We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great adventure lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great adventure lodge”
Reviewed February 10, 2009

Stayed at this lodge with a Sierra Club group. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I highly recommend the zip line on their property. It goes back and forth over the river gorge. Also, recommend the white water kayaking. A guide goes with each tourist in an inflatable kayak. Plan on getting dunked. Extremely exciting. Restaurant was very good also. Rooms very quiet.

  • Liked — White water kayaking
  • Disliked — Liked everything
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Brent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    96
    84
    37
    15
See reviews for
65
107
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2008

The hotel is located approximately 25 mins away from PN Rincon de la Vieja Las Pailas entrance. The location is very convenient if you have a rental car.... You can get to the Liberia airport in 25 min, Liberia 10 min or about 25 min from the park entrance. The rooms are simple with no phone or TV. They were clean and came with A/C. The pool area was very nice as was the buffet breakfast. It is a bit over priced but there aren't many options in the area.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDT_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2008

We lucked into this lodge after having a poor experience at a B & B located about a mile or two up the road (curiously, that B & B is currently top rated on TripAdvisor) . Canyon de la Vieja Lodge proved to be a breath of fresh air--a hospitable, well maintained property with a range of on-site activity choices from low key to full energy adventures. Also, the Lodge having fully functional air condtioning in their cabins was a big plus for us (other properties in the area will say "we're in the mountains, you don't need a/c" . . . that's fine if you like heat & humidity and sweating through the night when you're trying to sleep). Since it's located between one of the entrances to the nearby national park and Liberia, it made for easy drives, including getting to Liberia airport for our 7:00 a.m. return flight.

Now, the walls between the duplex cabins are thin, so you may overhear your neighbors, and if you happen to be a vegetarian you'll find over the course of several days that choices in their restaurant are limited. But all in all, it was a good experience.

  • Liked — most everything
  • Disliked — their restaurant's food choices are limited if you're a vegetarian--but what they have is tasty
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vac08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2008

This was by no means our first choice for the Rincon de la Vieja National Park, but it was the only one we could get into. We were assured that it wasn't far away. In reality, it's only about 8km outside of Liberia and a lot further than that from the Park entrance.

To get to the Park you can order a taxi ($65 to get you there, wait and bring you back) or go with the Hotel's arranged transfers at $20 per person. The Hotel's transfers pick up at 7am and bring you back at 4pm - perfect if, like us, you want to spend the whole day walking but no use if you don't have the full day. The journey there takes about 40 minutes along a dirt road.

As a place to stay, the hotel is OK - the staff are friendly, though the advice and information they gave us was often confused and conflicting. The pool area is nice, and the barman does great - and cheap - cocktails. And we had a good room - a cabin with plenty of space, decent bathroom (though weak shower) and air con. It all looks like it's a relatively new venture - the grounds aren't yet properly established and there was still a bit of building work going on down by the river which looks like it will one day be the spa (the website says it has this facility, but we weren't told about it when we got there and the half finished building seems to be what they are talking about). When it's been going a few more years, it will all probably look better than it does right now.

The rocks overlooking the river offer a great place to sit in the sun and watch the wildlife - we spent a morning there watching giant iguanas and numerous birds in the trees opposite. Of course, it's not a great place to sit when the tourists start up on the zip lines over head, shattering the peace with their whooping!

The restaurant is appalling. It seems clear they know they've got a captive clientele and refuse to make the effort to improve the standard. The nearest soda is several miles up the dusty dirt road, leaving a long walk or taxi the only other option to facing the buffet style meals they dish up. The night we ate there we were offered soup (from a packet), basic salad, cold deep fried fish pieces and a pasta bolognese with very little flavour and not much meat. All served up by staff who clearly felt they had better places to be. Not only was the food mostly tasteless, it also proved to be the most expensive meal we had during our two weeks in Costa Rica. Honestly, just don't do it if you've got any other option! The breakfasts weren't much better (pre-cooked toast, congealing scrambled eggs, tasteless fruit, etc) and the box lunch they provided was, if anything, worse.

Most of the people there seemed to be younger people on adventure tours and were there simply for the white water rafting and zip-lining organised by the hotel. If that's all you want to do, then it's probably worth visiting, else do your best to find somewhere nearer the Park.

  • Liked — The surprisingly nice pool area
  • Disliked — The restaurant
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank acr606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rincon de La Vieja hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
7.3 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
6.5 mi away
Buena Vista Lodge
Buena Vista Lodge
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
11.1 mi away
Rinconcito Lodge
Rinconcito Lodge
#2 of 5 in Rincon de La Vieja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canon de la Vieja Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canon de la Vieja Lodge

Property: Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Address: Carretera al Parque Nacional Rincon de la Vieja, Rincon de La Vieja 0000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Canon de la Vieja Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by beautiful gardens just 8 kms from Liberia, we offer a different way to enjoy the natural beauties that surround the Guanacaste National Parks as Santa Rosa, Rincon de la Vieja and Palo Verde.Canyon de la Vieja Lodge offers 50 rooms of which two have access for people with special needs, each has a small front terrace, equipped with double beds, air conditioning, private bathroom, hot water and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canon de la Vieja Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon De La Vieja Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Canon De La Vieja Lodge Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing