We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great expectations” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of China City Restaurant

China City Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 50 Restaurants in Cameron Park
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cameron Park, California
Level Contributor
230 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I had read great things about China City. I talked it up to my wife and so we ended up there one evening. I am generally easy to please, but this time... not so much. My wife was not impressed at all. She said her meal was greasy tasting. When the waiter said they use MSG we decided not to take the leftovers home.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hortaegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, FL
Level Contributor
239 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Chinese Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We had the family dinner which we both enjoyed. All courses including soup and appetizers. Cashew chicken was excellent. Everything was tasty and fresh. Couldn't finish it all and couldn't take it with us because we were traveling. Would definitely return if in area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BettyBoop1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingle Springs, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Chinese Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

This is our go-to place in a little town with 5 Asian restaurants. Consistently good with great service. Have been there for lunch and many times to get dinner to go. Every time, the order's correct, hot and quickly served. Great place!

Helpful?
Thank TravelGal2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Take-out.... Great service on sit in dining.. ambiance is just so-so”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

China City is a frequent meal for our family. Always amazed that the staff remember your name, and will remember the unique things that you order...Consistently good food. Damn review needs 200 characters before accepting.. so now I am just typing characters...........

Helpful?
2 Thank Jimryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingle Springs
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese Food in the Sierra Foothills”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

Situated behind a major grocery store, at the far end of a small strip mall, China City is, at first glance, an obscure restaurant. Don't let the location deter you!
We live in the area, and have patronized many Chinese restaurants. China City is certainly one of the best.
Food here is always fresh and tasty. Service is fine. Prices are reasonable. This restaurant is often crowded with local patrons, confirming our appraisal.
China City offers ample portions which, for us, often require a "doggie bag" which is then taken home and eaten as a snack, later.
We enjoy 2 - 3 meals per month at China City and have never yet been disappointed.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TRS1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China City Restaurant also viewed

 
Cameron Park, CA
 

Been to China City Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing