We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is no better getaway than the Cambria Pines Lodge!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cambria Pines Lodge
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Alhambra, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“There is no better getaway than the Cambria Pines Lodge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

We have stayed at the Cambria Pines Lodge several times over the past few years and have had a different room each time, and each room has been wonderful. The grounds are beautiful and we love the leisure stroll to the Cambria Pines Nursery. The meals we have had have been outstanding, in particular we had dinner in the patio area that is covered and it was very quaint, quiet and the service was excellent! We have referred the Cambria Pines Lodge to many of our friends and family and look forward to our next visit. Our last visit was on a getaway package, and it was a great deal!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pfinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,941
    982
    330
    122
    85
See reviews for
885
1,887
43
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

Motel 6 might be a better choice at half the price. We stayed in room 412 two nights, May 23 and 24. The place should be torn down. Only 14 of the 50 holes in the shower head were open; bad shower! Toilet: didn't know they made them so small. Since most guests are mature adults, perhaps seniors, why is the toilet so tiny? It's so low that we had trouble getting up from it. The faucet in the sink should have been replaced years ago, it looks corroded. Reception on the TV was poor; fuzzy pictures, worn-out remote. Uncomfortable chairs---couldn't sit in them more than a half hour. Noise? Plenty of it from the guests in the room above. Squeaky floor, felt like we were in a drum. Breakfast: no wonder it's included, it was so blah. $125 a night + taxes is about $100 too much. KDW

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank may23242010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseInThePines, General Manager at Cambria Pines Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2010
Even though KDW seems to have experienced issues in room 412, our maintenance log does not record a call from this room on May 23 or 24. It would have been simple to replace the shower head if we had been informed it was malfunctioning. Likewise, we could have worked on TV reception and replaced the remote. For those guests who find they need assistance getting up from a standard-size toilet such as the one in room 412, we offer accessible rooms with built-up toilets. The faucet does need to be replaced; a new one will be installed within the next few weeks. In my honest opinion, room 412 is charming with its shabby chic furniture, triple-sheeted beds, and private garden patio. I would be happy to pay $125 for it myself, knowing that I would also have access to a beautiful outdoor pool and spa, cozy restaurant, lounge with nightly entertainment, and gorgeous gardens. As for breakfast, we continue to receive a decisive majority of compliments about our selection of scrambled eggs, link sausage, breakfast potatoes, fruit, biscuits & gravy or pancakes (alternating), fresh-baked muffins, etc. We regret that KDW did not enjoy her stay and sincerely wish her luck finding a nicer room in Cambria for $62.50.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

A disappointment. Have stayed here in the past, but things seemed to have gone downhill. The rooms were all dirty, with hair in the shower! Asked to speak with the General Manager - would you believe their GM isn't there on the weekends?? Food was ok, but was much better in the past. Just an overall disappointment. Will look closer to the beach next time for our large group.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhoenixFrequentFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseInThePines, General Manager at Cambria Pines Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2010
We check all rooms before arrival. Occasionally something is missed. We regret the single hair this guest found in the shower. We also know most travelers recognize that clean older rooms do not sparkle the way new rooms do. As GM, I have regular days off. I am always available for emergencies and always answer messages when I return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

Don't waste your time and money. If only I had realized Paso Robles was just a few miles away. It was our impression that Cambria is a small village catering mainly to out of state or foreign country tourists coming to visit the Hearst Castle. CPL boasts it has been around since 1927 - not necessarily a good thing. We had our on-line reservation for over two months yet upon check-in the young, indifferent girls at the desk shrugged and said a mistake had been made and our pre-paid room was no longer available. (We were also notified an extra $100 charge was pending to cover unforeseen expenses which would be credited upon check out. We questioned this charge and again the young girls shrugged and said "It's our policy") We were sent to 2 rooms before finding one acceptable. The rooms had a musky, stale smell. We accepted a room in the "new" section that was basically clean but it was very dated. Certainly not worth the price we were charged. We had reserved the Escape Package which included a 2 entree dinner with a bottle of house wine. Neither entree was edible (side dishes were okay). House wine was not acceptable so we were given an $8 credit toward a bottle of our choice. Sub-premium wine prices started at $30. (We were careful to pay cash in the bar and for the extra charge for our bottle of wine). The self-serve full breakfast buffet was a joke. We arrived at 8:30 and all dishes on the buffet were depleted with exception of the powdered eggs and over-cooked sausage links. No coffee cups were available. People were standing around waiting for more food to be brought from the kitchen. We left as soon as we could get a cup of coffee. 20 min. later we were in Paso Robles and enjoyed excellent accommodations and delicious meals for a fraction of the price we had paid in Cambria.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseInThePines, General Manager at Cambria Pines Lodge, responded to this review, May 14, 2010
Although Cambria Pines Lodge was established in 1927, almost all of our 152 rooms are less than 25 years old and about 40 rooms and suites were built from 2006 to 2008. Online reservations are put directly into the system, so errors are very rare and we apologize for the confusion in this instance. The $100 authorization at check-in is just that--an authorization rather than a charge. The hold on funds is removed at the bank's discretion after any incidentals (phone, meals, lounge tickets, etc.) are accounted for. A majority of hotels authorize their guests' cards at check-in just as we do. I am very sorry pamcatx3 was not satisfied with our food, which is well-reviewed and widely considered to be some of the best in Cambria. The Lodge's House wine is bottled by Castoro Cellars, a local favorite. Our sincere apologies for the wait at breakfast. Sometimes everyone seems to come to breakfast at once, causing a short lag time while we refresh the various items. For the record, our eggs are not powdered and are always freshly scrambled.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

While my stay at Big Pine Lodge wasn't terrible, is wasn't very spectacular either. Our room was enormous, really the a size for maybe 6 people, but decorated plainly with poor lighting. We had a fireplace which was nice. Breakfast wasn't the best.

The grounds are absolutely beautiful however. And I love the town of Cambria. It reminded me of Minnesota a lot.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taurenlegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ca
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2010

I originally booked a JR suite with a patio and view. They sent me to the worst suite ever. It was on the bottom floor, i felt i was in the basement. Room smelled damp, furniture was old and unclean, no patio and the only view I had was of the grime on the window. I went back and complained and they put us in the newly built section, in a beautiful room with a fireplace. Loved it. Be sure to ask to stay in the new section. The restaurant, and breakfast is pretty good. The gardens are lovely and the town very cute. Highly recommend. Great service by all staff.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

We just returned from a coastal CA trip. We stayed one night at CPL and loved it. Prices extremely reasonable. We were in a regular 2Q room with a fireplace (yes, used it just because we had to!!) and forest view. The only downside to our night was that we were on the first floor and could hear folks walking above. Thank goodness it wasn't excessively late or early. Next time I would definitely request 2nd floor rooms. My in-laws were next door in a King room and very happy. Our kids (11 and 14) had a blast exploring the trails. We loved the gardens and the flowers and just walking around. Breakfast was good but crowded -- we ate outside to avoid the crowds since the weather was so great. Bathroom area was a little dated but fine, could've used a bit more counter space. Overall a great stay, I wish we were there longer. When we're back in the area, I will stay here again (2nd floor!). Go for it, you'll be happy.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
2.5 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.1 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
2.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Pines Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Pines Lodge

Property: Cambria Pines Lodge
Address: 2905 Burton Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-4001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cambria
#6 Family Hotel in Cambria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambria Pines Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 25 wooded acres, Cambria Pines Lodge offers something for everyone. Accommodations range from rustic cabins to elegant suites. Amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, day spa, free parking, and free Wi-Fi. The Main Lodge offers an excellent restaurant featuring local wines, the Fireside Lounge with nightly live entertainment, and conference rooms with full-service catering, all surrounded by world-class gardens. The organic kitchen garden provides homegrown organic produce to the restaurant at Cambria Pines Lodge, while other areas of the theme gardens offer spectacular landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambria Pines Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Pines Hotel Cambria
Cambria Pine Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing