We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay was better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cambria Pines Lodge
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
80 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Second stay was better”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our second time staying here and was much better. This is the largest hotel in cambria and hosts many weddings. Keep in mind as your getaway may be mingled in with a wedding party. We stayed in the rooms that look more like cottages, very nice and updated. The three story rooms are older and more dated. This is a nice property. If this is your first time to cambria though, I would always recommend staying on moonstone if you can find vacancy. Overall we were pleased again. Nice hot breakfast which was complimentary.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frugalguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,192
    1,057
    350
    125
    89
See reviews for
962
2,101
50
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have been to the Cambria Pines Lodge three times in five years. The lodge is a collection of rustic buildings and family suites. Rustic does not mean that the rooms are not well kept or comfortable just that the atmosphere blends with the pine trees and coastal hills.

The reception area was quick to get us into the room and give us details on how to get to sites around Cambria and close by. The lounge was very comfortable with several tables and couches. One of the nights we were there they had a great group playing and several parties were there. The service at the lounge was warm, friendly and efficient.

The restaurant is decorated in a nice Victorian flair. The breakfast buffet, which came with the room, is quite good and has a variety of great items. Dinner is among the best in the area which was nice to have close by after sight seeing all day.

The rooms were very comfortable with an eating area and coffee and tea. Our beds were very comfortable and they had 3 different types of pillows to choose from. We had a comfortable couch, chair and desk.

The best part of this was the garden which surprised me on my first visit. It is beautiful and it extends about a block or more between the main restaurant and lounge area and the rooms. There are hundred of different plants and flowers and they have several staffers taking care of them. This framed the pool area which is clean and refreshing and which has a good sized jacuzzi and bath room/dressing area.

When I want to go to the Cambria or Morro Bay area in the future, this is the place I will stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Lovely situation, beautiful gardens but sadly that is all I can say that is positive about this hotel. The room although enormous was grubby and tired in decor, the bathroom was not clean enough for my standards and that will prevent me returning. Nothing had seen a paintbrush for years. We ordered food at the bar and the barman was extremely moody he argued with waitress. He kept cutting me off in mid-sentence and positively slammed the plates on the table when the food arrived. There was aduo to entertain in the evening an they were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Four days with friends: Lovely property with friendly staff. We had a large two room suite at the back of the property. The Lodge is about 10 minutes from Moonstone Beach, but located in a microclimate that was sunny when the beach was foggy. It is convenient to town & shopping/restaurants. We enjoyed wine tasting at Fermentations; and loved our dinner at Wild Ginger (Pacific Rim cuisine) just down the street.

Treat yourself to a facial and massage with Christie at the Sojourn Spa on property. I enjoyed the facial and the massage was heaven on earth.

The property has a sparkling, large pool and hot tub. Lodge dinners were delicious. Scallops were great as was the scampi and steak. Breakfast is a bit institutional but they feed a lot of folk in the morning. Breakfast includes scrambled eggs, fresh melon; and much more. Early morning birding along the Lodge's nature trail yielded acorn woodpeckers with a fledgling; and a doe with three fawns. We really had a great time and will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa barbar a
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Search the internet for specials and get a suite! The rooms are new, fresh, bright and best of all they are free standing buildings, so no one is above you or on both sides...stopping around. I really like the scallops for dinner and the breakfast is great! The grounds are beautiful and I love to walk down the wood stairs that lead to the sweet little village. Although I love the front desk people...there is a very militant female manager who is not warm and friendly and I have heard her be strict and borderline mean to the others working at the front desk....this sets a stiff and uncomfortable tone at the front desk. Ive been coming for over a year and that manager is never been warm to guests or the others working there. SOMEONE TALK TO HER and tell her to lighten up and be NICE.....to guest and others working with her! Other then that one manager at the front desk ....I LOVE THIS PLACE!!!!

Room Tip: spring for a suite or a mater suite! if you are on a budget...you can wait till you find a special o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trish c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I traveled with another couple and spent two night at the Lodge. Each couple had an excellent room and loved the ambiance of the grounds and their dining room. We would recommend this lodge to anyone who wanted a wonderful, peaceful getaway.

Room Tip: Book in the newer section.
See more room tips
Green Features: All very good. You can request not to have linens laundered every day.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I abd LOVED our stay at this location. It was nice and quiet. Our rm had a nice view of the moutain. It wz a very cozy, cottage look type of automsophere. They even have a trail in the back and we saw Deers. Great buffet breakfast on location. Cute Lil place. Only complaint, thy dont hv air condition so we had to open a window. But it wz lovely breeze and a very good exp!! Lots of older folks and relaxing exp!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RubyQ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
2.5 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.1 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
799 reviews
2.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
833 reviews
2.8 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#7 of 12 in Cambria
254 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Cambria
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Pines Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Pines Lodge

Property: Cambria Pines Lodge
Address: 2905 Burton Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-4001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cambria
#6 Family Hotel in Cambria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambria Pines Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 25 wooded acres, Cambria Pines Lodge offers something for everyone. Accommodations range from rustic cabins to elegant suites. Amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, day spa, free parking, and free Wi-Fi. The Main Lodge offers an excellent restaurant featuring local wines, the Fireside Lounge with nightly live entertainment, and conference rooms with full-service catering, all surrounded by world-class gardens. The organic kitchen garden provides homegrown organic produce to the restaurant at Cambria Pines Lodge, while other areas of the theme gardens offer spectacular landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cambria Pines Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Pines Hotel Cambria
Cambria Pine Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing