We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Anita Rainforest Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Stayed two nights at La Anita. The cabins are basic, but comfortable. The windows are all screened so you can hear the sounds of the rainforest surround you while you sleep. The big draw for me was the beautiful porch with its rocking chairs and hammock. It's a wonderful place to relax or explore Rincon de La Vieja. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marvic51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 281 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2012

I had a lovely time here. The cabins are rustic but have everything you need. The owners are wonderful people, full of heart. I learned a lot of interesting things and met interesting people that I wouldn't have had the chance to meet. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I couldn't sleep at all -- a rooster outside my room crowed constantly through the whole night, and it was not possible to close the windows to keep out the chilly breeze, so I was shivering all night. The food was very good and fresh, although extremely heavily salted. If they'd use less salt, it would have been super fabulous! Even so, I would recommend this place and I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

La Anita is located in the northern part of the country, nestled between two dormant volcanoes in a tiny little rainforest community of Colonia Libertad. It is about an hour and a half from the airport in Liberia and most of the travel is on paved road. The last 14 km is on a gravel road and I would suggest you have a four wheel drive vehicle for travel around this area.
The ranch is a truly beautiful property, beautifully maintained and teaming with tropical birds, amazing rainforest plants, and a working cacao plantation to boot! There are about 8 "cabins" which are really beautifully appointed bungalows on stilts, nicely furnished, clean and back right up to lush beautiful plants and trees. There are hammocks on the porch and an endless variety of hummingbirds, small parrots, occassional toucans and a huge flock of egrets that constantly fly here and there around the cabins.
Pablo and his wife Anna own the property and are excellent friendly, knowledgeabe hosts. They both speak english very well and are passionate about their property and the surrounding community. They are well on the way to being a large, busy cacao plantation and retain a keen interest in organic production methods and processes.
We travelled to the Rincon de la Vieja Park (about an hour from the ranch) and had a fantastic hike with a guide named Javier (arranged by Pablo and Anna). He took us for a 3 km tour of both the rainforest side and the desert side of the volcano, explaining (in perfect english) biologic processes, finding birds in the dense forest, and discussing the fumaroles (volcanic vents) that are present on the trail. Pablo and Anna had arranged a box lunch for us to take for the hike and when we left the ranch accidentally without it, Pablo got on his motorcycle and took a short cut trail and caught up to us delivering the lunch before we left town!
We also were able to spend an evening in Colonia Libertad with a local family that put on a wonderful meal, shared wine, and told stories and played games even though none of us spoke spanish and they spoke very little english. Anna and Pablo arranged this and it was a very fun and enlightening experience.
We have been to Costa Rica many times and La Anita was one of the most relaxing and memorable places we have been. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with them and left feeling they are our friends. We will definitely return and look forward to seeing the new Cacao plantings and having much more authentic Costa Rican food.

Room Tip: Be sure to take insect repellant for those days that you spend hiking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

My husband and I spent three nights at Finca La Anita in January. Pablo and Ana are warm and welcoming hosts who go out of their way to ensure that all of their guests experience the best of Guanacaste. The cabinas are spare but comfortable with screened windows and a ceiling fan for ventilation and modern bathrooms. The Sarchi rockers and hammock on the porch entice you to relax. . .if you aren't too busy exploring other sights.

We enjoyed the family-style meals served in the main lodge; we had the opportunity to enjoy the company of other travelers as well as our hosts. The couple was genuinely delighted when one of their guests provided an impromptu concert on the last night of our stay.

Plan to arrive before nightfall, and, if possible rent a 4-wheel drive vehicle. The last 14km are unpaved and rugged. Because the location is off the beaten path, plan on staying at least three nights. Be advised, too, that La Anita is an hour and a half drive from Rincon de la Vieja National Park, so plan on a full-day excursion to visit the park.

Pablo will suggest itineraries and routes and book guides for you. We were particularly pleased that we took the "shortcut" to Rincon, The road was more like a trail, but it was exciting to cross 7 rivers (sometimes the river is a better option than the bridge!). The drive through the rain forest was beautiful. Enroute we stopped to take pictures of keel-billed toucans and blue morpho butterflies. In the park, our guide Javier (recommended and booked for us by Pablo) was outstanding! He spotted a hummingbird about 200 yards away after homing in on its call, sighted a crested owl, and all three species of monkeys that inhabit the park.

La Anita is also a great place just to kick back and relax. The grounds are lovely and Pablo offers a tour of the farm, where they grow many of the fruits and vegetables they serve their guests. It is possible to walk or hike leaving directly from the cabinas. No matter what your interests, the hospitality at Finca La Anita is unique.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belladonnadellago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

The La Anita Rainforest Ranch is not easy to find but the place is absolutely fantastic and in a beautiful calm surrounding. The cabins are beautiful, very spacious and clean. The hosts Pablo and Ana are so great and helpful and organised a fantastic individual rainforest tour. Breakfast and dinner were so delicious and are served "family style". We just loved this place!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andi und Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We have just returned from a week in Costa Rica, 3 nights at La Anita and 4 at Playa Hermosa and Playa del Coco and although the whole trip was wonderful, our highlight was staying at La Anita with Pablo and Ana. We are already saving to go back and visit again! The whole rainforest atmosphere is very dynamic, not to mention the comfortable cabins, volcanic views, delicious food, the variety of things to do and see in the area and especially the very wonderful host and hostess! We cannot say enough good things about our stay there, it will be forever in our hearts and souls. We will return!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank crazeecat63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed 3 nightstand would go right back if we could! Pablo and Anita are true hosts and they treat you like you were friends for ever. They helped us sorting out a problem with our mobile phone like it would be normal (we all know that this kind of service isnt anymore).
The houses are great, a hammock on the veranda to unwind and full nature. Don't expect a AC or a TV, but really this would only harm the experience.
A real perl in the forest!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samthewill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
12.2 mi away
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
531 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,433 reviews
19.5 mi away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Heliconias Rainforest Lodge
Heliconias Rainforest Lodge
#4 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
103 reviews
17.6 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
771 reviews
6.9 mi away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Anita Rainforest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Anita Rainforest Ranch

Address: 500 Metros Este De La Iglesia Catolica | Colonia Libertad de Aguas Claras, Rincon de La Vieja, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range: $103 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Anita Rainforest Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a small valley between the Miravalles, Rincon de la Vieja, and Santa Maria Volcanoes, La Anita Rainforest Ranch is surrounded by an incredible explosion of biodiversity. Our guests have the opportunity to tour our ranch and indulge in gourmet cuisine prepared with ingredients picked fresh from our gardens. We will guide you through rainforest trails, teach you about the flower and heart of palm, fruits and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your La Anita Rainforest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Anita Rainforest Ranch Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
La Anita Rainforest Ranch Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing