We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location location location”
Review of Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Inn
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Convenient and comfortable in a great location across from the beach where you can walk out to greet squirrels, seals, sea stars and tide pools. Super friendly staff, thoughtful amenities, great toiletries (Tarocco...mmm) and crisp linens. Beds were a bit springy but rumor has it they're being updated soon. A mini fridge is always nice and it's one of the few properties with a pool and hot tub (tub in middle of renovation). Best part is the grassy lawn with adirondack chairs facing the beach so you can grab the complimentary breakfast (cereal, yogurt, pastries, coffee, hard boiled eggs, fruit til 10!) and watch the waves every morning.

Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: 2nd floor has the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pizzapassionista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 568 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

This sweet hotel has very friendly and accommodating staff, a beautiful location with some of the nicest views on Moonstone Beach Drive, and some thoughtful extras that made the stay all the more special. The room prices are very reasonable given the location, and the rooms are clean and well appointed. We really appreciated the Adirondack chairs for relaxing and staring at the ocean, the cute (clean!) swimming pool and hot tub with ocean views, and the simple but nice continental breakfast. The location is amazing right across from Moonstone Beach where you can walk the boardwalk or climb on the rocks below and get up close views of the seals.

This is a versatile hotel - had a lovely and relaxing getaway weekend with a group of girlfriends, but could see it also being the perfect spot to come back with my kids.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chaghig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I purchased a LivingSocial voucher for this overnight, and at $99 for a Saturday, it was a great value. My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our stay at Castle Inn! The views were spectacular, even from a partial-view room (labeled Oceanview on their website). I loved sitting outside on the Adirondack chairs... so pleasant. The room was pretty basic as far as decor, but it was clean and had everything we needed (shower only, newer tv, small refrigerator, table and 2 chairs, wifi, etc.). If we go back to Cambria, I would like to try Castle Inn's sister hotel, Blue Dolphin Inn, only because I have heard it is more suited for couples' stays as opposed to being family-oriented. No complaints, though!

5/5 rating based on my experience compared to my expectations. However, I would probably rate 4/5 if I were paying $150+ per night.

Room Tip: I had read a review prior to going that recommended requesting an upstairs room so I did just that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charl0tteSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Castle Inn is on Moonstone Drive right across the street from the ocean. The staff at this hotel was very friendly. Nice breakfast room for a continental breakfast. Only complaint rooms are old and dated. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Memoies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I will start off by saying that the staff here is really nice, it is right across from the ocean and there is plenty of parking. Aside from these things, everything else was mediocre, at best. The bedding and decor was outdated and they didn't even have a fitted sheet for the bed. The bathroom was super tiny. The breakfast was ok, but no warm food, just grab and go type items. We could hear people walking around and there is no sound proofing between rooms. We've stayed other places at Moonstone, and probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I took my wife to Cambria for her birthday. We live in southern California so Cambria for us is a 5-6 hour drive away. We got to our hotel about 7 pm. Check in was a breeze and we got our key. Now like some have said the room was a little outdated, but did I come to Cambria sit in my hotel room all day or venture about and have fun... Of course the later. The location is GREAT!!!! You have access to the board walk right across the street. We were in the second story and had an amazing view of the coast. they have lounge chairs set up outside so you can watch the sunset. We did and I brought a little bottle of wine too :) Now back to the room. It was really not bad. Big king size bed, the restroom despite being small accommodated both my wife and I... We always take showers together and this was no exception. The breakfast was good too. Lots of little pastries that we later found out are baked in town at Allocco's Italian Bakery. I will be going back again, like I said... It was a great weekend.

Room Tip: If you can try to stay on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OPC74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We received a vary warm welcome to this very nice hotel. Amble parking. Spotless, large bedroom. Excellent heating. Very nice breakfast in a very clean dining area, providing us with a great "continental" breakfast that could easily pass as a full breakfast. Hint: request room no. 2, which has an excellent view of the magnificent shore.

Room Tip: Request room 2 with excellent view of shore across road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank claremonttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
945 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn

Address: 6620 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: $120 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It was one of the very first motels built along the Cambria coast when cattle still roamed on Moonstone Beach Drive. The property boasts one of the best geographical locations on the beach. Right in front of the lodge are amazing tide pools to discover sealife, gorgeous lookouts, Leffingwell Landing Park and a wide-open beach upon which to stroll. The grounds at the Inn are broad and situated with comfortable sitting areas for enjoyable ocean viewing and people-watching. All of the guestrooms offer views of the ocean, but the upstairs rooms provide an excellent vantage point to watch the daily sunsets. The rooms at Castle Inn are simple but more than adequate to provide a wonderful stay at the beach. It is our intention to make the property one of the best values along Moonstone Beach and a great option for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Inn By The Sea Hotel Cambria
Castle Hotel Cambria
Castle Motel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing