We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large suite and breakfast buffet is awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cambria Pines Lodge
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Huntington Beach, CA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Large suite and breakfast buffet is awesome”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have stayed here three times using promotional offers. The restaurant is terrific and they grow lots of their own produce on site. Try the excellent prime rib dinner or breakfast buffet. The grounds are very relaxing and gardens are lush. The Inn is convenient to Carmel 17 mile drive, elephant seal beach, Hearst Castle, but my fav is the Nit Wit Ridge tour that I liked more than the opulent castle. The twisted construction at Nit Wit Ridge is a unique experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardfromHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,300
    1,099
    367
    126
    91
See reviews for
1,020
2,181
55
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We just got back from our first visit to the Lodge. The grounds were beautiful and decorated with a lot of amazing holiday lights. The pool/hot tub was fine and the daily breakfast was good but the room was way less than adequate. We found it difficult to sleep because the walls were paper thin, there was no temperature controlled furnace so the room was extremely hot which was suffocating or we had to have the window open therefore we were freezing. The beds were comfortable but only had one thin blanket on it. It also took at least 10 minutes of running water to get warm water. We asked to see other suites and the newer ones were much nicer. Unfortunately we felt a bit ripped off since we were looking to get some r&r but just came home tired due to lack of sleep. If you do decide to go ask for newer rooms.

Room Tip: ask for newer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We, a family of 3, love staying at the Lodge. Since we travel with our pet, the Superior rooms are the best pet friendly rooms. Met other travelers with pets which was fun to let our furry friends meet each other. The enclosed decks are great to leave the door open so our pet could venture in or out to explore. The handy breakfast buffet is always a plus if you want to eat close by. The grounds are always a great place to walk with or without the pet. The staff is always there to accommodate you. We've been coming here for many years for various occasions. Sign up for the great specials & you won't go anywhere else. Comfy beds too. Thanks again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r3hounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

The site itself is beautiful, but the room we stayed in was not as nice as advertised. It was a large room with a fireplace, but you could hear almost everything from the room next door. It was not as comfortable as the pictures make it look. My husband found and killed a HUGE (almost the size of my fist) ant-like creature. The breakfast buffet was so-so. The experience as a whole was fine, but as much as we paid for it, I think we were expecting it to be a few notches better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missuspeacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2012

i stayed here in august/september we were travelling from LA to san fransisco and this was basically a pit stop. We arrived and too be honest it was in the middle of nowhere--- it took us a while to find our inn but we did --- there is an old village near with a really cool college shop and a texas restaunt which actually says 'leave guns at the bar cowboys' i honestly thought they were being serious ---- theres an amazing supermarket :))) i recommend going to the ginger guys till cos hes really funny and helps you carry your shopping to the car. i did get lost at the end of our stay but found reception and waited there --- lots of friendly people there tried to make conversation and said that they recommend the beach overall good stay but not long term

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

you keep waiting for it to get better...but it doesn't.

Ok, so it is 3 stars because of the location and the price. A room that sleeps six and that is 500+ sq/ft in the woods, less than a mile to the beach for less than $100, is damn good. But I would rather spend $200 and have everything right. The included breakfast was fair. Cooked eggs and sausage, pancakes, coffee, tea, juice, cereal and yogurt.
Dinner is another story--(DON'T DO IT).

Check in: fast and friendly!

THE ROOM:
There is no air conditioning in the room. I assume the moderate year round climate is why. Carpets were worn and stained badly and frayed. Windows were very tough to open.
Outdoor bannisters had OLD bird poo on them. There are a total of 22 power outlets...four worked..the other 18 sockets would not hold a two prong plug (think phone charge). Bathroom outlet, kept blowing circuit.
Water pipes ARE LOUD!! anytime someone used the restroom in any of the four connected units...everyone could hear the water running. Toilet seat was loose, I had to tighten it myself. Water in shower went ICE COLD when downstairs unit turned on water.
Channel selection on low definition televisions was very weak..think no ESPN, no Disney channel.

The grounds are very nice. Nice gardens and serine landscape.

Restaurant: Breakfast wasn't bad for free. Dinner was WAY OVER PRICED for the quality. Runny watery pasta, overcooked eggplant.. for $22. Shrimp scampi was nothing to remember. The Caesar salad was not-- no parmesan, very weak dressing. The Butternut-cheese ravioli was good!! but $22?? and I don't mind spending $22 as long as it's GREAT.

Lounge: not kept clean. used dirty glasses (not bussed) on a number of tables. Unused chopped wood next to beautiful giant fireplace, while using the gas for the fire. relatively cheap drinks. decent performers.

This may sounds like I am picky....just trying to be honest.

Room Tip: Ask for an OUTSIDE upper floor. It has a bigger balcony. Also, the fireplace is controlled by the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h82luz2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseInThePines, Director of Sales at Cambria Pines Lodge, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We appreciate the amazingly detailed feedback and will do our best to rectify the areas you found lacking. We clean carpets regularly and will replace carpeting in many of our rooms when we have the available capital. Some of the shower valves are being worked on to improve consistency in water temperature. ESPN is available in the Fireside Lounge. We're glad you enjoyed the vegetarian ravioli and sorry your overall experience in our restaurant was not satisfactory. Our menu prices are very competitive with other Cambria restaurants. Tables in the Fireside Lounge are cleared as soon as possible after guests leave. We regret that we got behind during the time you were in the lounge. Perhaps next time we will be successful in living up to your expectations and hope you'll give us another try soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crescenta, CA
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I shared the large suite with another couple very recently. I had read the past reviews too and was a but worried. We had no negative experiences! We had purchased the travel zoo package and found our dinner of grilled swordfish excellent, the hot breakfast perfectly satisfying and our room pleasantly appointed. Although the lodge was sold out the nights that we were staying, we encountered no noise/boisterous from other guests. The room was perfectly clean, adequate and spacious, with plenty of storage. The decor is country/homey, which is not my favored style, but it was fitting for the locale.

We would have no hesitation going back.
P.s. there is trail that takes you from the lodge to downtown Cambria in jiffy, as long as steps pose no problem for you.

Room Tip: Get the deluxe suite for more space if you can. Room 717 only has one neighbor to your side, nobody...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcardona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
2.5 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.1 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
806 reviews
2.8 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,891 reviews
2.3 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
855 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Pines Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Pines Lodge

Property: Cambria Pines Lodge
Address: 2905 Burton Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-4001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cambria
#6 Family Hotel in Cambria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambria Pines Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 25 wooded acres, Cambria Pines Lodge offers something for everyone. Accommodations range from rustic cabins to elegant suites. Amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, day spa, free parking, and free Wi-Fi. The Main Lodge offers an excellent restaurant featuring local wines, the Fireside Lounge with nightly live entertainment, and conference rooms with full-service catering, all surrounded by world-class gardens. The organic kitchen garden provides homegrown organic produce to the restaurant at Cambria Pines Lodge, while other areas of the theme gardens offer spectacular landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cambria Pines Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Pines Hotel Cambria
Cambria Pine Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing