We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #10 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Ontario, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This bed and breakfast is in a secluded spot with trees, flowers and birds to see from your deck. The owners took real good care of us by feeding us a lot and stocking the room with everything you need.

Room Tip: The king room has a nice view on the deck, and a good size shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    14
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
98
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

On a trip up the coast last week we stayed with Eleanor and Bill and it was fantastic. The booking process was simple and they sent us a nice packet of information about things to do in the area. Little did I know how hospitable they really were. They made us so comfortable. I don't think I've ever seen a hotel that anticipates needs like they do (and I develop hotel brands and manage hotels so that's saying a lot). The beds were comfortable and our room was large and quiet with a warm fireplace and a lovely patio. I can't even list all the complimentary amenities the room was stocked with - from hand sanitizer to microwave popcorn to wine to a refrigerator. Most importantly Eleanor can cook! She completely converted my french-toast-hating boyfriend into someone who craves it (and kindly donated the recipe to me so I can make it for him). She asked about any allergies at the time of reservation and bought all kinds of special foods for me. That was really so very kind and considerate. I wasn't feeling well on the final day and, after greeting me at breakfast with a sympathetic hug, she left me a note thanking us for staying with them and extending late check-out. We would definitely stay there again and I'll be recommending it to anyone I know who travels up the coast stopping in Cambria.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A-dub209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This was our first time at Her Castle but it won't be our last. This is a truly beautiful place that is not pretentious but makes you feel so happy to be there. This is a charming bed and breakfast with comfortable rooms, all the amenities you need and hosts that couldn't be nicer, more welcoming, and put themselves out far more than they need to do. You have all the privacy you could want. The breakfasts are delicious, very plentiful and served with kindness. Bill & Eleanor Seavey are the most helpful in getting you acclimated to the area if you need it. Our purpose was wine tasting in the Paso Robles area but we took in everything else we could with the help of "Her Castle." We loved talking to the hosts who know the area well, have lots of recommendations and are delightful people. This is close to everything: Hearst Castle, Moonstone beach, hiking the trail at Fiskelini Ranch (along the ocean), the delicious Sea Chest restaurant in Cambria where you wait but it's worth it and San Luis Obispo as an added excursion. Don't miss this bed and breakfast on your travels you will love it!

Room Tip: Any room that is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetheocean1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We wanted to try something different to standard hotel accomodation and decided on Her Castle as a visit to Heast Castle has been a lifetime ambition.

Couldnt have been more pleased with the decision. First impression was how clean the home was followed by how comfortable the room was. The welcome from the two of the them made us felt immediately at home followed by relaxing snack and drink as a wind down from the journey.

I took the time to read Bill's memoires and thoughts which are in the room. He seems to have a very full life!

Breakfast was lovely at which we meet some super people - just like being one of the family.

Top tip - double check that you have packed everything you came with when you go.......we didnt and Elanor was kind enough to e-mail me which I read at our next destination. We arranged where to post on the items to meet us late on in our Californian road trip - and it all arived safely so thanks again Eleanor for that. Nothing seems too much trouble.

Its a shame that California is such a long way from the UK or we would be delighted to visit you again - but cant recommend Her Castle (brilliant name Bill!) enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geoffrey_w439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Our second stay at Her Castle was as perfect as the first. Appetizers on arrival, beautiful surroundings, and a great room. Our welcome back to Cambria couldn't have been nicer as Bill and Eleaor know the secrets of making guests comfortable and welcome, and Eleanor's breakfasts will get your day off to a great start. Our four day stay was so relaxing we hated to leave. We'll never stay anywhere else when visiting Cambria. If you don't want to risk a disappointing stay, choose Her Castle for a guaranteed great experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil45963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

My daughter and I were traveling in California and wanted to take a day out of our schedule to relax. Her Castle proved to be a great place to do just that. The accommodations were clean and tastefully decorated with several amenities. We visited Hearst Castle and saw the sea lions nearby on the coast. The breakfasts were excellent and Bill and Eleanor were excellent hosts. This is a great place for some solitude and relaxation. I highly recommend it.

Paul S., Warsaw, IN

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Have just spent a very pleasant weekend in Cambria visiting Hearst Castle. The trip was made more memorable by our very hospitable hosts Bill and Eleanor at Her Castle B and B. The rooms were spotless and comfortable and we wanted for nothing. Eleanor provided appetisers and wine on our arrival, tea was delivered to our room before breakfast and the breakfast itself was fantastic. Loved this place and will definitely stay again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.8 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,082 reviews
3.5 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
376 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,932 reviews
2.3 mi away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
J. Patrick House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 1978 Londonderry Ln, Just two blocks from Highway 1, Cambria, CA 93428-5321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homey yet luxurious suites in forested setting within 3/4 mile of ocean (and a 400 acre nature preserve). Botanical gardens and fruit trees. Close to town and restaurants and shops. Our personable and knowledgeable hosts provide a full breakfast, including early morning beverage tray to your room (and appetizers upon your arrival). No wonder we have been given Excellence awards by TripAdvisor for several years in a row, including Trip Advisor's new Green Award for sustainable practices. Open weekends (Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings) and weekday holidays, minimum two night stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing