We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location at Moonstone Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed here one night after visiting Hearst Castle. It is a short drive from the castle and was perfect after a day of visiting the castle. It is across the road from the beach area, as are all the motels along this road. There is a walkway right across from the motel, so you can see the pretty views and the seals. It was cold and windy when we were there, so did not think of the place as "beachy", but the ocean was beautiful. It was nice to be on this road near the water and not in town. -- The motel is walkable to Moonstone Beach Bar and Grill, where we had a good dinner with a nice view. -- The room was large and clean. I could see the water from the window if I stood at the window and really looked. The room came with breakfast, which was convenient, since we wanted to get back on the road, to get back to San Francisco. The breakfast was like most serve-yourself ones--but you could also make yourself waffles. -- Be sure to fill your gas tank before you get to the Cambria area (like in Paso Robles) because the gas is very expensive in Cambria, and worse on the Pacific Coast Highway. -- We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haveticketwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,092 - 1,098 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2011

We found this hotel after a 15 hour flight and a 6 hour drive and hence were very tired. The receptionist showed us the rooms and we were impressed with the size, cleanliness and facilities and immediately agreed to stay. The following day a different receptionist gave us details of sights to check out around the area and maps to find them. She was extremely helpful and friendly. The only downside was that although the breakfast was included it was help yourself with styrene cups,plates and bowls and plastic cutlery,which didn't seem helpful for the enviroment. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golfnut3977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We normally stay in Morro Bay when in this area, but when we were up there earlier this week, we had decided to spend 2 nights in Morro Bay and 2 nights here in Cambria (booked ahead). I was very happy we made this decision. We splurged on a room in the front facing the coast. Yes, there is a road, but not much traffic. The weather was gorgeous the two days while we were there, and we spent time on our patio having drinks before dinner and coffee in the morning, as well as walking on the boardwalk along the coast.
The room itself was comfortable (king bed, 2 upholstered chairs and a table, dresser, etc.) with a large updated bathroom and robes in the closet. We both thought the breakfast and the breakfast room were much better than average for this area, as did another traveler that we chatted with one morning. There was a large variety of food, cereal, muffins, oranges, apples, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, milk, juice, coffee, etc. and the waffle maker. Many times we do not eat breakfast at the places we stay, but we ate breakfast here both mornings.
Even if you don't stay at this particular hotel, I would definitely recommend staying at one of the places along Moonstone Beach Dr. for the beautiful location.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanDiegoCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms were adequate but the breakfast area is very small, crowded with tables and hot. If the weather is not nice enough to sit outside, it would be very uncomfortable. Good value

Room Tip: paying extra for the ocean view is not worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

This hotel is across from the beach located with a few other hotels and restaurants. We had a large double queen room with a fireplace. Since there were three of us, we really needed the larger room. The remainder of our family had a much smaller double queen room, but fortunately there were only two of them. We did our gathering in our larger room. Breakfast is adequate, but there is little sitting inside or outside. We just spent two nights visiting the area. Most of the hotels look similar to the Best Western; however, we found the Best Western to have good rates for this popular area. Just double check what size room you will be getting

Room Tip: Call the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TennesseeDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We stayed in the cheapest room, in the back, one night and found it far too dark. Paid the extra $35 or so to get a room with veranda and a glimpse of the ocean. It was much better, with great light and good view. Nice office staff, helpful on what to see and do.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PVWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Somewhere here there is a terrific hotel. Sadly it was not evident the night we stayed.

It started with the booking. We were told Cambria was the 'must-stay' location for Hearst Castle, so we Binged Cambria and searched for hotels. After rejecting others, the Fireside Inn seemed a good choice. Admittedly we opted for the seafront room, which understandably cost more. But hey, we're on holiday, let's do it, so we attempt to book the room. Unfortunately their website crashed as we attempted to make the booking.

Oh well, let's call instead... to get quoted a price some $30 higher than the internet price. Can't we have the price quoted on the internet? No, we're told, because you have called. But we can't book on the internet, your website is down. "I don't have the code, I can't help you," said the unhelpful phone operator, "do you want the room or not?"

We booked anyway...

We arrive to be given a sea front room but which is definitely not like those depicted on the website. Where are the French doors to the private seating area? Instead we have a walkway to other rooms right in front of our door.

Not happy. We have paid the absolute top rate for a room, shouldn't we be have been given the best available room automatically? Why are we fobbed off with this second-best room?

We complain and the clearly annoyed front desk clerk reluctantly gives us another room, after lecturing us that the room type is not guaranteed. Spare me the lecture, buddy, I can count the cars in the carpark: you are CLEARLY nowhere near full on this midweek evening.

The room itself is okay, although it is nothing special. Without the view (oh, and there is a road between your room and the seafront) there is nothing really remarkable about it. In fact, although it has been updated, some some of the fittings are decidedly old. The bed though was generously large and extremely comfortable, the sitting area definitely the place to have a glass of wine as the sun sets. We slept very well.

But the worst for us was the included-in-the-price breakfast the next morning. For $320, I expect to have my breakfast cooked a la carte in a spacious dining room. I do not expect a self-service bar with limited choices (cook my own waffles? Really? I do not think so). I do not expect a pokey and cramped dining room. I do not expect plastic cutlery and paper cups. I also do not expect to have to queue for my coffee with the staff of the establishment. Why the hell were staff eating breakfast with guests anyway? Ever heard of a staff room? I witnessed one poor guest being made to wait for her coffee while 3 staff members helped themselves first. We gave up and drove into town and had breakfast there.

All in all, not good. Not for $320 anyway. When you charge that much, guests expect more, and the Fireside Inn just fails to deliver. Dismally. There are better choices in Cambria, go to them instead.

Room Tip: Complain. Loudly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BarrigntonIsTops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWFiresideInnGM, General Manager at Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2011

Thank you for your feeback regarding your most recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize that you had such an unpleasant experience. I want you to know that I will personally talk to each employee about what happened and use this a training moment. In the future, please contact me directly so I can ensure that you're next stay exceeds your expectations.

Brianna Barrick
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fireside Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
548 reviews
0.3 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,153 reviews
0 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Address: 6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cambria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: $139 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our coastal hotel features a year-round heated pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast, beach cottage accommodations with fireplaces and easy access to the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, wineries, shops and farm-to-table dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Inn On Moonstone Beach Hotel Cambria
Best Western Cambria
Cambria Fireside Inn
Cambria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing