We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel with its own services.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

if you look for adventure, book a room in any close by hotel and take a shuttle to this hotel. the adventure part is there but the rooms are below average, really bad beds and it seems that the little bungalow hasnt been cleaned since last high season.. sticky shower, musky smell, unclean glasses, broken window in the bthroom etc. the restaurant is also a place to avoid.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank belgiantourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 304 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2012

Canyon Lodge was an interesting spot as there were no TV's in room but you really did not need one. Lots to do, Bungalows were clean and very rustic. there is lots do do there, we went horse back riding which was enjoyable. We were actually allowed to run the horses. Jimmy our guide was great. He could not speak english but we still could communicate. There is zip lining and a spa as well. It is close to the Liberia airport. We stayed there two nights. First night was when we arrived, we did a week long eco tour and we stayed there on our last night. It has a nice pool area and the staff were great. This is rated as a 3 star resort. Food was ok. Rooms are air conditioned.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JD_and_LD_Innisfil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Lovely bungalow with a porche to enjoy evenings. Great pool, friendly staff, good breakfast and dinner at reasonable price. Nice to jump into the river, to get a massage, or to rest lazy at the pool. Visit the Rincon de la Vieja national Park, but remind to pay with small bills, they don't accept bills of 50USD !

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ingemuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We chose Canyon Lodge at recommendation of a CR friend since we were arriving after dark and didn't want to drive far. Canyon Lodge is just Northwest of LIR and very convenient for the short drive. There's really no reason to stay here other than activities at Rincon de la Vieja which we did the next morning. Cabins are very basic/rustic, a little dated, but clean. We didn't use the pool, but it looked quite nice. Breakfast buffet was so-so at best - not memorable, but filled us for the morning hike.

Do be careful if you plan to arrive late as the check in clerk told me he thought I was a no show and was preparing to close the office for the night just before we arrived.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janmic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This was the second hotel in a 4 week tour of Costa Rica.
Excerpt from my daily log as follows:
Day 5
Early start drove to our next stop near Rincon de la Vieja Park. Hot day.
Arrived at Canon de la vieja lodge late morning. Rustic wood cabins with limited facilities, although had air con, bathroom/ shower. No TV. Lodge had white water rafting. Zip wires etc and seemed geared for young peoples adventure holidays. Food reflected that. Pool looked nice but hardly any shaded areas to sit in around the pool. No-one else there. Wifi only at reception. Poor soundproofing between rooms.
Went into Liberia for a walk around and an evening meal at Restaurante y Marisqueria Paso Real which was substantial and tasty. We liked Liberia, felt safe there.

Day 6
Met our guide Freddy 8am at reception and drove to Rincon de la Vieja National Park. We did the 10km walk to the waterfall in the morning (this was quite strenuous, if you are not fit, don't do it!) and the 4km walk to the volcanic mudpools in the afternoon. We saw capucin and howler monkeys up in the trees as well as several birds.
Afternoon chill out then to Liberia. We had a couple of very refreshing pineapple smoothies, then we had an excellent steak meal in El Bramadero, next to Macdonalds on the big crossroads. A big open air restaurant. We had filet minion topped with bacon and a mushroom sauce. Excellent steak and nicely cooked.

Overall we found this place quite convenient but mostly suited to young people's adventure activities.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We went on a day tour with a guide from Coco, Alex. We were offered a rafting, a canopy tour, hot springs and a lunch. It sounded a lot to do for the price. The rafting turned out to be kayaking, for the equipment that they use is a tomcat - nrs inflatable kayak and not a raft. The staff didn't now what to respond when I asked about that issue. The canopy tour was just ok, so was the staff, but then the worst was still to come: the hot springs. We found out that the hot springs were nothing but heated water. Worst of all, the heater was not working properly, and the staff got really nervous when we started looking for answers. The food was, at best, mediocre. Finally we requested our money back and our guide accepted to give us 50% back. I should have paid attention to all of the warnings posted here on TA about not using local small companies that sell you cheap tours.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed here for two nights and were a bit surprised to find such a good loacation not far from the volcano and National Parc!
The rooms are good and the bathroom is very clean!
The restaurant is run by à very nice Group of ladies who are serving quick and friendly!
If it is busy you have a buffet to participatie. Food is nothing special but good quality. French fries are delicious !
The swimmingpool and (pool)bar very nice!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Teriben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
8.9 mi away
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
517 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,415 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 13 in Liberia
195 reviews
17.7 mi away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,019 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canon de la Vieja Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canon de la Vieja Lodge

Address: Carretera al Parque Nacional Rincon de la Vieja, Rincon de La Vieja 0000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range: $93 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canon de la Vieja Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by beautiful gardens just 8 kms from Liberia, we offer a different way to enjoy the natural beauties that surround the Guanacaste National Parks as Santa Rosa, Rincon de la Vieja and Palo Verde.Canyon de la Vieja Lodge offers 50 rooms of which two have access for people with special needs, each has a small front terrace, equipped with double beds, air conditioning, private bathroom, hot water and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Canon de la Vieja Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon De La Vieja Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Canon De La Vieja Lodge Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing