We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I decided to celebrate our 40th anniversary with a visit to Cambria, and planned to stay at the Best Western Plus Fireside Inn based on positive experiences we've had with other BW+ properties on other trips. We were not disappointed.

Justin, the Assistant General Manager, was kind enough to upgrade our room for a nominal fee to an oceanfront location with a fireplace, directly across the road from the seaside walkway. The room was more than comfortable, and the fact that it rained during our stay made it seem all the more cozy as we could watch the sea while sitting in front of the fire.

The free breakfast was to usual BW+ standards, which is to say nothing elaborate but more than adequate, while the wi-fi worked well enough for our purposes. Fresh coffee and tea were available at all times in the office. The property is within walking distance to several excellent restaurants.

We will definitely be repeat customers. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Be sure to request an ocean-facing room with fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldB0ldPil0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    329
    113
    34
    15
See reviews for
306
460
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just across the road from the beach, the scenery is terrific. The room was good, plenty of space and very comfortable. The Internet connection was not very good but that was not a real problem in the room. Breakfast was crowded, not helped by non diners using the Internet and taking up much needed space.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank idlelayabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Right of Hwy 1, this hotel was a welcome site! We were tired and just wanted to find some nice place to spend the night, but at 10 PM, pickings are slim. Many neighboring properties looked nice but had no vacancy. We got one of two rooms left in the place - so we were told - and were grateful EXCEPT for the price. We were told the room was regularly $279 but was offered a discounted walk-in rate. Oceanview would be more. We got the room at the BACK of the hotel. Nice and quiet, the room felt very homey with king sized bed and enough room for a small sofa and coffee table. Very clean, too! Continental breakfast was included; it did the trick despite the custard-like institutional eggs. Other than the room, the BEST feature of this property is that the Pacific is right across the street and we happily took in that gorgeous view after breakfast.

Lesson learned: Plan/reserve ahead and maybe get a better rate at this or nearby properties.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LarrySF0523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I had a fabulous "working" vacation while writing a book and needed to get away from the external pressures of the east coast. Hanging out in a great room with a perfect view of the California Coast in Cambria, CA was EXACTLY what I needed. The breakfast in the AM was nice and the room itself - stocked with a mini-fridge was stellar for wanting to be buttoned up in the room. The room was surprisingly quiet, where I could never hear a sound from the surrounding rooms. I especially LOVED the outside terrace area of the room. I spent many days here, listening to the ocean and the birds (especially the hawks and humming birds). The staff at the resort were top notch. I was especially thrilled to meet Justin (Front Desk/Assistant Manager) and Brianna (GM). They really made me feel welcome and provided me with a lot of knowledge about the area. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda Heights, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

The room was great but the big attaction was the location. The inn is located right across from Moonstone Beach, Cambria, California. We were able to walk the boardwalk, feed the squires, watch the sunsets and listen and see the waves roll into the shore. This was our third year there and we are sure to go again. The staff is very helpful and we felt we were home!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed in several Best Western Plus inns during a two week stay in Ca. Rooms here where nice by Cambria standards. Bathroom was too small. Paid a discounted rate of $249 plus tax. I thought I might have paid too much and did not get a good value. I stayed next door the next night in a similiar hotel and room with large bathroom for $150 less. The breakfast was subpar for the $249 rate paid.

Room Tip: Bathrooms are small. Breakfast area was small. Had to stand and wait for someone to leave for a tabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROME
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed at BW PLUS FIRESIDE INN ON MOONSTONE BEACH with my husband at the end of August and I recommend this hotel to everyone who is looking for a relaxing and peaceful place. The hotel is located just a few steps from the ocean. Our room was very large, very well appointed with a fireplace, a fridge and a little washbasin. Also the bathroom was very large and well decorated. There are also a little heated pool and a little hot bathtub. Breakfast is complimentary and for this reason there’s not a great choice. However you can find all basic food and beverages. The hotel is highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALBLONDIE62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Property: Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Address: 6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cambria
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our coastal hotel features a year-round heated pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast, beach cottage accommodations with fireplaces and easy access to the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, wineries, shops and farm-to-table dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Inn On Moonstone Beach Hotel Cambria
Best Western Cambria
Cambria Fireside Inn
Cambria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing