We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick rainforest experience that is easy to handle”

Rainforest Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$98.99*
and up
6 in 1 Tour: Rainforest Adventures Costa Rica
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our visitors will enjoy the most complete experience possible, as they will literally fly through the forest, viewing the sub canopy (middle part of the forest), the upper canopy and its hanging gardens. Tram guests will discover plants and forms of life that are usually hidden in the forest treetops, an unknown world of incredible beauty and an extraordinary biological diversity. Complementing the Gondola experience, participants will be taken on a nature walk and enjoy an informational video.All visitors will be able to see life as it develops in the canopy for the first time, while experts will discover new things about the canopy’s natural history.
Denver
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Quick rainforest experience that is easy to handle”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Took the 10:30 tour out of our hotel in SJ after arriving on a 6:00am flight. We stopped in SJ for the day before departing for the Pacific coast. About an hour drive to the rain forest including pickups at other hotels. Drive had interesting scenery as our guide was full of information about SJ and the drive to the tram area. He was very good about translating between Spanish and English and we never felt left out. Wear shorts and tennis shoes. When we got to rainforest we did some very short hikes to observe plant and animal life, saw a sloth and leaf cutter ants, plenty of birds, and many interesting plants. What amazed me was the lack of face buzzing, or biting, insects. I think if you go on the earlier tour you get more animal action. After the hike we had an absolutely terrific lunch that we had added as part of the cost of the tour, well worth it for sure. After lunch we headed for a bit more hiking, again very short and easy, then the aerial tram. Tram holds about 6 adults with a guide and slowly glides in and above the trees. A real different view of the rain forest and a very interesting history of why this tram is here. Again birds were the most visible wildlife. Tram lasts a little over an hour. Right before the Tram we elected to add the zipline to the experience and as this was my first I am not sure how to compare, but it was really fun and not frightening in the least. Lasted a little over a minute for $10 so I thought it was great. The drive back to SJ was in the dark which was a bit of an adventure with Costa Rican roads, glad I could just sit back and relax. If you want a quick rainforest experience that is easy to handle this is your ticket. Oh yes, NICE bathrooms are readily available which is important to some in my family.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank ColoradoDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    35
    11
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
123 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Birthday family celebration”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our son and his wife we were invited to spend a different day and taken to visit this park. The initial impression was very nice, transport within the park, the driver of the van is a friendly person.The guide tour , a fine young Freddy Davila, very nice and with excellent training and expertise, we recieved deep enough explanations and he demonstrated great knowledge. After the walk, we took Rain Forest Aerial Tram address. It rained but we enjoy a nice experience. We highly recommend a visit to this attraction because it is something different and very enjoyable.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Arnold1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing Ziplining With Fabulous Guides”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My son and I stumbled upon Rainforest Adventure as we were driving through Braulio Carrillo National Park earlier this month, and made an impulsive decision to go ziplining. What luck! This proved to be one of the highlights of our trip to Costa Rica, thanks to a spectacular location and absolutely wonderful guides -- especially Randall who is not only an expert naturalist, but incredibly generous with his knowledge. We didn't do the aerial tram because it seemed a bit too sedate for us, but it would probably be perfect for folks who aren't prepared to zipline. The ziplines themselves were great fun and the views as we crossed back and forth over a river were absolutely gorgeous. Still, the highlight was the education we received about the ecosystem and our sightings (thanks to Randall) of the creatures who inhabit it, including a baby sloth, impossibly small orchids, golden orb weavers, bullet ants, leaf cutters, a toucan, different kinds of vegetation, and more. The facilities were first rate, and all of the staff was helpful and warm. Can't recommend this place enough, especially during the low season when it's not overrun with cruise ship tours.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LovetoTravel4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Things to do near San Jose, Costa Rica”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed overnight at the Rainforest Adventure Park near Braulio Carrillo park in one of the bungalows- nicely clean - not fancy which was good for our family. We did the nighttime jungle tour - AMAZING...so much wildlife - the guide was marvelous Marvin. Just an fyi - the lights go out at 8:30 pm which makes sense - eco adventure afterall. We did the aerial tram in the morning-The kids loved it and nice to have a guide on the tram with us to point out all teh birds and wildlife. The guide has good eyes. (btw - the road thru the park was really interesting - windy and almot overgrown with vegetation - very tropical). The kids and I did the ziplining over the rivers (cool) and my wife did the butterfly garden instead. Really a good experience.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Chaser120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seguin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Rain forest aerial tram”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This excursion was absolutely wonderful! The aerial tram ride through the rain forest was thrilling and our guide, Leo, was knowledgeable, informative, and a lot of fun. He made sure we all had a good time and also a good view of the specific plants and animals he pointed out. In addition to the tram ride, the courteous staff provided us with a delicious lunch after which we had time to shop in the lovely gift shop, which included local coffee, T-shirts, candies, and other momentos of our trip. Would I recomend this excursion? Would I do it again? ABSOLUTELY!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank littletexashen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Adventures also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Vara Blanca, Province of Alajuela
 
Poas Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Rainforest Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing