We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Choice!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our stay was made very enjoyable by a beautiful and quiet ocean view room with fireplace and more than enough pillows and blankets! We were welcomed with good coffee and hot coco. Quick sign in. The all you could ask for breakfast was excellent kept fresh by an attentive attendant. The ocean walk way across the lane is not to be missed. Sunrise and sunsets and a stunning coastline are waiting. I forgot a Patagonia jacket left in the room. I called and they assured me it would be kept safe until we returned - it was. Thanks, Fireside!!

Room Tip: Ocean view room - not to be missed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    364
    124
    38
    15
See reviews for
342
526
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The Fireside Inn is in a beautiful location on Moonstone Beach. Running parallel with tthe highway, Moonstone Drive offers a sheltered location for this delightful Inn. The staff were welcoming and gave us cookies on arrival, the rooms were excellent as was the breakfast served in a poolside room and looked after with great care by the staff.
When you've finished strolling along Moonstone Drive and along the boardwalk to look over the sea with its resident seals and otters, Cambria is close by for a walk by some quaint shops, coffee houses and restaurants. This is a friendly little town - just the place to relax and unwind.
There are some good restaurants in Cambria and along Moonstone Drive - the Sea Chest Restaurant and Oyster Bar is a must. Talk to your server about portion sizes - which are enormous - before ordering. Great food, great staff.
Don't forget to drive up the coast to Hearst Castle at San Simeon - and be sure to watch Citizen Kane before you go!
The Fireside Inn is a wonderful location for a relaxing vacation. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JS2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Vista, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The drive to Cambria was a challenge but worth it! The Best Western Cambria was a pleasant surprise. The check-in staff was friendly and very welcoming. We got a room with a fireplace and a private balcony facing the ocean. The view was fantastic and the sunset was amazing. The room was very clean and well kept. I have been recommending this hotel to friends. And, the view will not disappoint.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for an upper floor ( less noise ). Ask is pets are allowed to avoid pet cleaner sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TZGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Such a beautiful setting. Ocean veiws from our hotel room, a lovely stroll along the ocean cliffs just outside our door. We took a late morning stroll with our friends and the views were nothing short of glorious. We had to pinch ourselves to know it was real.

The room was clean and cozy and the staff incredibly friendly, just like the last time we were there. This is affordabe paradise. We had a wonderful mini-vacation!

Room Tip: Play a few dollars more for an ocean view. Worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

The motel row of Moonstone Beach, is what it is. 1960's motor courts trying to keep up with the times. However, the Best Western Firestone Inn is well worth the cost for an upgraded oceanfront room. You get a small patio so you can gaze at the gorgeous ocean view.
Highway 1 backs up to the whole Moonstone Motel row, so oceanfront is key for the ambience, if you can.
Clean, quiet, cozy, and even romantic. Pleasant staff. Decent breakfast included.
Can't go wtong if you look for a casual and affordable stay right on a very special coastal location







  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffdesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

..and nothing more! The Hotel is located perfectly! Right across the street starts the Walking Way on which you can walk for Hours on some wooden Boardwalks. One can see Squirrels and Sealions, Birds and all other kinds of Animals. But getting back to the Hotel makes you feel bad. Its way overpriced! Check In is not that friendly, Rooms are old, used and not looking to the Beach - as a Diamond Member i asked for an Upgrade and got a Room where you can see a small part of the Sea - thanks a lot! There is not much to do around without a car - the Town is only to be reached by Car..

I would not stay there again!

Room Tip: Try to get a Room facing the Seaside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klaus122211211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin F, General Manager at Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We appreciate this reviewer's comments regarding their stay. It seems they enjoyed the beautiful setting of Moonstone Beach which is one of the best on the California coast. We are sorry they felt the complimentary upgrade given was not sufficient. I would have liked the opportunity to speak with this guest while they stayed with us so I could have seen if there was anything further we could do. We pride ourselves on superior customer service at the BW PLUS Fireside Inn, so, any concerns about the staff not being friendly will be dealt with promplty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
1,831 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
799 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#7 of 12 in Cambria
254 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,804 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Cambria
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Property: Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Address: 6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cambria
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our coastal hotel features a year-round heated pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast, beach cottage accommodations with fireplaces and easy access to the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, wineries, shops and farm-to-table dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Inn On Moonstone Beach Hotel Cambria
Best Western Cambria
Cambria Fireside Inn
Cambria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing