We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Patios are not Private. Rooms are small and overpriced.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
SFBayArea
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Patios are not Private. Rooms are small and overpriced.”
Reviewed September 8, 2009

We chose this motel after reading tripadvisor reviews. The motel is 3 small one story buildings containing small typical motel rooms with tiny patios that are grouped together and inches away from the parking lot. A few of the most expensive rooms in front have patios that actually overlook the ocean which is across the road. The motel is one of a dozen or more that are packed together along Moonstone Beach Drive. They all look about the same from the road. Yes, the location is fabulous because the pacific is just gorgeous but this motel itself is nothing special.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wantsvalue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    400
    139
    42
    16
See reviews for
387
569
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

We stayed here after a long drive from Yosemite, to be positioned to visit Hearst Castle (about 6 miles away) the next morning. Moonstone Beach has a boardwalk along it which makes a nice walk. The motel itself was clean and nicely decorated, with a TV, and wireless Internet. There were 4 of us in one room, so we were tight. While our patio was not facing the beach, there were a few tables and chairs on the front of the property where we sat and watched the sunset.

Continental breakfast is included. A short walk away is a restaurant (nice view, seemed pricey for entrees, but I presume appetizers and a drink would be possible, we didn't eat there).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

Spent two weeks travelling in California and this hotel was the most expensive by far,$70 more expensive than the Venetian in Vegas.
When I look at what it offered I could not understand why it is so expensive apart from being right on the seashore and 5 minute drive to Hearst Castle and your room has an imitation coal fire..
It has a very small room for Continental Breakfast, no Bar and no Restaurant although 5 minutes walk will take you to the Moonstone Inn that serves lovely dinners at reasonable prices.
Rooms were very clean and spacious with Free Internet Access.
Staff on check in were very friendly.
Small Pool Area but unfortunately never got the time to try it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandPoohbaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2009

Nice enough hotel but we have stayed at better for half the $250 a night we paid to stay here - good size rooms and cozy, good parking and right on the beach but be prepared to pay another $100 a night for a room with a view of the ocean. Breakfast room was way overcrowded - lines coming out the door and no where to sit - facilities are just not big enough to cope with a full hotel. Would definatly stay here again as an over night stop on a san fran - LA trip but didnt feel we got good value for money - not sure if it was the time of the year or they are just always this expensive??

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hails81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx.
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2009

This is a pleasant enough Best Western, perfectly adequate for what it is, but nothing special. You are, however, going to pay rates that approach what you'd pay in downtown San Francisco. Blame William Randolph Hearst, I suppose.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

My friend and I decided to choose this inn because we had to be at Hearst Castle quite early the next morning. The scenery is pretty, and close to the beach where you can walk and get up close and personal with the sea lions.
Staff was friendly during our stay there. During check-in, they even provided a map and informed us of nearby restaurants that are good.
Room was expensive. Perhaps if I had booked this room online, I would have gotten a better rate. (another reason why one should plan in advance.) Our room was clean, comfortable. They provided 2 bottles of water in the room for free. So that was nice. Bathroom appeared clean. Water pressure was a little low but it was no big deal.
Wi-Fi on my phone was a little spotty.
Breakfast was adequate -- boiled eggs, waffles, juices, pastries -- the usual breakfast stuff. It didn't looked too messy yet -- well, maybe because we were among the first few to be there. Overall, this is a nice place to stay, but do make sure you look online for some deals. Otherwise, it is kinda pricey. :(

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissynkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Nice hotel, small, clean. Stayed 2 nights after 3 nights camping on Big Sur. The room is super clean, nice beds (we had 2 queens), across the street from boardwalk and great sunsets. Breakfasts are ok for a "continental" breakfast.

We also stayed at the San Simeon Pines Seaside Resort up the road about 1/2 mile during the same trip, which also has a great location, and costs 40% or less then this hotel. Yet the rooms are nice but not as well appointed, and the breakfast is even more sparsely "continental".

After a careful analysis the question is would you pay ~$150 more for nicer room decorations and little more breakfast???

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zog13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,928 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
861 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
808 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Property: Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Address: 6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cambria
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our coastal hotel features a year-round heated pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast, beach cottage accommodations with fireplaces and easy access to the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, wineries, shops and farm-to-table dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Inn On Moonstone Beach Hotel Cambria
Best Western Cambria
Cambria Fireside Inn
Cambria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing