We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cambria Pines Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sand Pebbles Inn(Cambria)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pelican Inn & Suites(Cambria)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
FogCatcher Inn(Cambria)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Dolphin Inn(Cambria)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Inn(Cambria)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Otter Inn(Cambria)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,146)
Filter reviews
5,146 results
Traveler rating
3,110
1,362
423
146
105
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,110
1,362
423
146
105
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful groundsdinner packagelarge suitemurphy bedprime ribescape packagelive entertainmentchristmas marketscallopschristmas lightstravelzoo dealget awaybottle of winebreakfast buffethearst castleliving roomlove this place
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,412 - 4,417 of 5,146 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Scott pleasantly surprised me with a 2 day getaway to the Cambria Pines Lodge. First of all it is less than 40 miles from where we live and it is like going to paradise. He was able to get one of their special deals that you go a very nice room, dinner for 2 and brunch included and a very reasonable price.

The staff were incredible, dinner was sensational, but brunch was OK. We elected to eat somewhere else the second morning as they serve the same fare every day for breakfast.

Life was been very challenging for both of us recently as I had to move me and my mentally and physically challenge brother to a new home and Scott is still dealing with an 85 year old mother who is having serious health issues. He has had to go down south frequently and has not been able to help with the unpacking and setting up the new home. I was frazzled.

Well, after the first night we were there and were doing some sightseeing I started to yawn and needed a nap. Scott was afraid I was bored and I told him just the opposite -- when I start relaxing after being under so much stress I get sleepy - so he should take it as a compliment. Nap time was fun too!

I would really recommend the Cambria Pines Lodge as a "staycation destination" or the perfect getaway for any reason.

Room Tip: If you have sleep problems due to noise be sure to ask for a quiet room away from the street. We had to close our windows at night since we faced the road that was the entrance to the Lodge. Also the 2 story older building across from the Lodge does not have an elevator so if you have a physical impairment be sure to request the first floor.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineandScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is a great place. You are 5 minutes from the beach, yet the lodge feels like you are in the middle of the woods. Great crisp air at night. We left Los Angeles with temperatures in the 90's and arrived to temps in the 70's and night time temps in the low 50's! For us hear in LA that's winter time, so it was nice to get that in the middle of summer time temps. You are 20 min's from Hearst Castle and about 30 from Morro Bay, very centrally located. The small downtown area is very quaint with nice places to eat and antique shop if that is your thing. We got the dinner package with breakfast included. This was a very nice surprise. The dinner menu was excellent and it also included a bottle of house wine, which was fantastic. The breakfast was buffet style and it was delicious, plenty of scrambled eggs and potato quarters with pancakes one morning and delicious biscuits with sausage gravy the other. The restaurant has a real rustic feel and look to it and it was really nice having it right there at the lodge. There is also live entertainment in the Fireside lounge, there is a nice bar in there and plenty of comfy sofas and chairs to enjoy the music. There is no A/C in the rooms that we stayed, but you don't really need it, we had our window half open and it got plenty cold at night, great sleeping temperatures. Overall a great stay, if you plan to stay in the area, I don't think you can do much better than this place. Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed her with our two children while driving up the coast of California for one evening. Previously we had been staying in large resort type of hotels on the trip. The Cambria Pines Lodge was a welcome change. The kids loved that there was a cat to welcome them at the reception desk. We were trying to get to Moonstone Beach for sunset so we quickly checked in and dropped our bags. Our room was adequate with two queen beds and a lovely private fenced patio. The carpet and furnishings were a bit "tired" but everything was clean and the beds were comfy.

For sunset we drove down to Moonstone Beach and climbed out ont to the rocks. It was absolutely stunning. I assumed that we would find a place at the beach or in town for dinner but after checking a few choices which were either very pricey or did not have children options we ended back at the Cambria Pines Lodge and had a wonderfully delicious meal! Ironicaly the kids had wanted to head back just to see the cat again. While everything else in town was almost vacant with the exception of two restaurants on Moonstone Beach the lodge's restaurant was quite busy and we even had to wait for a few minutes. It was clear that many in the area came to the lodge for dinner. We loved the tavern where we waited for a few minutes and then the warm dining room. The breakfast the next morning was quite good also.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed the stay. It was perfect for an early morning tour of Hearst Castle the next day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimM250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The problem here is the location. It is not within easy walking distance of the town of Cambria or Moonstone Beach. Dinner was very good. King size bed with adjoining living room was spacious but not worth the high price ($340). Beautiful park-like grounds. It would be a good place for a business retreat to get away from it all in a quiet setting. It did not work out for us because we had to get in the car to do anything like go to the beach or window shopping in town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Croeso2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseInThePines, Director of Sales at Cambria Pines Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

It's great that Croeso2010 enjoyed their dinner and suite. Our room rates are extremely competitive with other properties in Cambria for the type and size of accommodation. As a point of information, Cambria is a geographically spread-out town. Guests who stay at the beach drive to town to shop or to the Lodge for nightly entertainment. Guests who stay at the Lodge drive to the beach. Lodge guests also have the option of hiking our nature trail into town. Locals and guests alike drive even to get from one side of town (East Village, closest to the Lodge) to the other (West Village, closest to the ocean). This guest is absolutely right--our property is a perfect location for a business retreat or other group event. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome Croeso2010 again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We would stay here again! We had a large king size bed room with small balcony looking over the vegtable gardens. This is a older facility but it is clean and comfortable. The restaurant has delicious food. If you are wanting an ocean view this is not the place but the ocean is only a short drive away.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews