We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveler rating
57
17
2
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
17
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi tubeach morningblue dolphin innwedding cakeocean wavescookieselectric fireplaceseascapeprivacyanniversarydrivewaykeurigmoonstoneshighwayrefrigerator
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 79 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2017 via mobile

Cottage on the beautiful Pacific Ocean. Miniature wedding cake waiting for us for our 34th anniversary, what a nice surprise. Breakfast in bed each morning. Cozy cottage with large bedroom and jacuzzi tub. View from porch overlooking the ocean made for a quiet evening with our own wine and cheese. Beach is totally moonstones. Taking some home with me.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank pfcombes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Moonstone Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2017

Thank you for your review of Moonstone Cottages. We try to do a little something special when we know it is a special occasion and congratulations to you on 34 years! We are happy to be a small part of your love story.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2017

Our cottage was clean and comfortable; however, it did seem overpriced. We found the room crowded with furniture and nick-knacks, with very little room to unpack; and the bed felt on the small side. None of the cottages had much privacy; they were fairly close together and seemed to us to be on a driveway rather than nestled in a grove of trees (as in the current website description). When we went outside we were very aware of the highway at the back of the property. While it was nice to have breakfast delivered to our room, the quality of the breakfast was disappointing given the cost. The surrounding area is very beautiful, however, and we would come back to the area.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank madame b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Moonstone Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2017

Thank you for your review of Moonstone Cottages. The cottages share one driveway, but it is exclusively for the 3 cottages so not really trafficked at all. The majority of hotels in Cambria are on Moonstone Beach Drive, which runs parallel to the 2-lane Highway 1. Our prices are competitive with other hotels in the area and we do have a budget-friendly property, Castle Inn, for those looking for a more affordable option.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2017

We stayed here for two nights for our honeymoon. It was nice. The breakfast was very good. We stayed in The Mariner, which was in the back, so it was a little more private. There were quite a few ants in the room, which the lady at checkout did not seem surprised about.

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Moonstone Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2017

Thank you for your review of Blue Dolphin Inn. Congratulations on your marriage and we are happy to be part of that memory. We don't really have an ant problem, so that is something that occurs on occasion as the cottages are in a natural setting and ants aren't too respectful about boundaries. Staff should have handled it for you and we will address that at our staff meeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2017

Memories are personal and this family owned business in Cambria has intertwined personal with hospitality. From the stuffed animal that greets you when you enter the room to the daily treats that housecleaning leave after cleaning, the foundation for memory making is laid. The cottages are adult sized doll houses, the little girl in your wife will re-awaken. Then there is the beauty of the central coast, memory-makers, come try it.

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickjones427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Moonstone Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2017

Thank you for your review of Moonstone Cottages. The cottages really are a magical place and we are happy that your wife enjoyed the 'dollhouse' at the beach. This entire area has some of the most beautiful landscapes, the best shopping, excellent wine tasting, and very friendly locals. Many of our Cottages guests try each of the 3 before deciding on a favorite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2017

What a great surprise this was! Wasn't quite sure what to expect but what a great place to stay! It's like being in a tiny house! Nicely appointed and so comfortable! It's a great place to stay directly across from the ocean. Close to a couple of very good restaurants that you can walk to! I would highly recommend and would love to return one day!

Room Tip: With only three cottages to choose from anyone of them would be great!
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank housy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Moonstone Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2017

Thank you for your review of Moonstone Cottages. 3 individually decorated cottages that give you the feeling of your own private home on the beach. They are unique and special and often, our guests try them all before picking their favorite one. Moonstone Cottages really make the experience a one-of-a-kind trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews