We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Ventura, United States
1 review
“Extraordinary service”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Accomodations were exceptional, location breathtaking. An extraordinary staff (Ranay) graciously met our every need and made us feel like family. The only business trip I have returned from feeling rested and peaceful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Brittany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    405
    139
    42
    16
See reviews for
388
572
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We have stayed at the Best Western Fireside Inn in the past and have always had a pleasant experience. This visit was no exception. The location of the hotel is convenient to the places we like to visit. It's nice and cozy to have a fireplace in our room. That is an extra plus that we have not gotten in other establishments. The staff is friendly and efficient and the continental breakfast is very good and has some nice variety. We love being located across the street from the ocean. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 502marilynm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed one night at this Best Western and were very satisfied. The room was large and clean. I wasn't thrilled that they had bottled water but it was for purchase where most motels would offer the water as a courtesy. The morning breakfast was usual for a motel stay but the room in which they held it was a bit small and felt a little claustrophobic. The staff were pleasant and made our stay enjoyable. We would stay there again. A plus was the boardwalk across from the motel where you could walk along the beach and see the outstanding view of the ocean. A big plus for that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I was expecting a lot more considering the reviews. This is an old hotel that has corridors to your room. Room was dark with bad lighting although it was big. Bathroom was tiny. Hot tub was nice as were the walking trails across the street on the ocean. Breakfast in the morning was a joke. It is so small you have to get up early to even get in there. Front desk people were good and bad. There are a bunch of hotels crammed next to each other along this strip of beach. I would not stay in this area again. It is very congested. These places are overrated because the beautiful beach across the street. The room was not worth the money we spent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlbaker55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin F, General Manager at Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
jlBaker55,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. I am glad you enjoyed our hot tub and the walking trails along the beautiful coastline of Moonstone Beach. You’ll be happy to know that we are in the planning stages for upgraded lighting in the rooms and a new breakfast room. I’d truly appreciate you contacting me directly, so that we discuss your specific concerns and make things right.

Sincerely,

Justin C. Friend
General Manager
(805) 927-8661
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Anywhere else, Fireside would probably get an Average Plus from me. Lovely large rooms, gas fireplaces, recently updated furniture and bath, welcoming but disengaged front desk staff, cute breakfast room (with waffles!!!), but a little motel-esque.

HOWEVER, if you have never been to Moonstone Beach, you could stay overnight in a dumpster and call it the Ritz. The Fireside is a lovely spot -- romantic, cozy and very clean; Moonstone Beach is one of those rare spots on the face of the Earth with little to compare to its natural beauty. What is most spectacular is that the good State of California has seen fit to build a very beautiful, organic and fully accessible walkway across the dunes and cliff tops of Moonstone Beach, replete with viewing platforms from which you can gawk at the stunning scenery and even watch the otters/sea lions/water mammals play in the surf. Sunset on Moonstone followed by a night at Fireside is one of the most romantic things you could possibly do. Squeeze dinner at the Black Cat Cafe in between those two things and, my my my.... Romance made.

Just minutes from Hearst Castle and downtown Cambria, which has several good restaurants.

Room Tip: Everyone wants the four rooms that have a patio looking out on Moonstone, but, frankly, why would yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Did all the blog, yelp, etc. research and kept coming back to this property. It was fantastic. The room was great. The sheets, towels and bed were 5 star. You can't beat the location. Plan on staying their in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lance J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is an excellent choice for a hotel in the Cambria/San Simeon area. Spotless property, very comfortable room and bed and excellent complimentary breakfast. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
384 reviews
0.3 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,939 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
862 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,095 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Property: Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Address: 6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#5 Family Hotel in Cambria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our coastal hotel features a year-round heated pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast, beach cottage accommodations with fireplaces and easy access to the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, wineries, shops and farm-to-table dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Inn On Moonstone Beach Hotel Cambria
Best Western Cambria
Cambria Fireside Inn
Cambria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing