We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing destination, nice rooms, friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Southern Calif
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Relaxing destination, nice rooms, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

We have been visiting Moonstone Beach in Cambria for almost 30 years. The view is beautiful, with the Pacific Ocean at your doorstep.
Our recent stay at the Fireside Inn was both our longest at 5 nights and most relaxing. The room for my husband, son and I was clean, quiet and very comfortable; the housekeeping staff kept it immaculate. We especially liked walking out of the Inn and across to low-key walks along bluffs at Moonstone Beach, just as pretty in drizzles as in sunshine. A leisurely drive all the way through Santa Rosa Road from Cambria to the highway near Templeton gave us lush green views of the hills with wildflowers beginning to bloom. Cows and horses were grazing in the distance. A drive up the coast to Ragged Point provided unusually close views of huge elephant seals resting on grass just inside fences along Highway 1. Following rains, the night sky was bright with stars.
The desk staff was very friendly and helpful with suggestions for the rainy days we experienced and with restaurant suggestions. After all these years, we were guided to new places, the Dragon Bistro, a lovely place where Ian's used to be many years ago and as good as any Chinese restaurant in LA with ample dishes for the vegetarians in our party, and Medusa's, a hole in the wall Mexican restaurant with no decor but delicious food (chile relleno combo lunch at $5.75!) We also dined at old favorites, Wild Ginger (the lychee sorbet is amazing), Robin's (where my favorite is the salmon bisque), and Madeline's (the vegan mushroom soup was a hit). On sunny days, we enjoyed picnic lunches with fixings from Soto's Market.
The free breakfast at the Fireside Inn included make-your-own waffles, fresh fruit (bananas, apples, and oranges), hard boiled eggs, a variety of cereals and granolas, and various breads, muffins, and bagels, along with coffee and hot water for tea or cocoa. All were fresh and tasty. The breakfast room was kept neat and supplied with food and utensils.
I have been travelling a lot lately and can say, in comparison to other places I've stayed, that the staff at the Fireside Inn went out of their way to make my family feel welcome. The room was much more comfortable and quiet than other far more expensive hotels in other cities. It is a minor matter, but this is one of the few places that still includes shower caps with the bathroom amenities, a pet peeve of mine when they are missing.
The only downside is the spotty cell phone reception in Cambria, which is outside the purview of the Fireside Inn.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KDsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    341
    119
    34
    15
See reviews for
324
476
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2010

Our experience was wonderful, not just because it was Cambria but the motel was great. A fireplace in the room, large room (my room had a chair, love seat, coffee table, hugh king bed, hugh Armoir for TV, plus plenty of room to walk around). Bathroom was very spacious and had the curving shower rod so the when you take a show the curtin doesn't suck in and stick to you. Also had a wet bar with coffee maker, bottle water and refrigerator. The bed was wonderful, thick sheets and thick comforter, and thick padding on bed. Towels are also thick and large.
Continenal Breakfast was the average fare, hard boiled eggs, 2-3 varieties of bagels, fruit, cereal, good coffee, juice. The make your own waffles were really good and came out perfect, hot and crispy on outside, soft and warm on inside. MMMM! We had a nice time as everyone was friendly. I'm pretty outgoing so I struck up several conversations right away. Had everyone engaged in a matter of minutes, so that was fun for me.
The staff was really nice and had a nice conversation with the manager at check out.
Oh yes, forgot to mention the oatmeal cookies you get when you checked in.
My mom stayed in another room, it was same as mine except she had 2 chairs and a table, with a view of the hillside and Hwy 1.
I've stayed in several of the Moonstone motels and this is really nice.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fastlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on February 12th & 13th. We booked an ocean front/ view room with a fireplace and jacuzzi tub. Everything was wonderful about our room. Cozy, clean, and romantic.

Upon check in, the front desk gentleman was very helpful and welcoming. He gave us some restaurant recommendations for the area, coupons, and cookies. At one point during our stay we asked to borrow a couple wine glasses, and the glasses were given to us to use without any trouble at all.

We had a little patio outside our room that faced the ocean across the small moonstone drive road. We watched the sunset each evening from there with a glass of wine.

The boardwalk was easily accessible from our hotel. We just crossed the street and there it was. We were also able to walk to tide pools from our hotel.

The breakfast room was very cramped for the amount of people at the hotel, but after the 1st morning, we just took our breakfast to our patio to eat. Great view from our personal patio, and very relaxing to eat there watching the ocean.

On the first night, we had dinner at the Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill. It was walking distance from our hotel, just a few properties down the road. The meal was really good, the service was quick, and the price was decent for the quality of the food.

Loved the jacuzzi tub in the room. The tub was very deep. Plenty of room for two.

The hotel also has a small pool and jacuzzi, but we never used them. They were heated in February though. If we hadn't had the jacuzzi tub in our room, we might have used the outdoor jacuzzi.

Overall, we had a really great time at the Best Western Fireside Inn, and we would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyvdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

I have enjoyed staying at this hotel in Cambria before but my last visit was very unpleasant. The gentleman at the front desk was rude when we checked in, we asked for a room with a fireplace but when we got to our room there wasn't one and we were told there were no more available. We had to go to the front desk a couple times during our visit and no one was there. We were left waiting around for service both times. Then once we got home my husband realized he had left a sweater I had bought him in one of the drawers. When we called to ask if it was found we were once again treated rudely and like we were a bother. After calling for a few days in a row to see if they found it they finally informed us they did. We received the sweater today and it was crumpled up in a ball and shoved in a very small box. There was no note or attempt to fold the sweater neatly.
We will definitely never stay here again but we will stay at one of the many other lovely hotels on Moonstone Beach.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barballini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2010

I take most reviews with a grain of salt and let the wife channel her inner-consumer powers to divine the relative value of a place to stay for a night.

Have ZERO complaints. The breakfast area is cozy (some said entirely too small....what do you want for central coast???), clean and the food was very edible and fresh. It's continental.....say no more. Juices, apples, boiled eggs, muffins, toast, yogurt and a waffle iron that made some wicked waffles.

Got the great rate of $89 on this site (TripAdvisor) from the Best Western link. Normally costs $150 or so. Got the King w/fireplace and the desk guy, George, gave us an upgrade. Don't know how it was an upgrade but fine. The place was clean, spacious and cool.

Walk out your door and boom, your on the walking area along the coast....wind, sun, and great trails to hike. Wife loved it and she is a picky customer.

Only 6 miles (10 minutes tops) from Hearst Castle. Well worth the money for the visit. Go early or make a reservation for anything after 1pm. It gets busy and this was the low season.

No complaints.....
Only 1 mile from the 2 strips of downtown Cambria. Nice, a lot of tourist stuff but also a few good taverns and 2 markets in which to buy sundry.

Done south coast and the north coast extensively and this was our first trip to the central coast on a drive up from LA to San Fran. Central Coast is great, beautiful..........

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bondagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2009

We spent a very comfortable Thanksgiving night here... quiet, comfortable king bed room, right next to the lobby. No noise, very peaceful, and a pleasant and helpful desk staff. There's no reason to pay more, since there's no such thing as a great view room on Moonstone Beach. In fact, since the lovely beachfront boardwalk is really the only charming aspect of Cambria, anywhere along the beach will do ya. But there are better places for less in a prettier town -- Morro Bay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goalkick9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2009

A very nice surprise. we loved the fireplace, the view, friendly staff. A real find for a stop over driving up the coast.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Property: Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Address: 6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#5 Family Hotel in Cambria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our coastal hotel features a year-round heated pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast, beach cottage accommodations with fireplaces and easy access to the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, wineries, shops and farm-to-table dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Inn On Moonstone Beach Hotel Cambria
Best Western Cambria
Cambria Fireside Inn
Cambria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing