We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“farm to table freshness”
Review of Wild Ginger Cafe

Wild Ginger Cafe
Ranked #24 of 47 Restaurants in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“farm to table freshness”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

I have always been and still am a fan of Wild Ginger Cafe.

Last month, we brought our family visiting from Singapore there. We ordered family style. This time, I was craving the Smoked Salmon Wontons, Chicken Satay and Crispy Thai Chicken apps. We continued with the Prawn Curry, Vietnamese BBQ Pork and Hunan Beef and ended our meal with the fresh home-made sorbet. Lychee is my favorite.

Now if you come from Singapore, where the national pastime is eating out, you would have some high standards when it comes to food quality, taste and freshness. At Wild Ginger Cafe, you would get exactly that; farm to table freshness.

Although the place was busy, due to the cozy size of the restaurant and limited outdoor seating (due to weather), we did not have to wait long for our table. The service was fast and courteous and our server was friendly. The owner/chef came out to greet us and that was a treat.

We'll be back!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lamusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    47
    21
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Asian Gem on the Central Coast”
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Cambria isn't exactly he first place you would look to for great asian cuisine, but Wild Ginger is absolutely wonderful. Chef/owner Debbie (who is an absolute hoot - you'll know what I mean) has a real knack for putting a personal spin on traditional dishes depending on whatever happens to be fresh at the farmer's market.

Case in point, the lobster chile relleno was absolutely fantastic, and the smoked salmon wontons wasn't far behind. On the more traditional end, the Tom Gha Gai was just about the best I've ever had, which is really saying something.

Stopping by Wild Ginger is a must if you're staying in the area, and well worth a detour if you're not.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Max_Blomgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The food was absolutely delish!”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We drove up to Cambria from LA, a 4 hour drive or so, and were famished by the end of it! We read about Wild Ginger on this site and decided to check it out for dinner. Glad we did! It was absolutely delicious! We ordered a yummy viognier (two cocky sisters wine), tasty Tom Kha Kai soup (spicy thai chicken and coconut soup), and a number of mains. Since we wanted to try lots on the menu, my party of 5 ordered a few dishes to share. We had the prawn curry, salmon cream cheese wantons, beef bulgogi, lobster chilli and spicy calamari. They were all so delicious. Ordered an extra serving of the seaweed that came with the beef. Yummmmssss!!! We ended off the meal with 3 desserts (to share). Absolutely loved the lychee sorbet, hazelnut fudge bread pudding, as well as the pineapple creme brûlée. Will definitely be going there for lunch tomorrow before heading back to LA.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Collette_Andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal.”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Fresh ingredients, dinner made to order, friendly waitress. Chef/owner came out to check on our meal. Totally satisfied.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hester144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, MA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good food and prompt service”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Had dinner here while traveling thru Cambria on a Tuesday night. We were greeted & served promptly as were the 3 parties that came in after us.

We had an appetizer, the Korean beef menu item and a pork special of the day and all were well portioned and tasty. After dinner we tried the dragonfruit sorbet which was excellent.

We'd definitely visit again. Keep in mind it closes at 9 and I believe is closed Thursday evenings.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank viking_kitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Ginger Cafe also viewed

Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Wild Ginger Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing