We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #10 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best B&B Ever!”
Reviewed December 15, 2009

Eleanor was the best host we could ever ask for. It was as if my grandmother was having us over for the night! There was so much thought put into our room, it's almost unbelievable. We were greeted with a bottle of red wine, cheese, nachos & salsa. The room was packed out with all kinds of information about the town. There were baskets of snacks, granola bars, chocolates, etc. Eleanor took out a book of restaurants and helped us pick one out, gave us umbrellas for our Heart Castle tour, you name it. She was almost too accommodating, if that's possible!
We had an amazing breakfast with Eleanor and Bill with eggs, waffles, bacon, coffee, the works. My girlfriend and I were traveling all over CA and stayed at 5 places. This was BY FAR the best one and I highly recommend staying here and would not even think of booking a room anywhere else the next time I return to Cambria. I have never had a more pleasant experience at a hotel, motel, inn, B&B, or whatever else exists! Thanks so much :)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shr273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    14
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
98
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

This is by far the best bed and breakfast I have ever had the pleaseue to stay in. It is so comfortable and we were made to feel very welcome. In the evening a platter of cheese, meats and crackers were delivered to our room accompanied with a bottle of wine. The cooked breakfast was very good. We stayed the the queen room and everything you could need was there. There was baskets filled with chocolates, drinks and a microwave to make the popcorn they provide. It would be impossible to say anything negative about this place. You are lucky if you get the chance to stay here.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire,Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

The welcome we received was excellent with a bottle of wine and cheese. The breakfast was excellent too. The room we had was spacious and had every imaginable goodie to make us feel at home. The only downside was that the room we had appeared to be in the basement, but that did not detract from our good experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotabroad25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

We spent a wonderful weekend at Cambria and can't thank Elanor and Bill enough for providing such a lovely facility. The rooms are beautiful, the breakfast outstanding ,the wine and cheese on arrival refreshing and the coffee at your front door every morning makes this a very special place. While you are relaxing on the beautiful grounds you can even read a few of the easy reading books that Bill wrote. It is just a short drive to town and the beach, Hearst Castle is an easy and scenic 5 or 6 mile drive.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RPCFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

My husband and I very much enjoyed our stay at Her Castle for many of the same reasons given by the reviewers. The room was filled to the brim with every little thing that we could possibly need--and more. Such attention to detail was very much appreciated by us. We especially enjoyed the delicious breakfast each morning. We hope to go back again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbugSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2009

We stayed with Bill and Eleanor in March and we were overwhelmed with the genuine welcome and hospitality offered to us on arrival and all through our stay. On our first evening we joined Bill and Eleanor who invited us for a drink and lovely food. My husband had just retired and Eleanor had a retirement banner in our very comfortable room as well as St. Patrick's Day decorations.... such a thoughtful idea. We celebrated St. Patrick's Day with Bill and Eleanor and their friends. Cambria is a quaint town with nice restaurants especially the Sea Chest on the waterfront. Bill and Eleanor are more than helpful with itineries and suggestions for exploring the area. We were so lucky to stay in Her Castle and would strongly recommend a stay with Bill and Eleanor.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AandI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights on our Honeymoon. Like any place we decide to stay at, this was a place we had booked after very careful selection, - already the rave reviews gave us comfort that this would be a good choice. Nothing however, prepared us for the utter warmth and hospitality that greeted us when we arrived. Eleanor takes service to another level altogether; a surprise bottle of champagne was prepared for us, together with a generous cheese platter, cookies, chocolate and other delights (all very sweetly put together). The room was spotless and cosy, and the private entrance where we could come and go as we liked pleased us very much. Breakfast each morning was HUGE and delicious - we had eggs, bacon, waffles with strawberries, potatoes, and the most fantastic thick, chunky guacamole which my husband fell so in love with. Bill and Eleanor's remarkable attention to detail truly touched us; fresh flowers, snacks in the room, slippers if needed, ultra-cosy bathrobes as well as a little card with written congratulations to us newly-weds added a nice touch. The location is perfect if you are touring Hearst Castle, Paso Robles and around. We would HIGHLY recommend this place to all.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SingaporeFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.8 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,960 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.9 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
307 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
806 reviews
2.3 mi away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 1978 Londonderry Ln, Just two blocks from Highway 1, Cambria, CA 93428-5321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homey yet luxurious suites in forested setting within 3/4 mile of ocean (and a 400 acre nature preserve). Botanical gardens and fruit trees. Close to town and restaurants and shops. Our personable and knowledgeable hosts provide a full breakfast, including early morning beverage tray to your room (and appetizers upon your arrival). No wonder we have been given Excellence awards by TripAdvisor for several years in a row, including Trip Advisor's new Green Award for sustainable practices. Open weekends (Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings) and weekday holidays, minimum two night stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing