We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique Costan Rican Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Anita Rainforest Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique Costan Rican Experience”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

An absolute one of a kind experience that should not be missed. Pablo & Ana are the owners of La Anita, and they open up their farm to you as if you're family. As mentioned, the cabins are simple but beautiful, spacious and comfortable; you truly feel as if you're in nature, while staying in your rooms - complete with showers of rain at night and waking up to birds singing.
The grounds are gorgeous - so lush and diverse -- and with that said, it's not surprise that the food is unbelievably good. We had breakfast & dinner there everyday, and it was incredible. Simple & local but delicious.

Yes, the drive to get there is a bit bumpy and rough, especially if you're accustomed to American roads, but note to driver -- get a 4x4 SUV and just drive fast, because driving slower on the bumps won't make it better. However, once you're there, it's all worth it.

I recommend emailing Pablo & Ana prior to your arrival and letting them know what you're interested in doing on your visit -- whether it's walking around the grounds at La Anita, or going ziplining, to mud baths, hiking, etc., as it will allow them time to coordinate your schedule.

They are amazing hosts, whom we felt were friends by the time we left. The pricing for accommodations and food was very reasonable and the experience cannot be rivaled in my opinion. Hopefully, we will make it back there! For reference, it's about an hour and a half to 2 hour drive from Liberia, all paved roads until the last 20-30 minutes.

Last thing, buy their coffee beans & some Lizano. Trust me, they're both delicious and you'll want them when you get home!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    12
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
45
133
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, Panama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We just returned from a two night stay at La Anita and cannot say enough about the wonderful hospitality of Paola and Ana, the owners. The cabinas were comfortable with rocking chair and hammocks on the porch. And did I mention the food? One night we had corvina with a basil pesto sauce and the next pork chops with a balsalmic vinegar reduction! I mean REALLY! We went horseback riding in the rainforest one afternoon and spent a very enjoyable afternoon in the Las Hornillas Hot Springs the next. I could have easily spent a week just relaxing on the porch. This place is a do not miss. Thanks again to Ana and Paolo for an unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janethitchens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

My wife and I are concluding a three week stay in Costa Rica. We had a beach front house on Cabo Matapolo, stayed in a luxurious resort hotel near Tamarindo, a tree top B&B near Saint Elena and a resort near the base of Volcan Arenal. Our favorite place was Finca La Anita. It's a ways away from the tourist bustle. There are no zip lines and no tour buses. There are beautiful grounds on a working farm, very clean and comfortable cabins, great food and two of the best hosts you could hope for. For a quiet stay in a beautiful location, we would highly recommend Finca La Anita. It was a treat to meet a young industrious and very personable family willing to share their lives with us on a farm in Costa Rica. We rate the location as excellent because that is part of the experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbr95404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My husband and 5 year old spent a magical few days at La Anita. The journey to get there was a little daunting in the dark, but every bump was worth it once we arrived. The cabin was simple, yet utterly luxurious at the same time - and spotlessly clean. Our meals, shared with other guests who were open to chatting and sharing our experiences in Costa Rica, were delicious, fresh, local and sustainable. Pablo and Ana and their two beautiful children were the best of hosts. Unasked and unprompted, Ana baked cookies in the kitchen with our son and several of the other children. It was a highlight in our visit, and an utter delight for our son. Thank you Pablo and Ana, for an unforgettable stay. We will return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MomXabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeist, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

we were warmly welcomed by the owner, pablo. After we saw the very nice cabin, authentique and luxury at the same time, he showed us the beautiful property where they have fruits, flowers, coffee, cacou etc. the dinners and breakfasts we got were great (we'd give it stars!!!), the hospitality impressive, we loved our cabin and...would have loved to stay much longer.........

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlrmfdb m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We just returned from our stay at La Anita Rainforest Ranch and can't say enough good things about it. Pablo and Ana made our visit absolutely perfect in every way. The ranch is perfectly maintained and is simply beautiful. The views from our room and the dinning area are stunning, the meals made each morning were homemade fresh off the farm ...This place is even more beautiful than it appears online and the accolades given by other reviewers are well deserved...

A lot can be said of our gracious hosts Pablo and Ana...They went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable and at home...On our wedding anniversary night after a long day out exploring Rincon De La Veija we were welcomed back at the ranch with a beautiflly set table prepared with fresh flowers just for us.. Talk about making us feel special.. Even after we checked out and were headed down the road to our next adventure we were flaged down by Pablo letting us know that we forgot a pair of sunglasses...only to find him another 15 minutes down the road pointing us in the direction of our next turn so we would not get lost, and waving at us goodbye...The only downside to our stay was having to leave..We now consider them true friends and are already planning a return visit to La Finca Anita. An outstanding place to stay in every way.

Steve & Sophia.....

Room Tip: all cabins are set up perfectly for privacy....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bombero590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algoma, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

La Anita is a wonderful place. The ranch is beautiful with flowers all over the grounds. Pablo and Ana are great hosts. The ranch is extremely interesting and Pablo giives a wonderful tour. This place gives you a great feel for the "real" Costa Rica. They grow pineapple, cacao, macadamia nuts, and beautiful plants of all kinds. The cabins are lovely and the food delicious. They arranged a wonderful guide - Juan Carlos - for our tour of Rincon de la Vieja National Park. A great experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wisconsinron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
12.2 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,265 reviews
14.8 mi away
Buena Vista Lodge
Buena Vista Lodge
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
418 reviews
19.5 mi away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tenorio Volcano National Park
760 reviews
17.6 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
616 reviews
6.9 mi away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Anita Rainforest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Anita Rainforest Ranch

Property: La Anita Rainforest Ranch
Address: 500 metros este de la iglesia catolica | Colonia Libertad de Aguas Claras, Rincon de La Vieja, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Anita Rainforest Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a small valley between the Miravalles, Rincon de la Vieja, and Santa Maria Volcanoes, La Anita Rainforest Ranch is surrounded by an incredible explosion of biodiversity. Our guests have the opportunity to tour our ranch and indulge in gourmet cuisine prepared with ingredients picked fresh from our gardens. We will guide you through rainforest trails, teach you about the flower and heart of palm, fruits and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Anita Rainforest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Anita Rainforest Ranch Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
La Anita Rainforest Ranch Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing