guide (highly recommended it will pay for himself and even more in holidays) finishing later in the hot-springs.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank HoracioLarrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, General Manager at Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear HoracioLarrain , thanks for reviewing our tours. First we we need to say that our tours don't last 45 minutes. For example our canopy tour is programed for 1:30 minutes of adventure inside the canyon. The white water tubing is programed for about the same time.
Yes HoracioLarrain we had many more visitors during the last days of December, and we are happy because the word is around that our tours are fun and good value. And yes , by the Christmas days we are busy.
We are happy to know that you had a great time with your kids. Please visit us in May or the beginning of June, the place will be all for your family.
Pura Vida !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fun but Frustrating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

My husband and I chose the Adventure One Day Pass. We are staying in Playa del Coco and drove our car up. They seem to have recently paved the road almost all the way to the Hacienda so the drive isn't as bad as you might read (about an hour and ten minutes total from Coco). The One Day Adventure Tour included Ziplining (really fun), horseback riding (not so great - the horses are so sad and downtrodden it's kind of depressing), tubing (wonderful), lunch, and then you can drive yourself to the hotsprings (great) in the afternoon.

Here are a couple of things I'd wish I had known.

First, Hacienda Guachipelin desperately needs some sort of tour coordinator or communication manager with language skills. When you start no one explains anything to you at all, I mean at all - as in: this is how the day works, this is the order of activities, here is what you need to wear when, here are your options, etc. Theoretically you can make choices; but they only explained what this meant after lunch when we pushed the woman. For example, on the description it says one of the options was a walk through the national park. According to her, you can only do that one first thing in the morning (which they never mentioned) as a replacement for ziplining. In general none of this info is on the website; and they give you no brochure or map. Most of the operators of the zipline, etc speak almost no English at all. Which is fine, but they are also almost silent. So you are just funneled from place to place, told almost nothing. Everyone was confused all the time. When any of us tried to ask questions, the operators seemed annoyed.

Second, if you want to see the Volcano or even a view of the volcano - this is not the place. For some reason I thought at some point we would catch a glimpse - you don't. As I mentioned, you can choose a walk through the park as an option (which they never tell you) but you need to do it first thing and opt out of one of the other activities. I'm not sure which one you could opt out of but ziplining as you horseback ride to the tubing site.

Third, it is a bit intense -- as to be expected for an Adventure Tour. I was not, however, expecting to be so rushed. You get moved through pretty quickly; they definitely don't let you go at your own pace. I was happy just to drift slowly between rapids on the tubing river, but the guides kept moving us faster down the river. If you are a bit older or out of shape - this might not be the tour for you. There is no going at your own pace - and some of the more "adventurey" activities become more so because no one speaks any English. Well a man did give us safety instructions for the zipline and the tubing - but he was almost incomprehensible. I take full responsibility for being a dumb American that doesn't speak Spanish. You do get spoiled though, as most comparable tours in Costa Rica have operators that speak such wonderful english. I just assumed that on a tour where there are lots of moving parts, safety considerations, and the majority of the participants are English speakers, that they would have someone a bit more fluent to help guide you through.

A few final things..
After lunch they just sort of abandon you. We went to ask what we were supposed to do next and they looked at us like we were crazy. That is because you are supposed to make your way to the hot springs on your own. You can go immediately if you have your own car. If you don't, you have to wait until four (about an hour and a half). I think this break works well for people staying at the Hacienda, but wouldn't if you go without your own car. You should also know that there are no thermal mud baths on the tour. There is a bowl of mud they provide at the hotsprings. The hotsprings are nice - but a bit overcrowded. They offer massages there - but the prices are ridiculous! ($75 for half an hour is crazy even in the US). If you do get banged up (and we did) in the tubing etc, know that there is a paramedic on site, but he'll charge you even to get a bandaid. I understand being charged for extensive medicine or medical care, but for bandaids and disinfectant...

After all this, I am glad we went. We had a great time, even if we are a bit sore, and were frustrated by the lack of communication. It's fun - but perhaps not the tour I would choose if you only have one day and really want to see the national park and the volcano. I think this is better as a second day activity. I would also push them on all the questions you have right up front.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Amelia263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, General Manager at Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thanks Amelia263 , Thanks for reviewing Adventure Tours. We are happy to know that you liked the our tours, except for the horses. We have to say that farm horses in Costa Rica are small and they will never look like a stable horse from North America.
The volcano is visible from the Hacienda , actually is next door.
We have to disagree a bit with you about the ages of the participants, we have normally clients of all ages, but we do offer a package for people who want to go slower, "Nature Pass" .
About the massage, something in the information was not right, since the correct price is $75 for 1 hour. Another info that does not seem correct is that the medic is there for the service which is included, even X rays , but we will double check with the medic.
Thanks for the feedback, this will help us with future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin also viewed

Province of Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Rincon de La Vieja, Province of Guanacaste
 
Rincon de La Vieja, Province of Guanacaste
Rincon de La Vieja, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing