We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very good and near good things. Oh, a few items: cold pool, tv, and 5:55 alarm.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cameron Park
Sacto area
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good and near good things. Oh, a few items: cold pool, tv, and 5:55 alarm.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Very good place and stay except for unheated pool (though early Sept.) and clock radio/alarm that kicks on at 5:55 a.m.(!) and cannot be reset. Even unplugged, that setting remained, leading to conclusion it is built in to get those doggone guests out of there early. Bad, regardless. The guy clerk next a.m. wanted to argue about it. Not p.r. savvy, at best.

But overall the area and hotel are just fine. Across the local road are restaurants (the Kobe Surf & Turf gave us purely the best fish & chips meal we've ever had; also a large draft beer was possible because we could walk "home"; and why would the place be closed on Sundays, when checked last weekend!), beginning with a McDonalds, ending with a Denny's a block away, and some small locals in between. Not sure about the little Mexican place by Kobe, as I got queasy (but not my lady friend) from something, perhaps the chip dip, at one that locals said they love and have used for years, so I'll not name it. Stick with Kobe--and use the back room, if possible, which has a great atmosphere much nicer than the sparse, large main room. Much nicer. Much. Cooler too. Fans too. Very good, and we'll return.

The hotel's small exercise room was under construction--overhead lights--but should be fixed by now. However, the pool will not be heated. The hot tub/spa was just right and we enjoyed it.
Oh--the TV. It had the cheap-motel programming with the godawful roll-through-the-stations mode of finding what's on. A cycle takes about the length of a program--so then you start over! But the excellent check-in girl said "We haven't upgraded all rooms YET," so what could possibly go wrong....

The light breakfast was fine--waffles, coffee, juices and hardboiled eggs, and the attendant was great--and interesting to talk to.

A bargain rate made up for much, but that d___d tv.....and the 5:55 alarm are hard to forget. Those two items might keep us from another stay. Not sure about that yet, as much of the rest of our stay was fine and good.

Room Tip: Freeway is several hundred feet across the courtyard. Presumably you'll want to be away from it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rndh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    18
    6
    9
See reviews for
23
15
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We visit family in the area, and this hotel is probably the best that's logistically available for us. But it's not a great place to stay. It's adequate ... clean enough, but not necessarily "sparkly". The breakfast is nauseating (in fact, we couldn't face it this trip, so we opted to pay for a 'real' breakfast elsewhere). The location is convenient. Everything about this hotel is "dated" -- the drapes were sun-rotted and gross. The linens are cheap and cheesy. Then again, I guess you get what you pay for ... the price is good, but expect "sacrifices."

Room Tip: Be careful not to get a room that backs up to the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stopped for the night on way to Tahoe. Although initial observation was that it looked nice, the hotel was quite dated. It was a comfortable sleep, but the whole experience felt rundown. The door was incredibly thin, the balcony leading to room (on 2nd floor) seemed very dated. Did not feel particularly safe. The room was dusty around the edges. The bathroom was very basic. Breakfast was fair. However, it was good value for what was paid. Staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cameron Park hotels

San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

As others stated, this is an older property, but the grounds and outside are clean and in good repair. My wife and I stayed here while attending a wedding in the area. While the buildings are older, the rooms themselves appear to have been updated relatively recently. The bed was very comfortable, and there's a modern desk and chest. The bathroom was adequate, and also had updated fixtures. The rooms are smaller, but not tiny.

One thing I was worried about, was the noise....I'm a light sleeper, and have had bad experiences at similar properties. So, I was somewhat apprehensive when we arrived (never having seen the property before) and even more so, when I learned from the front desk that they were expecting a full/busy night.

But even though there was a fire crew, with 4-5 large trucks, and a full parking lot otherwise....I never a sound from either outside or the other rooms. Maybe I was just lucky, but it was a pleasant surprise.

There's a small pool area that looked to be well maintained and clean (we didn't use it during our stay).

If I were in the area again, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomsarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is an older property. It's been different names over the years. It's currently part of the Quality Inn family.

If you can't tolerate old motel properties this is not the place for you. Stay at the hotels in Folsom.

Pros:

* Close to Shingle Springs. We have relatives nearby, so this is close for us
* Cheap. Nightly rates were $79 the week we stayed. They also have a weekly rate of $400.

Cons:

*Older property. This is not a "charming" place. It is what it is, an old style motel. The balcony walkway floors tilt at slight angle in places.



Problems the week we stayed.
* Broken washing machine in the laundry room.
* Breakfast area was a mess. (OK, everyone wants a free breakfast with their economy hotel. But you get what you pay for!). The cheap slobs eating breakfast earlier in the day made a huge mess in the serving area. Hotel did not clean until breakfast was over.
*

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthwestRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here a few night to visit family and attend a wedding. We arrived well past midnight, but received a warm welcome from Vickie. The bed is probably one of the most comfortable I have ever slept on, and has feather pillows. The room is super quiet, yet amazingly easy to get to, right off the interstate. The area has lots of nice restaurants, including McDonald's right across the street. There is also a Safeway in walking distance, and drug stores very near. This is not the Ritz, but for a good night's sleep and friendly staff, I would absolutely return.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie62704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutherlin, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was easy to find. Priced well for its location. The room was clean. Had I cooktop in the room, if a guy needed to cook he could. They have a pan and silverware, which surprised me. Two thumbs up great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cameron Park
8.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Placerville Inn
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express El Dorado Hills Hotel
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Folsom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Placerville
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
7.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Sacramento - Folsom
7.9 mi away
Courtyard Sacramento Folsom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 3361 Coach Lane, Cameron Park, CA 95682
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Cameron Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cameron Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Cameron Park
Quality Inn And Suites
Cameron Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing