We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Olallieberry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Olallieberry Inn
Ranked #1 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2010

We have stayed at the Olallieberry many times and, as always, we were made to feel as welcome and comfortable as in our own home. The rooms are unique and individual, furnished with period pieces and soft colors. Our favorite rooms are Sunrise, Creekside and Olallieberry. Fireplaces, crrek and garden views and quiet are hallmarks of this wonderful place. It is bed and breakfast, and the breakfast is marvellous. An afternoon wine and hors d'oevre gathering is also enjoyable. While there is no pool or Jacuzzi, the ocean and parks are near. No TV either, but Cambria is such a great plae to stroll and relax the lack of TV we count as a blessing. While there, book a massage. These are done in a Victorian drawing room by Marilyn Stone, who gets top marks. Occasional special events (gourmet cooking classes, etc) are also a treat. One of our favorite activities is sitting in the exquisit gardens, overlooking the creek, reading a book with a glass of wine. It just doesn't get any better.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobsacerdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 334 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2010

We have been to the Olallieberry Inn nine times since 1997. Over the years, it has only gotten better. The hosts/owners of this B&B have continued to improve the inn. Their breakfasts are fantastic. Afternoon wine & cheese (and cookies, etc) fill out the day. The guests were a wide mix of ages, from early 20's to mid 60's. We all had a great time eating together trading travel stories and siteseeing ideas.
You will feel comfortable with the staff who will great you by name. They even accomidate special diet requirements if notified in advance (my wife needs a gluten free diet).
If you are looking for a place where you will want to return to, then take a visit to this B&B.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank timshuwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2010

What a wonderful find and what great hosts. First, everything is ideal for those who like B&Bs. They do something a little different by having two designated times when all guests enjoy breakfast together. If you like other people (and most B&B guests do) -- this really is an added plus to the excellent food. The location is perfect - literally a 2 or 3 (short) block walk to the center of Cambra. And, there was one review that commented on the bed in the Cambria room. I'm very particular about my bed ... and this one was great. You won't be sorry you stayed here.
Jesse Slome

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JesseSlome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2009

The B&B is as charming as everybody says. Breakfast was very nice. Unfortunately, we stayed in a room right next to the kitchen/dining room. I like to sleep in and it was _noisy_ starting at 7 AM. You could hear every conversation, including one upstairs.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelnowLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Spent one last-minute night in the Cambrian Room. The Inn is very well located for a visit to San Simeon/Hearst Castle, our raison d'etre. We felt sincerely welcomed by experienced hosts. The wine and hors d'ouevre hour was nicely done and a generous touch, served on the deck as the weather was glorious. Grounds and gardens are lovely. Breakfast was a hit, as promised.
However, we did not sleep well because the mattress was past its useful life. You expect a comfortable bed as a basic, especially at this price point. Perhaps other rooms have more comfortable beds; be sure to ask. Otherwise, this is a nice, convenient place to stay in a delightfully charming little California coastal town.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cricketeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

My best friend and I stayed at the Olallieberry Inn for two nights this past weekend and couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more. We were greeted warmly by staff and arrived just in time to enjoy oatmeal cookies--emphasis on the plural!--fresh from the oven, which we ate while chatting away in the sunshine seated in comfortable Adirondack chairs set in the lovely back garden. Cocktail hour soon arrived and we were treated with other guests to a very good red wine and tasty, freshly made hors d'oeuvres. Excellent recommendations for dinner in town were provided by the staff and--like every other recommendation they made during our stay--we loved it. The bed was incredibly comfortable--I was tempted to lift up the fitted sheet to take a peek at the manufacturer!--and the room charming, clean, and well-appointed.

Let me just say here, however, that breakfast at this Inn is reason enough for choosing it! We had a different chef each morning and both were outstanding, as were the baked goods prepared by Marjorie, the Innkeeper. Menu items included lemon muffins, homemade granola, sticky buns, fruit, Santa Rosa eggs, ranch beans, ricotta pancakes, and Olallieberry preserves, syrup, and yogurt . All were light, fresh, wholesome, and wonderful. And we so enjoyed the lively conversations at table with fellow guests.

Marjorie is such a lovely, lovely person and a dear heart. She was gracious, thoughtful, amusing, and warm. My friend and I felt like we were visiting an old friend and isn't that truly the mark of an excellent Bed and Breakfast? Everyone we met who helps to run the Inn--Marilyn, Larry, Dirk, and Jill--were also kind and accommodating. The Olallieberry is a charmer.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McShel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We found this lovely inn on line. We thought it looked cute and charming and were impressed with it being voted "Best Breakfast" for a few years in a row. But it was only after we arrived that we truly understood how charming this place was! We arrived to warm oatmeal cookies being served. They were just like our grandmothers. We fixed some tea and then enjoyed our cookies and tea in the beautiful back garden. This was a girl's weekend so it was very special for both of us to just be able to relax and enjoy.

The room was so lovely. The bed was incredibly comfortable which is important when you stay at a Bed And Breakfast, right? The woman who runs the inn is wonderfully helpful, as is her staff. They always were able to answer your questions and never had a bad attitude.

The food...oh boy! The food was just as good as you would think it would be since it's been voted "Best Breakfast" again and again. Wow. The two breakfasts were amazing and they also have a happy hour that's equally delicious.

Everything was clean and tidy. The places they recommended to eat were always right on. Cambria is a town full of wonderful restaurants...each meal was better than the next!

We have already told our friends about the Olallieberry Inn and now we thought we should tell everyone else!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank vhfento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.5 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,523 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
890 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
935 reviews
1.5 mi away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olallieberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olallieberry Inn

Address: 2476 Main St, Cambria, CA 93428-3406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range: $183 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Olallieberry Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9-room bed & breakfast in historic 1873 home. Located in the East Village walking distance to unique shops and fine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Olallieberry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing