We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Real find”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I can't say enough for this place--quiet, friendly, and affordable--with a stunning ocean view! Booked for one night on my trip from San Francisco to LA on the Pacific Coast Highway mostly because of the good rates and the fact that it's only 6 miles from San Simeon and the fact that there was an elephant seal refuge and beach about a mile away. But liked it so much I cancelled my booking in Santa Barbara and stayed an extra night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    174
    62
    23
    7
See reviews for
130
393
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Great spot for a night over on our roadtrip up the coast to San francisco. We made reservations knowing only that the place was under new management and had been recently renovated. It certainly was! It still had the new carpet and fresh paint smell! Even though we hadn't requested an ocean view room we were upgraded upon check in. We also got to choose what and when we wanted breakfast in the morning. we chose the oatmeal, fruit, coffee and hard boiled eggs. It was pretty good for being included in your room price. There was a propane in wall fireplace and LCD tv. Bathroom was immaculate. Shower had good pressure and was nice and hot. In comment to some of the other reviews, there is little to no cell service (at least for AT&T) along highway 101. If you want cell service you have to drive to higher ground towards the mountains. However the front desk allowed us to use their phone from the desk to make additional reservations for our next destinations. Heat definitely works here! however, we did not notice an AC unit.
PS- make sure you walk across the street to the beach to find your moonstones!

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side face a restaurant that has outdoor seating in the summertime. I can imagine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImaginedImagery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CambriaLanding, General Manager at Cambria Landing Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Greetings Imaginedlmagery,

Thank you for the 5 star review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed the view and fireplace along with the delivered coffee service. It was our pleasure having you and look forward to your next visit.

Graciously,
Laura Lopez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Cambria Landing Inn & Suites for two nights in October 2013 and will definitely plan on staying there again. We decided to save money by not choosing an oceanfront room, but we were still able to see and hear the ocean from our location. The hotel has plenty of convenient self parking with easy access to the rooms. The room was very well maintained and had a nice gas fireplace. We had a great dinner at the restaurant next door and watched a beautiful sunset. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SactoTravelers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CambriaLanding, General Manager at Cambria Landing Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear SactoTravelers2013,

Thank you for choosing the Cambria Landing Inn during your visit to Cambria. I'm glad to hear you had an enjoyable experience in one of our Traditional rooms. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Laura Lopez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

From the friendly welcome, to the lovely room with the relaxing sound of the surf on the beach (audible from the room), I can recommend the Cambria Landing Inn without hesitation.
The room facilities were top notch with tea and coffee, plus a nice flat screen TV and a very comfortable bed.
Having said all that, I have stayed in hotels with facilities just as nice, which were a fair bit cheaper. But what you're paying for here, is to wake up with the sound of waves breaking, just a few steps away from a beautiful beach - it's a fantastic location and worth the money.
Added to that, there's a nice restaurant very close by, making it easy to get a bite to eat.
Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jennysnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CambriaLanding, General Manager at Cambria Landing Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Greetings Jennysnd,

Thank you for the 5star review! I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be friendly. We pride ourselves in providing outstanding service to all of our guests. Waking up to the sound of the waves breaking and smell of fresh air is priceless. It was our pleasure having you!

Sincerely,
Laura Lopez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We drove from Monterey to Cambria and stayed overnight at the Cambria Landing Inn before driving on to Santa Barbara. We had booked an ocean view room and it was right at the front of the property directly opposite Moonstone Beach. The room had a small balcony which allowed us to enjoy a spectacular Moonstone sunset whilst enjoying the complimentary wine offered by the management at the end of the day - a very nice touch.

The Inn has recently been refurbished and our room was huge and very well appointed, though there were a couple of negatives to note. First, there is limited access to the upstairs level of accommodation. There is no lift and the stairs are steep. This can be a challenge with heavy luggage. We found that it was best to roll your luggage in from the rear entrance, readily accessible from the car park, that linked directly to the upper level. Secondly in the room there was virtually no working space. I had to perch using a small coffee table to check emails. Next, though wi-fi was available, the cell phone reception was sporadic and unpredictable. We found that it was lost the further back in the room one stood.The room faced the setting sun and so was very warm at the end of the day. It was fitted with a ceiling fan but the instructions for the air-con, which would have made the room so much more comfortable, were opaque to say the least and we gave up. By contrast during the colder night the preset heating system came on automatically and, as it heated, made a loud "bang" every 40 minutes or so. Not the best for a restful night.

The Inn has no restaurant itself but there is a popular eatery right next door.

We made arrangements with the front desk to leave our bags with them after check out, while we visited Hearst Castle and they could not have been more friendly and helpful in doing that.

With a few little tweaks this could be a very fine property indeed. Despite the few negatives, we enjoyed our stay and recommend the Inn as a great place to stop over on a tour of the California Coast

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/London
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at Cambria landing inn and suites for one night after driving through the big sur and before our stop in Santa Barbra. Since it was just one night, this was perfect for us as we were across the street from the beach, and got there to see a specular sunset. The Inn is easy to find once you turn off highway 1 – as long as you are paying attention and do not miss the sign!

Our room was large with 2 double beds to my surprise as I was unsure about this stop over. It seems as though the rooms had been upgraded recently so everything felt new. Our room had a fireplace which we didn’t use since it was not cold enough, however it was a little warm and no air con. We had to out a fan up to the window.. which we didn’t do, instead we kept our window open. There are no tea of coffee making facilities in the room but there is in the hall and downstairs, where there is also a bowl of fruit. The bathroom is large, with a separate section for the basin. Shower was pretty good. There are also basic toiletries available.

For breakfast you have a limited choice, for example you have choice of tea or orange, porridge or muffin which is slightly disappointing considering the nightly rate in comparison to other places we stayed in during our trip.

The room has free wifi which together with the location and cleanliness are the good things about this Inn.

We went to the restaurant next door for dinner as we arrived late, it was ok.

We went to Hearst Castle the next morning which is approx. 20 mins drive north and is worth the trip.
Overall I would recommend this Inn if you are staying for one, perhaps two nights but if any longer, I would suggest somewhere with a much better breakfast to get you going for the day

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here for our anniversary following a family wedding in San Francisco. Very relaxing stay, wonderful views. We were in room 102. The room above might have been better since we heard every footstep overhead. Breakfast delivered was a nice touch but a little intrusive to have to have this scheduled. Would have preferred a buffet type in the common room with a little better quality selection that we could have eaten at our leisure.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor room and ask for ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klickm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.5 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
374 reviews
0.1 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
989 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
861 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Landing Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Landing Inn & Suites

Property: Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Address: 6530 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1810 (Formerly Cambria Landing Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#7 Family Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambria Landing Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan Central Coast romantic getaways with Cambria Landing Inn & Suites, your picturesque home base while you explore this breathtaking area, which includes the iconic Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery and an assortment of wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cambria Landing Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Landing Hotel Cambria
Cambria Landing b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing