We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down home Mexican influenced menu”
Review of Cambria Cafe

Cambria Cafe
Ranked #25 of 47 Restaurants in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
109 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Down home Mexican influenced menu”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Thanks to Trip Advisor, I gave this restaurant my first try and loved it. I stopped in for lunch and ordered a Torta Cubana sandwich. I forgot what all was on it, but everything blended together into an incredible harmony. I would best describe it as a Cuban Sandwich over the top. I returned for a late breakfast the next morning and ordered good strong coffee and Huevos Rancheros. Again, the food was awesome, the place was super clean, the service was great, and the atmosphere was unpretentious. Lots of locals eat here, so this tells you a lot.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    38
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Worth dipping off the beaten path”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We spent the morning at San Simeon and were hungry when we left. We were tempted to zip into many restaurants along the way, but saved ourselves for Cambria based on the reviews on TripAdvisor. Very glad we did. Had we not read the reviews, we probably would've skipped the Cambria Cafe because it was empty when we walked in at 1:30pm on a Monday. But we stayed and ordered (fish fajitas and chicken enchiladas) and the food was rock solid. Very fresh, very flavorful and great service. We were in and out for lunch for $40 - including two entrees and two alcoholic drinks. We'd definitely go back - it redeemed the crappy meals we'd had out of desperation in previous days. And downtown Cambria looked really cute and quaint.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Unassuming and charming”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We went for breakfast and were immediately attended by a man who may have been the owner: it was refreshing to be addressed as "Sir" instead of "You Guys". The menu is varied with Mexican and American food, and priced well for the quality of the food. I had lived in Cambria for 23 years but this was my first visit to this sweet little place. It was immaculately clean with lots of fresh green plants and is obviously a local's hangout.

They do not open for dinner, so go for a very tasty breakfast or lunch.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joiemacadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Super Breakfast or Lunch”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great food, nice atmosphere, and helpful staff make this a great place to stop for breakfast or lunch while in Cambria.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tasty food at the right price”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I had the bacon avocado cheeseburger with chicken tortilla soup substituted for the fries. Burger was cooked perfectly and had great seasoning. Soup was tasty and well flavored. My boyfriend had the chili relleno and said it was very good. After spending upwards of $100 for dinners at subpar restaurants in Cambria, the Cambria Cafe was a delight. Both meals were under $10 each. Portions were large. The restaurant itself was very clean and appealing in a cafe style with comfortable booths and plants. Service was friendly and efficient. Wish we had found this place at the beginning of our visit, rather than the end!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank crystalcatSandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cambria Cafe also viewed

Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Cambria Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing