We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't want to leave” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Bass Lake, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Friend came out from Mississippi for the first time, and so we had to stay in Cambria, and the Fireside Inn was my first choice. Pricy but worth every minute for sure. We had a patio room, and could hear the ocean from the patio. The fireplace was great, and the hot tub was definitely hot. Moonstone beach is the most beautiful place on the central coast and the Fireside Inn was extremely accomodating. The beds were very comfortable, the room was clean and welcoming, the bathroom was a bit on the small side but other than that it was perfect. ave stayed here in the past, and would stay again in the future.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin F, General Manager at Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Angela G,

It is great to read that you cannot wait to visit us again at the Fireside Inn! We pride ourselves on matching the service and amenities with the wonderful setting of Moonstone Beach. It is always nice to read that we are succeeding in being one of the best places to stay for visitors to the Cambria area. Please let us know when you are ready to come back!

Sincerely,

Justin C. Friend
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    329
    113
    34
    15
See reviews for
307
461
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

What a wonderful surprise. A family of four fit well in a two queen room (was very concerned but it worked out great). The room was clean (my #1 pet peeve - if it is not). The beds were super comfortable (all four of us agreed) and the location was great. The kids (14/11) both really enjoyed our stay.

It was our 1st time in Cambria and we choose wisely. The location was centrally located to the activities we wanted to do (Hearst Castle, downtown Cambria, tide-pooling, kayaking, etc...). Best thing - there is great Tide-pooling right across the street & there are some nice footpaths as well.

Breakfast had something for everyone. While there is a pool/hot tub we did not have time to enjoy it this time. We all wish we could have stayed 1 more night. Guess we'll just have to come back!

Room Tip: Ask for a patio for some "extra' space or an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bodie2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin F, General Manager at Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Bodie2008,

Thanks for the nice review! We have a great staff and we pride ourselves on offering one of the cleanest and most comfortable hotels on the central coast, so it is nice when it is recognized by our guests. As you discovered we have the best location on Moonstone Beach with the tide pools, sea otters and harbor seals right our front. Please let us know when you are ready to come back and enjoy another stay!

Sincerely,

Justin C. Friend
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

It may be supply and demand that drives the price up, but this property is not deserving of its inflated rate. Ok, the view of the Pacific Ocean is stunning, but the room reminded me of vintage 60's and, worse, smelled bad when we entered. My wife was convinced a dog had been the previous guest. Maybe it was new carpet? And the fireplace could not have been more cheesy with fake logs and a tiny flame, crowned by a chipped mantle. Maybe not the fault of the motel, but there was zero mobile phone network. It wasn't just me. My neighbors advised me to walk across the street to get a signal, but that didn't help. The staff were very polite, but how much time does one spend with staff in a motel? No point in staying there again unless no other choice in Cambria.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingaporeSteveL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin F, General Manager at Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear SingaporeSteveL,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. It is nice to read that you enjoyed the magical setting of Moonstone Beach. We pride ourselves on offering superior service to our guests and I am sorry we could not do that for you as well. Please call me directly at 805-927-8661 so we can figure out a way to get you back as one our many loyal guests.

Sincerely,

Justin C. Friend
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Great location across the street from the beach. The room was nice. We had a little patio overlooking the parking lot. It was nice to have a sliding door for air circulation, but if you are hoping for a ocean view it isn't what you would expect. We had a view as long as we stood up looking over the other folks standing/sitting on their patios hoping for a view. The buildings are perpendicular to the coastline. Be mindful that there is no AC (not that is really needed) but without the slider open there is no air movement. We had a hard time sleeping because it was so stuffy and warm. We didn't feel comfortable leaving the sliding door open during the night. The gentleman who checked us in was very nice. Loved the homemade ginger cookies. In the morning grab a coffee/tea and head to the beach and enjoy watching the fog burning off.

Room Tip: ask the front desk for a fan. First come first serve
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leighof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin F, General Manager at Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Leighof3,

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Fireside Inn. It seems like you enjoyed the hotel and got to experience many different facets of the Cambria area. Please let us know when you are ready to stay again!

Sincerely,

Justin C. Friend
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We spent one night in this charming little hotel. The lady from the front desk was very helpful and friendly. The hotel is in front of the beach and a 10 minute drive from Hearst Castle. Breakfast was good and the room was clean and comfortable.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Aggiecane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin F, General Manager at Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Aggiecane,

Thanks for the nice words about your stay at the Fireside Inn. We offer one of the best places to stay on the central coast and it is nice when our guests notice our attention to detail. Please give us a call when you are ready to stay again!

Sincerely,

Justin C. Friend
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

We were on 3week vacation on the west coast ( we are from the east), this was one of very favorite stops. Staff was so friendly and helpful. Had great restaurants within easy driving time. Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin F, General Manager at Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Randy B,

It is very nice of you to take the time to write such nice comments about your stay with us at the Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach. Our staff is always appreciative when their superior guest services are recognized by our guests. Please let us know when you are ready for another wonderful stay!

Sincerely,

Justin C. Friend
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Great area to watch sunsets, went to a small deli in town and got a picnic dinner to sit outside on a common patio to watch the sunset. Room had everything we needed. Easy and quick to get to Hearst Castle and Elephant seal beach. If you are heading inland from there wait to get gas, Paso Robles was almost a $1 a gallon cheaper.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank oldtraveler51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin F, General Manager at Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear oldtraveler51,

It seems like you got to enjoy many wonderful aspects of the area while staying with us. There are so many fun activities close to the Fireside Inn. Let us know when you are ready to stay with us again, and we can fill you in on many other adventures to enjoy close to the hotel such as kayaking and nature hikes.

Sincerely,

Justin C. Friend
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Property: Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Address: 6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#5 Family Hotel in Cambria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our coastal hotel features a year-round heated pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast, beach cottage accommodations with fireplaces and easy access to the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, wineries, shops and farm-to-table dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Inn On Moonstone Beach Hotel Cambria
Best Western Cambria
Cambria Fireside Inn
Cambria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing