We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Moonstone Landing(Cambria)
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Colibri Hotel and Spa(Cambria)
$246
$219
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
$205
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pelican Inn & Suites(Cambria)
$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Inn(Cambria)(Great Value!)
$186
$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
FogCatcher Inn(Cambria)
$246
$202
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceanpoint Ranch(Cambria)
$220
$202
Oceanpoint Ranch
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cambria Pines Lodge(Cambria)(Great Value!)
$230
$223
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Dolphin Inn(Cambria)
$339
$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveler rating
22
2
3
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
2
3
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack barnprivate entranceother guestsplace to stayeach morningget awaycraftsmenamishfurniture
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 34 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2007

We spent only one night at the Squibb House. It was a Tuesday night and the facility was not heavily booked. There was only one other couple there. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The room was average for a B&B. For the price we paid for a mid week stay, we should have received a significantly better breakfast. Breakfast is delivered to your door in a basket. For each person, our breakfast consisted of a small glass of orange juice, a cup of coffee, a tea cup of cold cereal, a small stale croisant, 1/2 slice of blueberry bread, 1/2 cube of butter, a very small amount of marmelade, and a small peice of some type of danish pastry, also stale.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prsd54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2006

My husband and I spent two nights at the Squibb House. We found it to be a very average B&B for the price. It was not uncomfortable BUT I would try some other B&B’s/hotels in the area before going back.

The Squibb House is a beautiful historic building and our room was a decent size BUT, the walls are thin (we could hear a person snoring one night), the bed squeaked with every little move, and the small bathroom could use a remodel. We also missed getting to meet our fellow travelers at community breakfast (instead a basket is delivered to your room).

Great location, loved the classical music that was piped through the house (don’t forget to turn it down in the main room if you are sleeping in the Parlor), but a very average overall.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank My.Take
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2006

Stayed here for two nights while on a whistlestop tour down the coast, and this delightful house gave us a real opportunity to recharge our batteries. We stayed in the Garden Room, which has it's own entrance with table & chairs on a veranda, and it was magical. Breakfast is left outside your room, and you feel like you are the only people around. There is no TV, which was a bonus for us; spare time was spent reading the journals used by previous visitors. We went to Hearst Castle on an evening visit, which was a collection of the daytime tours, and has a lot less people on it. There are also locals dressed up in the period & around the place, which we understand does not happen during the day.
Cambria is worth a stop - the shops are unique & the restaurants superb. Try Robins next to Squibb House for a really original experience.
We will be back!!!!

Stayed: September 2006
2  Thank lois.russ2@sky.... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2006

We stayed in the Parlour Room for one night as planned on Monday 10th April 2006 while we toured California. We chose Squibb House as we had booked a tour of Hearst Castle for the following morning and we found the location provided us with easy access there while at the same time being in the town centre of Cambria (which is in itself is lovely and has some historic and interesting buildings with a nice choice of restaurants and shops). We checked in via the shop next door and were welcomed and shown around. The house has been lovingly restored to an excellent standard. It is surrounded by a beautiful garden and there is ample parking spaces round the back for guests. Each of the rooms are individually furnished. We saw the communual lounge which was very comfortable. Our room was on the ground floor and was charmingly decorated, clean and comfortable. There was an en-suite shower room. There are two chairs and a table in the bay window where we ate breakfast. In the morning, at 8am, a breakfast basket was left outside the door with fruit, cereal, pasteries, fruit juice and hot drinks as requested and was a welcomed start to the day. The guests of Squibb House are offered complementary wine tasting at Fermentations across the road which was a nice touch. We ate in Brambles Restaurant which was a couple of doors away and the meal and service was excellent. One point I think that needs mentioning but was not a problem for us (or an issues for people who had wrote in the guest book many of whom saw it as a bonus) is that there is no television. We found throroughly enjoyed our stay at Squibb House and would have loved to have stayed longer if our schedual had not been so busy. We would not hesitate to return if we were visiting the area again and would gladly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovetotravel1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2005

You couldn't find a better place. Charming, well tended to, beautiful gardens, lovely people and excellent service. In the quaint town of Cambria there are certainly other places to stay, but I can't see why you would want to stay anywhere else besides The Squibb House. Michelle was our hostess and even with having to do double duty of watching the store next door, she was also the best in showing us around, making dinner reservations for us, taking our breakfast requests (breakfast was just wonderful and much, much more than one would expect) and just being the friendliest of people. The room was absolutely spotless, tastefully decorated and also had some piped in music that was just the relaxing atmosphere we needed after a long drive. What a lovely home the Squibb's had, what a wonderful bed and breakfast it has become. We would go again and again.

3  Thank wvinest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews