We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large comfortable rooms - But don't drink and swim!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Reviewed March 10, 2011

The accomodation here is very spacious and comfortable - the air conditioning is far more efficient than others we encountered and the lighting was superior.

The buffet dinner was considerably cheaper than that charged at our previous lodge, was of a better quality and (more importantly) did not run out early in the evening. The staff were helpful, even though not all had a good grasp of English.

There are walking trails and zip wires in the grounds as well as rafting, horseriding and other pursuits. We were just using the lodge as a convenient place to stop en route to the Nicaraguan border, which is a pity given the facilities it seemed to offer.

The swimming pool was lovely but frankly quite dangerous. It was quite steeply banked and the stools by the bar were in the deep end, so if you had a drink and then stepped back, you were suddenly out of your depth. Most pool bars are in the shallow end to avoid this very risk. Be very careful if you have young children and/or inexperienced swimmers using the pool.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DuncanHockley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 299 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2011

I think what we most enoyed at this lodge was the atmosphere. Cabins scattered thoughtout the grounds, made us think of a really good campgrround, which we love.
All paths lead to the lovely swimming pool, the restaurant, the river. We were lucky enough to hear the screaming monkeys across the river at dusk. Two of our group, the younger ones, waded the river, at even took a video of the sreamers! It was quite an experience.
The whole setup permits a very enjoyable visit! The excursion to the Volcano was fantastic! What trails, what sights!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chago1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Road is bad but you got to do it if your are going to the national park. Pool is awesome with a insert bar, go under the fall there is a whirlpool !! Restaurant beside the canyon with a beautiful view ,Breakfast is amazing, no fridge in the room, far from the grocery store, you have to eat there ($$) National park is not that far (30 min in car) but worth the detour, really nice trail (3 to 4 hrs), a lot to see (waterfall, mud pud, gecko).No stroller. Even if it rain ( I mean poring rain) it's warm and a must do.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blastdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

The hotel is half way between Liberia and the Rincon National Park, on a dusty road. The hotel consists of bungalows spread across large dusty grounds which might not suit some people (but that's what it is like around here!). Room was clean and comfortable, with A/C and coffee making machine. Swimming pool was nice and there's a river where you could also take a dip. Food was okay, nothing special. A decent place to stay for a couple of nights whilst visiting the park.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fromliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

This is a perfectly adequate hotel on a pretty gorge on the Colorado River. Everything about it is good - but the sheets are not as crisp, the towels not as new or the grounds not as tidy as some other places. The cabins are large, but made of dark wood that makes them a bit dingy. The activities - climbing, zip lines etc - are well-run by enthusiastic, personable guys - but do bargain on the price (as with the price for all activities in CR). The evening meal was excellent, breakfasts were OK. With a car, the hotel is within reach of Liberia for other eating options.
You will need a car if you want to visit the Rincon de la Vieja National Park - it's about 30 mins up an unmade track. The Park is worthwhile - all gurgling, volcanic mud pools and sulphurous springs.
I can understand that some people may be disappointed by the quality - but we liked the character, setting and friendliness of this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spencerswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2009

Stayed at this lodge with a Sierra Club group. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I highly recommend the zip line on their property. It goes back and forth over the river gorge. Also, recommend the white water kayaking. A guide goes with each tourist in an inflatable kayak. Plan on getting dunked. Extremely exciting. Restaurant was very good also. Rooms very quiet.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Brent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2008

The hotel is located approximately 25 mins away from PN Rincon de la Vieja Las Pailas entrance. The location is very convenient if you have a rental car.... You can get to the Liberia airport in 25 min, Liberia 10 min or about 25 min from the park entrance. The rooms are simple with no phone or TV. They were clean and came with A/C. The pool area was very nice as was the buffet breakfast. It is a bit over priced but there aren't many options in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EDT_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
8.9 mi away
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
497 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,387 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 13 in Liberia
192 reviews
17.7 mi away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,000 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canon de la Vieja Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canon de la Vieja Lodge

Address: Carretera al Parque Nacional Rincon de la Vieja, Rincon de La Vieja 0000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range: $94 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canon de la Vieja Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by beautiful gardens just 8 kms from Liberia, we offer a different way to enjoy the natural beauties that surround the Guanacaste National Parks as Santa Rosa, Rincon de la Vieja and Palo Verde.Canyon de la Vieja Lodge offers 50 rooms of which two have access for people with special needs, each has a small front terrace, equipped with double beds, air conditioning, private bathroom, hot water and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Canon de la Vieja Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon De La Vieja Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Canon De La Vieja Lodge Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing