We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pacific Perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stumbled across this lovely little hotel on our Californian road trip, heading south from San Francisco to LA. We wanted to stop somewhere we could walk along the beach and enjoy the sunset. We were traveling with 3 children and finding rooms to accommadate us all had proved challenging. The Hotel looked fantastic, over the road from the boardwalk and beach. On enquiring if a room was available for 5 we were shown a beautiful room with plenty of space for us all, 2 double beds and a roll-away with a lovely working fire in the corner (hence the name!), a small terrace with deck chairs and views to die for! The price was so reasonable (other bed and breakfast establishments along this same road were charging 3 times the price per room), and it included breakfast which we ate by the pool. We had some problems with our rental apartment in LA and the manager helped us book a hotel and allowed us to check out much later than normal to allow us time to find our onward accommadation. He didn't need to do this but it was much appreciated as the kids could swim while we made arrangements. The customer service here is way beyond our normal expectations; great reccomendation for Dinner (The Moonstone Beach Bar and Grill)- Thank you!. We spent a lovely day here sitting on the rocks down on the beach and watching the seals, with reluctance we had to head south, with a promise to return. A truly magical place... Believe me it would be a mistake to drive on by!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front to enjoy the sunset and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScoobyBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

952 - 958 of 1,266 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2012

We loved staying at the Fireside Inn after a day of wandering the pacific coast highway. Quiet, very clean, great breakfast and very helpful staff.

Located near restaurants and directly across from the boardwalk to Moonstone Beach. (Although as hard as I searched, I did not find a moonstone).

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteffieNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

My boyfriend and i were traveling from Santa Barbara to San Francisco, so to break up the drive we decided to crash here for a night. and what a wonderful decision that was. The staff was extremely accommodating upon check in and the manager, i believe her name was Brianna, was excellent in assuring our stay was the best it could be.

The location of this place couldn't be better, the view is breathtaking. The room we were in was adorable and felt so "homey". There was a fireplace and lovely decor; The room was spotless.

In the morning we went to the complimentary continental breakfast, and i've never been to such a good continental breakfast. There was eggs, sausage, a waffle maker, fresh juice, coffee, etc.

Overall a wonderful experience! Cannot wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I have stayed at this lovely hotel several times with my family, and we have enjoyed each visit. The hotel is situated on a quiet portion of Moonstone Beach, just walk across the road to the boardwalk to view the ocean or climb on the rocks and look for colorful starfish and sea anemones with your children. We prefer to pay a little extra for the rooms with a fireplace and patio - nice to sit out and enjoy coffee and the paper in the morning or a glass of wine at night. They also have a nice little view of the ocean. The rooms with the fireplaces have a little extra space as well as a little more ambience. They are also very nicely decorated - a little more upscale than the average hotel. For those without a patio, there is still a lovely outdoor sitting area for your use to take in the scenery. The breakfast is plentiful and varied, and the pool and jacuzzi are pleasant. The staff was very friendly and courteous which is always appreciated. And we always like the fresh cookies we receive at check-in. Great for families or a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joyride64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This is the place if you want to be "by the sea". Across the quiet street is the boardwalk and you can use it to walk to the town. The rooms are nice. We paid the extra $20 and got a room with a fireplace and a patio.
note: the hotel runs perpendicular to the road so most of the patios face unto the parking lot, not towards the ocean.
The breakfast selection is good and there was always a place to sit.
The staff were friendly and do NOT forget to ask for your check-in cookies.
This place is about 11 miles south of Hearst Castle and 15 miles south of theelephant seal vista.

note: gas in Cambria is $0.50 more per gallon than in Morro Bay

Room Tip: the hotel runs perpendicular to the road so most of the patios face unto the parking lot, not toward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rojo-amigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Wonderful hotel. They have a lot of extra ammenities and the breakfast is great. The only thing is the breakfast should be held in a larger room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewo22145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Rates vary according to seasons and holidays. Having stayed at some other hotels along Moonstone Beach before, this is one of the nicer ones. Each room is spacious and has a fireplace. Our room was near the 101 fwy, but we didn't hear any noise. It's not necessary to get an oceanfront room because there are tables and chairs set up on a patio where all guests can sit and relax. The front desk was very helpful. Any place where we get freshbaked cookies at check-in is great!

Room Tip: Do not accept room 130. It's next to the breakfast room. I was advised prior to check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calitravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
473 reviews
0.3 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,033 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,084 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
904 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Address: 6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cambria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: $144 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our coastal hotel features a year-round heated pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast, beach cottage accommodations with fireplaces and easy access to the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, wineries, shops and farm-to-table dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Inn On Moonstone Beach Hotel Cambria
Best Western Cambria
Cambria Fireside Inn
Cambria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing