We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice instead of Moonstone Dr.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #10 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great choice instead of Moonstone Dr.”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a last minute trip. Very accommodating including drop off and pick up service if you would like to enjoy drinks with dinner. Breakfast each morning was great and meeting the other guests was a nice bonus. Coffee, tea, or whatever served to your room in the am. Just FYI, not walking distance to town or
Moonstone Dr. However, the value is extraordinary. And they are dog friendly! Do give them a try. I will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    14
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
97
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
phoenix
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Her Castle B&B for two nights. Our room had everything we would want in a room to make us feel at home! It felt like that we had visited a relative/family!!! The innkeepers went above and beyond to make us feel at home (e.g. Bottle of wine upon arrival, plenty of snacks in the room, water & soda in the fridge, and many other extras). Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Recommendations on local attractions were very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluesky0697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We recently stayed for 2 nights with Eleanor and Bill Heavey at Her Castle B+B. We stayed in the queen room which was cozy, clean and very well equipped. Upon arrival (before 6pm) we had a fruit and cheese/biscuit platter, the fridge was stocked with a bottle of wine and soft drinks, and there was even a microwave to pop the butter popcorn supplied! We had a pre-breakfast tray at 7.30am with tea and milk, muffins / yoghurt, then at 9am we had a superb breakfast which ranged from egg souffle and bacon, fruit on one day, to frittata, sausages, and ollalieberry french toast on another day! Downside is I think I put on 2 pounds over the weekend...but seriously, the hosts were lovely, friendly and very welcoming. The bathroom was clean and well stocked with amenities including travel wipes, toothbrush, throat drops, sewing kit, band aids, hand sanitizer, and more - on top of the hairdryer and curling iron supplied. Direct TV and DVDs were available, as well as free Wifi. Good location and only a few minutes drive to the village center on Main Street. Several leaflets and information on where to go, what to do etc was also supplied, and available in the room. Recommended.

Room Tip: Queen room was a bit small, but we choose that as it was $30 a night cheaper than the King. Adequate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elusivechic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Wonderful and friendly hosts. Great rooms at a reasonable price compared to other hotels in the area. local Wine bottle and appetizers on arrival on their balcony. Breakfast is one of the best of any B&B we have stayed in. Beds were the most comfortable I have had compared to other hotels

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toddfra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw,Scotland
Level Contributor
151 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed with Eleanor and Bill for 2 nights during our recent trip to California.

Really difficult to add anything to what others have written in reviews as our hosts did everything they could ( and a little bit more ) to make our stay a memorable one.

Our room which was the Queen room was spacious and comfortable and incredibly well equipped. On arrival there was bottle of wine chilling in our fridge and 15 mins after arrival Eleanor appeared with her trays ( plural !!) of appetizers which were delicious.

Each morning about 7.15am a tray of coffee, scones and yoghurt appeared at our door . In many places this would be breakfast but not at Her Castle, this was just an early morning snack to get you warmed up for the real thing.

Breakfast can only be described as a sociable feast. While we were there, there were 4 other guests ( 2 couples from LA) and both mornings we had a great time at breakfast trying to eat our way through the large amount of delicious food which Eleanor had provided. Bill played host for breakfast but did it without being in the least bit intrusive and both mornings the 6 guests spent a very enjoyable 60-90 mins chatting and enjoying the food.

Bill and Eleanor clearly take great pride in what they do and their guests' satisfaction is the only thing that matters to them. When you stay with them you feel like their guests and don't in any way feel as if you are customers of their business.

All in all we could not have been happier with our choice of where to stay in Cambria and would thoroughly recommend Her Castle to anyone looking for a B&B in this area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank i_m_tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was our 2nd stay with Eli & Bill, and it was just as wonderful as our 1st trip. This time the weather was perfect! We looked forward to a wonderful breakfast each day, and enjoyed talking about our time there and our adventures. They were extremely helpful with suggesting activities, and we enjoyed a great hike along the shore ( a short drive away). It was so peaceful, we slept great, and it was hard to get up. ( very comfy!) There is a nice balcony to relax in the afternoon, or enjoy anytime, you are surrounded by pine trees and it makes it so hard to leave.
We will be back again in the future, and look forward to our next stay! Thank you...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

From the moment we met them my wife and I felt so comfortable with Bill and Eleanor.

They went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable in every possible way. I would go back to stay with them again, and we would also recommend them.

They are very caring hostess. The bed and room were very clean and comfortable (Something that travelers look for in a place where to stay).

Thanks for everything you guys did for my wife’s birthday. We will see you soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Secfirm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.8 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,813 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.8 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
1,831 reviews
3.0 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
833 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 1978 Londonderry Ln, Just two blocks from Highway 1, Cambria, CA 93428-5321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homey yet luxurious suites in forested setting within 3/4 mile of ocean (and a 400 acre nature preserve). Botanical gardens and fruit trees. Close to town and restaurants and shops. Our personable and knowledgeable hosts provide a full breakfast, including early morning beverage tray to your room (and appetizers upon your arrival). No wonder we have been given Excellence awards by TripAdvisor for several years in a row, including Trip Advisor's new Green Award for sustainable practices. Open weekends (Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings) and weekday holidays, minimum two night stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing