We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two words..."Bed Bugs"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Cameron Park
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cameron Park
Reno
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two words..."Bed Bugs"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2010

Upon arriving my girlfriend quickly inquired as to why the rooms facing the front of the building all had mattresses blocking the windows. That should have been our first clue to seek other accomodations. The motel itself looked hardly inhabited and with good reason. The entire operation looked as if it was going out of business which I can only assume is a matter of time. Although the young girl running the lobby was very nice and helpful, it could not disguise the overwhelming sparcity and bleakness of the hotel. Our "first" room was no exception. It had a bed and nothing else...no table, no desk, only a big empty spot where another bed used to be. This and the suffocating stench of cleaning chemicals was enough for us to request another room. Second mistake. Although the second room had no potent chemical smell and a bit more in terms of furniture there was not a single picture on any wall. But for the kicker, while taking a quick power nap we discover some other guests staying with us in the bed...bed bugs. Yup, you heard it right. Little tick like bugs of various sizes, bright red with fresh blood. After squishing a few on the pillow we proceeded to pack our belongings, marched to the lobby with the blood spotted pillow in hand and requested a full refund. The nice girl at the front desk cooperated fully and didnt seem to surprised. We checked into the Quality Inn across the street where for a bit more money we received a very nice comfortable stay. Do yourself the favor and do not go near the Motel 6 in Cameron Park.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    1
    3
    15
See reviews for
7
9
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

My grown daughter and I have stayed at numerous Motel 6's over the years to save money, and have come to expect a certain standard: bare bones, but clean and well maintained lodgings. This Motel 6 is an exception, with a dingy exterior and a muddy-colored swimming pool. Outside doors are propped open with rocks at all hours and cigarette butts are strewn around the entrances. The room appeared recently painted, but had an overpowering perfumey smell when the A/C unit (which was missing half its buttons) was turned on, the pillows were lumpy, the mattress sides were heavily stained, the plastic shower head worked poorly, and there was a gob of toothpaste on the towel bar. The room itself was vacuumed, but hallway floors and stairs were dirty and the guest laundry was out of order. This neglected motel needs to have a change in management or lose its Motel 6 status!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renocarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cameron Park hotels

California
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

I recently attended a wedding near Cameron Park, where the couple to be married listed this Motel 6 at the top of the "Places to Stay" list. The room wasn't clean. The AC knobs were broken. The toilet was dirty. Worst yet, my boyfriend woke up the next morning with an allergic reaction to something on his pillowcase. His whole face puffed up. I have been nautious with stomach cramps for the whole 5 days since we left there.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wantacleanroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville,Ca
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2008

I drove from the bay area, it was late and I couldn't make it up the hill to my home due to a snow storm. The room was cold and the heater didn't work well. Sheets were dirty stained. One tiny bar of soap was provided. I then booked a room for my elderly parents next to my room. they found hair on the bed after removing the comforter, the bed was like straw and very uncomfortable. Yes, price was just $10 cheaper then a motel accross the street. We should have gone there like our instinct told us to. The clerk was very nice!! I won't be recomending this hotel to anyone. Most Motel 6 have been affordable and very saisfying.

  • Liked — Not much
  • Disliked — For the area this motel was extremely dissapointing.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Libratwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2007

I was looking for an affordable place to sleep and shower while up in that area for a wedding and have usually had good luck with Motel 6's. I drove 10 hours and arrived after 9 PM, tired and looking to close my eyes for the night. The place was dark when I got there but not even the darkness could disguise the mold/mildew odor in the corridor on the way to my room. I dismissed it as " oh well what can you expect for the cost". After entering my room I noticed the best light I could get was comparible to a yellow bug-light. There were no drawers in the dresser and the "closet' was a 2 foot pole attached to a wall. When I pulled the sheets back I noticed the linen was stained. I turned the comforter inside out and slept on top of it. Luckily it was warm enough in the room to sleep without covers. In fact it got even warmer the next morning but I couldn't do anything about that since all the knobs on the AC were broken off. I checked out about 9 AM and went to find somewhere else to stay. I notified the motel management and Motel 6 with an email and all either of them replied with was a " sorry you didn't like it". I wouldn't recommend this place to anybody.

  • Liked — Close to freeway.
  • Disliked — Very dirty.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cisnmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cameron Park
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Cameron Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Folsom
7.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Placerville Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express El Dorado Hills Hotel
10.1 mi away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Placerville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
12.2 mi away
Larkspur Landing Folsom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Cameron Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Cameron Park

Property: Motel 6 Cameron Park
Address: 3444 Coach Ln, Cameron Park, CA 95682-8408 (Formerly Super 8)
Location: United States > California > Cameron Park
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cameron Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Motel 6 Cameron Park 1.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Cameron Park is located within walking distance to area restaurants. Tours of Gold Bug Mine, 10.8 miles. Granite Bay is 11.3 miles. Enjoy our outdoor pool and hot tub. Free Wi-Fi is available in the lobby only. Enjoy our modern rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Motel-6 and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Cameron Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Cameron Park
Cameron Park Motel 6
Cameron Park Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing