We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Most Relaxing Place Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cambria Pines Lodge
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Most Relaxing Place Ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

So, my husband and I bought the Travelzoo discount to stay here and we'd stay here before years ago. The reviews were negative over recent stays but I thought.....I remember it being nice. Anyway, it was wonderful. Of course, you have a little bit of mildew here and there. The place has the ocean on one side and a forest on the other, how can you not have moisture. Anyway, the food was great, the entertainment wonderful and most of all it was a quiet, restful place. The area is beautiful.

Room Tip: Get a room that has a back facing a forest. It's very serene and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimDevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,930
    981
    330
    122
    85
See reviews for
882
1,882
42
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We liked the location of the lodge, it's very close to the main downtown area of Cambria.Of all the hotels we saw, we liked this location the best. They had live entertainment in the lounge which we really enjoyed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We checked in late on a full occupancy weekend, and were hoping for the best with our room. We were given a lower level (not usually our favorite) at the end (rm. 111). Except for hearing the people above us walking on the squeaky floor, we loved our room! Large living room with fireplace, a with nice sheets. We had a wall heater in the living room & bedroom, which was nice.
The buffet breakfast is always delicious with eggs, sausage, bacon, gravy & biscuits (one morning), breads, muffins, oatmeal, granola & cold cereal. Coffee, decaf, orange juice & low/reg. milk. We ate both mornings in the sunny breakfast room. We always enjoy the gardens & grounds. On our evening walk we loved looking at the stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a forest view
See more room tips
Green Features: They have low-flush toilets in the guest rooms. Gotta fill this post up to 50 letters. Is that enough?
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auntgretchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Unique. Four deer walked right by us on our way back to our room after dinner! Loved the outdoor fireplace nook where we dined with our doggy. Did not see gardens as shown on website, but asked & they are to the right of the lobby: charming small garden areas, each with it's own feature: birdhouses draped in flowers and moss; a butterfly garden; gazebo area; wishing well garden, etc. Loved the old-fashioned pine paneling in our cabin, which came with a cozy fireplace. Free breakfast was nice. Accommodations for dogs are older, in back, set behind a building which is condemned (according to sign on the door) and the landscaping in this area really needs attention. Hence the lower rating, although Nothing about this place is "average". The rest of the resort looks well kept.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SureShotSherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
173 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

I think the designation "Lodge" fits this place perfectly. It is not a fancy hotel and certainly not a chain-type motel. It looks and feels exactly like a lodge should. We stayed in the "large suite" and it was indeed large. There was a nice big living room with a couch and chairs in front of a rather old CRT TV, a table and chairs at which to eat and a kitchenette with a refrigerator, microwave, and sink. There was also a murphy bed on one wall, which we didn't explore. The bedroom in the rear had a very comfortable King-size bed, a flat screen TV, a reading chair, and a nice big deck with a view of the valley. The bathroom consisted of two rooms separated by a door, one with the toilet and the other with the shower. Both worked fine. Overall, the room was a bit worn and could use some freshening up, but generally we were very pleased. The road running by the building was used by some rather large delivery trucks early in the morning. I was glad we were on the second floor. Even up there it was a bit noisy. The breakfast was great, excellent selection of hot and cold choices. We had dinner there one night and it was very good. The little bar/nightclub was very cozy and a nice place to end the day. The pool was clean and the spa hot and they had plenty of clean towels available poolside. Finally, the gardens and surrounding grounds are really beautifully maintained creating a park-like ambience. My wife got some treatments at the Sojourn Spa at the lodge and said it was excellent. We found it to be a restful and pleasant place to stay for a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Second floor "large suite" is very nice. Beware of noise on the road running through the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grover Beach, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

The room was a two bedroom suite. The view of the canyon was wonderful. The free breakfast and dinner was delightful. The only problem was the constant noise from the driveway that was directly under the bedroom window. The next time I will request a room on the side away from the road and the experience will be dramatically better

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the road
See more room tips
Green Features: the hotel was committed to environmentally friendly routines including water conservation which is big local issue
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hallma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stopped here on a tour around California. Definitely different to all the other hotels, 11 in all, but in a very positive way. Lodge fits the bill exactly. We had a lovely pine lodge room with a fire we could have lit ourselves. Our travel companions had requested a double bedded room which they didn't have on arrival but immediately were given a double bedded suite which was fantastic.
The only downside was that it was outside the little town which looked lovely travelling through,so we had no alternative but to eat in the hotel. If you don't want to eat in the dining room the bar area do food. We had chips and buffalo wings. Much better than any 5 star high rise hotel with atmosphere. Wished we could have spent more ime there. Maybe next time!

Room Tip: If not very mobile ask for a room near the main building as rooms could be quite a way from dining a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
2.5 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.1 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
2.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Pines Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Pines Lodge

Property: Cambria Pines Lodge
Address: 2905 Burton Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-4001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cambria
#6 Family Hotel in Cambria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambria Pines Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 25 wooded acres, Cambria Pines Lodge offers something for everyone. Accommodations range from rustic cabins to elegant suites. Amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, day spa, free parking, and free Wi-Fi. The Main Lodge offers an excellent restaurant featuring local wines, the Fireside Lounge with nightly live entertainment, and conference rooms with full-service catering, all surrounded by world-class gardens. The organic kitchen garden provides homegrown organic produce to the restaurant at Cambria Pines Lodge, while other areas of the theme gardens offer spectacular landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cambria Pines Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Pines Hotel Cambria
Cambria Pine Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing