We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #10 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at Her Castle B&B 2 nights while on a short trip to Hearst Castle and the coastal area. The room and Bathroom were both nice. Enjoyed the breakfast and discussion with the owners and other guest. One interesting g feature was that we were left a tray with coffee and/or tea and a small snack early in the morning before going up for breakfast. Other reviews had complained about the rooms being below ground, actually the house is on a slope with the main living quarters on top and the bedroom down the slope. It had an outside entrance and a small deck.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gjgsmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greener1, Owner at Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
This is just a big THANK YOU to all our wonderfu guests. Both of us appreciate the time you have taken from your busy schedules to post such nice reviews. And we are looking forward to your next visit to Cambria and Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn.

Bill and Eleanor Seavey
Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    14
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
97
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Regular home converted into a bed and breakfast located about four miles from the coast in a residential area. No stunning views . We booked the king room for three nights . The room is large and nicely decorated with a king bed , flat screen tv with direct tv programming (no HD , just standard def) . WIFI included , although reliable it is slow , I consistently got speeds close to 3 G . Cell reception weak, No service with ATT but Verizon has good signal. No heat control, room temp is controlled by the innkeepers in the main house. Wine and cheese tray delivered upon arrival and breakfast was very tasty each morning . innkeepers very nice, friendly , helpful . King room has private deck . Overall a good experience but nothing special. 20 min drive to Hearst Castle .

Room Tip: reasonably nice place to stay but no views except for the surrounding pine trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hc1hweds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greener1, Owner at Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Just to clarify, we are only ONE mile from Cambria's beautiful coastline heading straight west on Ardath Drive. Hearst Castle is generally only a ten minute drive from Her Castle on Highway 1, two blocks from us. We ourselves have ATT cell phones with no problems. The secluded view from our King Room deck is of forest (redwoods, cypress and Monterey Pines), most people find it quite pleasing.

Bill and Eleanor Seavey
Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was our first time to stay at a bed and breakfast and was a weekend getaway for my wife's birthday. Eleanor was fantastic, decorated the room with little birthday signs, a floral arrangement and a bottle of wine. When we showed up they brought us a welcome appetizer tray to go with the wine. Our room was very nice, outside patio deck with small refrigerator and chairs. The room had a lovely king bed, flat screen tv with satelite and an electric fireplace heater. Each morning at 7:30 they would bring a tray with a pot of coffee and scones to start the morning and set it outside our room. At 8:45 we would go up stairs for breakfast, very hearty and delicious! Each morning the breakfast was different, but very very good and filling. Would definitely recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: They have the "queen" room or the "king" and we stayed in the king. I don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLOKurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a great, charming little place. The hosts are sweet and helpful. The room is very clean! Cleaner than most hotels I have stayed in. The decor is a little out-dated, but still charming. We had our own private deck, the bed was comfy and the breakfast was excellent! I would recommend this place to anyone staying in Cambria

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We just returned after two nights at Her Castle. The hosts, Eleanor and Bill could not have been more welcoming. A very long drive got us in to Cambria late and without our having had a chance to grab dinner. Eleanor immediately whipped up a huge selection of appetizers to go along with the bottle of delicious chardonnay with which she had greeted us. This was just a taste of the hospitality she and Bill extended over the next two days. The breakfasts were truly amazing. The room and the bed were among the best we've ever had at a B&B. Our private deck and the shared deck were both great. Eleanor and Bill gave us a number of good suggestions about dining and sightseeing, and even though we've been to Cambria numerous times, they pointed us in directions we had never taken before, all of which we appreciated. We've stayed at a number of places in Cambria -- we love this little seaside town -- but Her Castle ranks at the very top. We'll be sure to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavefromDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is the thank-you letter we sent to Bill and Eleanor.

My wife and I would like to that you profusely for such wonderful hospitality and companionship during our stay at Her Castle on our anniversary. There are so many, many aspects to our time with you that were so enjoyable and memorable, almost too many to count! First, there was the welcome and all you did for my wife's anniversary roses, champagne and the welcome tray. Then there was our room that had everything one could possibly imagine one might need in addition to the comfort that the room afforded us with all its amenities. We loved having the porch door open to listen to the birds and smell those glorious pine scents. Now we move to those enormous breakfasts! My goodness how brilliant and tasty they were! The "lolliberry" (sp?) pie was outrageously good. I think I had thirds!

But, above all this spoiling, it was your hospitality that made the stay. All you cared about was that we were happy. How about ecstatic! You did so much to make sure we were taken care of, had everything we needed, went to the best restaurants, knew we were going and what to do, and then to shepherd us back and forth to the Black Cat took everything over the top. When you add all this to our back-and-forth repartee and leg-pulling, it is impossible to think of anything that could possibly have made our stay even more memorable, enjoyable, fun and oh-so restful.

We cannot thank you enough save for you to know, we will be back!

With deep and genuine gratitude,

Room Tip: The one room with a King bed is the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This bed and breakfast is in a secluded spot with trees, flowers and birds to see from your deck. The owners took real good care of us by feeding us a lot and stocking the room with everything you need.

Room Tip: The king room has a nice view on the deck, and a good size shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.8 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,813 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.8 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
1,831 reviews
3.0 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
833 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 1978 Londonderry Ln, Just two blocks from Highway 1, Cambria, CA 93428-5321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homey yet luxurious suites in forested setting within 3/4 mile of ocean (and a 400 acre nature preserve). Botanical gardens and fruit trees. Close to town and restaurants and shops. Our personable and knowledgeable hosts provide a full breakfast, including early morning beverage tray to your room (and appetizers upon your arrival). No wonder we have been given Excellence awards by TripAdvisor for several years in a row, including Trip Advisor's new Green Award for sustainable practices. Open weekends (Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings) and weekday holidays, minimum two night stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing