We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eleanor met us at the door with such a warm greeting,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #10 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 2, 2011

we knew immediately we were in good hands! We only stayed here because of TA ratings and needed a place in Cambria. Every detail was taken care of in this small B&B to ensure guest's have the best stay possible. Our room was very, very clean, very very comfortable, had our own small porch and truly without a doubt "felt like home". We were told where to walk and where to have dinner and it made our stay in Cambria perfect! We loved it and hope to return. We were served wine and appetizers and a lovely breakfast in the morning...

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kokosandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 141 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2011

Our stay was unique as my husband was in class during the days of our week stay while I was there for pleasure. The owners went out of their way to get him off to an early nutritious start. At the same time they helped me find the treasures the area has to offer during my days. The Queen's room was warm, inviting and clean. The breakfasts served were amazing! The specialty is the Ollaliberry casserole. I know we plan to return.

Room Tip: We stayed and saw only the Queen's room and found it to be clean warm and inviting.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KarenBuyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We had a great time in Cambria, we love the ambiance of the place. Although the B&B is located in a residential area, it is surrounded by trees and has mountain views. We stayed at the "Queen Room" which is located at the lower part of the house.
In addition to the comments posted by most guests, we did not get the usual welcome package of cheese, fruits or appetizers, but we did get a bottle of wine left by our front door. We also did not get the complimentary "Pre- breakfast treat" the other guests received. Whatever the reason might be, we were a little disappointed and felt unwelcome and since this is our first time in a bed and breakfast, ( We have stayed at 5 star all-inclusive resorts before), we really didn't know what to expect. Anyways, the owners Bill & Eleanor are very informative and helpful in giving us recommendations on what to do and where to visit. Eleanor made us a delicious breakfast at the dining room upstairs. The queen room is cozy and clean but a little cramped and dark. The fridge and bathroom were stocked with goodies and supplies. We enjoyed reading Bill's book.
Aside from the services that we did not receive, we still had a nice experience over-all.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinkcottage88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We had The king room for two nights. Had everything you could ever need and more. Our hosts were so accommodating and fixed us up with great local knowledge of the wine tasting in a beautiful setting in nearby Paso Robles. A must do for wine lovers! Highly recommended all together.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghostviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

I can't imagine anything you'd need or want in a bed & breakfast that Eleanor and Bill haven't already thought of and provided. We stayed for two nights in the spacious king room with a large private bath. As others have mentioned, Eleanor greets you with a bottle of wine and a nice tray of finger foods, provides munchies and soft drinks in the room for the taking, a pre-breakfast tray delivered to your room each morning, and delicious, generous, home-cooked breakfasts at your preferred time. (Skipped lunch both days!)

The home is in a Cambria neighborhood, but the yard is private and beautifully landscaped and gives you an away-from-it-all feeling the minute you arrive. Each room has a separate entrance and private balcony, and we lucked out with some beautiful weather to enjoy it.

The Seavys are also enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the area and more than willing to help with anything that will make your visit more enjoyable. We highly recommend Her Castle Homestay and would definitely stay again.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank karen11g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Eleanor and Bill set the tone for their lovingly decorated homestay. Aside from the wonderful variety of late afternoon snacks and bottle of wine and pre-breakfast coffee and pastry (delivered to our room) and an excellent breakfast with two hot entrees served to us, they offered restaurant recommendations and directions. We walked a trail along the ocean at Fiscalini Preserve following Nona's excellent directions. Our room was very large with two sinks in the bathroom and a lovely private deck. It was a lovely and convenient place to stay in our favorite stopping place en route from San Diego to the Bay Area. There was a microwave and a small refrigerator with sodas and also many snacks available to us. We will be back!

Room Tip: The King Room is Great.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoneTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

This was a lovely getaway weekend and way to spend Valentine's Day! When we arrived we were greeted and served with a large portion of appetizers and a bottle of wine. It was a very romantic weekend and the room was decorated for the season. Eleanor and her husband Bill are wonderful hosts and make you feel right at home. Eleanor scones are amazing and breakfast was filling! They with what to do in the area.

We also had a couples massage with Eleanor's neighbor Terre Noble of Misty Pines Massage. The experience was really nice! We both came out feeling very refreshed and soothed.

We would highly reccomend the bed and breakfast and hope to return ourselves!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derekjc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
5.1 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
424 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,207 reviews
5.0 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
4.6 mi away
J. Patrick House Bed and Breakfast Inn
5.1 mi away
Moonstone Landing
Moonstone Landing
#3 of 24 in Cambria
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 1978 Londonderry Ln, Just two blocks from Highway 1, Cambria, CA 93428-5321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range: $154 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homey yet luxurious suites in forested setting within 3/4 mile of ocean (and a 400 acre nature preserve). Botanical gardens and fruit trees. Close to town and restaurants and shops. Our personable and knowledgeable hosts provide a full breakfast, including early morning beverage tray to your room (and appetizers upon your arrival). No wonder we have been given Excellence awards by TripAdvisor for several years in a row, including Trip Advisor's new Green Award for sustainable practices. Open weekends (Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings) and weekday holidays, minimum two night stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing