We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, friendly on the budget”
Review of Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Inn
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, friendly on the budget”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

When our usual hotel doubled their prices for the summer, I sought a more economical alternative. The Castle Inn is on the same wonderful road along the beach. Staff checking us in and housekeeping staff were warm, smiling, and friendly. The breakfast offerings weren't great but you kind of expect that (Creekside Café was a wonderful alternative, btw). The room was fine, small but also, what you would expect. I was worried by the number of families that it would be noisy but it wasn't at all. Best of all, when my son left his beloved stuffed animal there they were diligent in finding it and put it in the mail to us the next day. Thank you does not say enough!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    245
    62
    12
    7
See reviews for
154
269
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

First the view is breath taking. You can see, hear and smell the beach. Our room was amazing. The fireplace and bed were fabulous, I enjoyed the walking paths along the beach and watching the sunset as the whales played in the background.. We had an awesome experience and will be back...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

With a face lift this would be an excellent choice for the Cambria coast line. You cannot beat the location. We had the top floor room with a direct view of the ocean....just lovely.
The room and facility both had a tired look and feel. New carpeting on the stairs and new fixtures in the room are two seasons overdue. The wifi was pretty useless. We were comfortable enough, and happy enough.
The morning breakfast was very nice, as were all the staff. There is limited inside seating at breakfast.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Baysidetrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. We have actually renovated almost all of the property since purchasing it recently from the original owners. We are sure you will see the difference upon your return visit. We are aware of the wifi and cell reception issues that can arise along the coast. Our remote location has its challenges at times, and unfortunately we have no way to correct those larger issues that are common along Moonstone Beach Drive. We provide the best option available to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is very nice, however the room looks a bit different than the photos show online. The mattress was a pretty firm one, but that's what's to be expected at hotels. The room didn't have A/C in it at all so when it was hot we had to just have the windows open, which means at night you hear all the noise of people outside. We were on the bottom floor and we could hear everything happening (literally everything, we could hear the entire conversation being had by the people occupying the room above ours!) in the room above us so it would be best if you stay here to stay on the top floor.
The proximity to the beach is amazing, just a few feet from the entrance is the beach which was great, we immediately spotted a dolphin right off the shore and went down to the tide pools as well to check stuff out! The staff are extremely friendly and nice and make the whole experience very pleasant!

Room Tip: Rooms don't have A/C Rooms on top floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy_G1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county
Level Contributor
240 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

After two years away, we decided to revisit Cambria and the Hearst Castle. We were also going to make a run up to Monterey, so I decided to look for more "budget friendly" lodging. Of coarse I used T A to compare motels along Moonstone Beach. On our last visit we stayed at the Fireside, which was very nice and set us back over $250.00 per night. Except for sleeping, we never used the room. When I read the mostly good reviews of the Castle Inn I thought we would give it a try. At about half the price we paid on our last visit we got a room with a better ocean view . You can tell the Castle Inn is an older structure but the owners are doing a great job of updating the rooms. Our room, 32, appeared to have fresh paint and new windows and bathroom fixtures. Room 34 was in the process of being upgraded while we were there. Front desk clerk Ty and the rest of the staff were helpful and I was even approached in the parking lot by a maintenance man informing me to call him if we needed anything. The room was large, clean and had a nice view. One thing I need to mention is the awesome pastry they serve for breakfast. The turnovers were so good I asked the front desk where they bought them. I was told the pastry comes from Allocco's Italian Bakery in town. I ran right over and bought a bunch for the road. I guess you could say this property doesn't have the "Wow factor" many people might require, but for the "average traveler" the Castle Inn offers everything you could want. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ragsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Service was great, the room decor was pretty, great continental breakfast included. The one big downside was, this was the smallest hotel room I've ever seen in my life. A room this small should not exist anywhere, ever. I understand this was considered a "budget" room (the price was more than I paid for larger rooms in town). Yes, it was a holiday weekend so I even understand the price, but when you have to stash the mini fridge and ice bucket in the closet, maybe you shouldn't try to put guests in there. If not for that, I'd give 5 stars.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cambriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for your review of Castle Inn. We offer a budget friendly option on Moonstone Beach Drive. If you are looking for more spacious accommodations, try our sister hotels, Sand Pebbles Inn or Blue Dolphin Inn. Castle Inn is a vintage classic and while we modernized the amenities, we didn't want to lose the charm. Our most affordable hotel also has a pool and a beautiful ocean front location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

The room was clean and comfortable. Old entertainment console cabinets doors wouldn't stay open and the toilet leaked. My husband loved the pool and the ocean view was beautiful. Pretty nice breakfast.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vellet2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. We have been renovating and modernizing the Castle Inn and we have a wonderful maintenance crew who could have fixed the issues had they been brought to our attention during your stay. We will check and make sure that is not an issue is any of the rooms, so thank you for bringing it to our attention. We are always striving to upgrade the guest's experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.1 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.3 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#7 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn

Property: Castle Inn
Address: 6620 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It was one of the very first motels built along the Cambria coast when cattle still roamed on Moonstone Beach Drive. The property boasts one of the best geographical locations on the beach. Right in front of the lodge are amazing tide pools to discover sealife, gorgeous lookouts, Leffingwell Landing Park and a wide-open beach upon which to stroll. The grounds at the Inn are broad and situated with comfortable sitting areas for enjoyable ocean viewing and people-watching. All of the guestrooms offer views of the ocean, but the upstairs rooms provide an excellent vantage point to watch the daily sunsets. The rooms at Castle Inn are simple but more than adequate to provide a wonderful stay at the beach. It is our intention to make the property one of the best values along Moonstone Beach and a great option for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Inn By The Sea Hotel Cambria
Castle Hotel Cambria
Castle Motel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing